There’s nothing in the world quite like a Japanese onsen experience. These public bathhouses traditionally use natural hot spring water and come in a variety of shapes, sizes and forms. From an outdoor onsen in the mountains with steam rising high ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Stayed at the prince hotel and onsen and it was amazing!! Traditional Japanese style room and meals for a true Japan experience. The view from the hotel room was spectacular! Would definitely go back again.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great! We had a pleasant time during the tour. The tour guide, Anne, was a Japanese lady. who spoke English clearly, friendly and helpful. The weather was clear on this day and we were able to see Mt. Fuji. We were at 5th station. The view of Mount Fuji was spectacular! The Onsen experience was relaxable Overall, the tour was excellent.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a pleasant time during the tour. Our guide, Shima was very informative, friendly and helpful. The view of Mount Fuji was spectacular! The onsen experience was one of a kind for sure too bad it was a little bit rushed. Overall, the tour was great!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wonderful tour. Our tour guide Emi was very informative and funny too. Beautiful clear day so Mt Fuji was really clear. The onsen was an interesting experience for a westerner would definatly recommend it. Outlet shops where very expensive but that's the case in every country. All up would recommend your company and this tour :)

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It was great! The weather was nice so we were able to see the mountain, it was beautiful! We ended up not going into the onsen because tattoos weren't allowed, so we were relaxing in the restaurant. The onsen also offers massage services as well if you don't go into the onsen. There were surprisingly some cool stores at the outlet. All in all, a great sightseeing day and our guide was energetic, funny and very helpful!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazingly great! Mt. Fuji is a must see ,onsen experience was surprisingly nice and relaxing. Lunch by the lake was so exciting with very delicious food! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had a wonderful experience! It was a very organized trip-- pick up from our hotel was on time, Shima-san, our guide was very informative and all-around helpful, our bus driver was careful and practiced safe driving, and most of all, we were blessed with a very SUNNY and clear day. Mt . Fuji was picturesque! Wish we had more time at the onsen. The bbq lunch was also quite good and filling. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic day trip!

MT FUJI:
Apparently Mt. Fuji is only visible 100 days out of the year, and we happened to be there on a lucky clear day. Take most of your pictures from the first stop the bus makes at the observation center, because once you get to the 5th station you are ON the mountain, which means you no longer can get those beautiful full mountain shots. Also, try the flavored ice cream inside the first restaurant at the first stop, it's quite tasty!

LUNCH:
We purchased the lunch that was additional and it was a pleasant surprise. Beware of the splatters the grease of the meat causes when grilling, and make sure to wear the apron. You may not think you need it at first but when you take it off, you'll see just how much grease splattered around.

ONSEN:
Get over your shyness and do the onsen experience. Yes, you have to be naked, Yes, it's awkward for the first 5 mins, then you realize how amazing your skin feels from the mineralized water, and you don't want to leave. Tip: you can rent towels there.

OUTLETS:
Meh, didn't find any good deals. But then again I frequently visit the outlets in Florida where I get the best deals, ever. It was still fun browsing though!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Sadly, it did rain the day we went to Mt.Fuji. However, this didn't stop the tour from being amazing. The bus trip was nice and the landscape was pretty. We started off by going to the Mt.Fuji information center at the base of the mountain. This was cool and you can learn a lot about Mt.Fuji. We then drove up to the 5th station. The rain limited some of the views (it also hide the top of Mt.Fuji) but it was still beautiful. The trees were changing color and the full spectrum of autumn colors were visible. Next we went down and had lunch by the lake. The restaurant was on the 3rd floor and you could see the lake from it. We then went to the Onsen (hot spring). They had 3 indoor springs, 1 outdoor spring and a wet and dry sauna for the women. I believe the men side is the same. I wish we had more time to spend here. We then went to the outlets. This was my less favorite part of the tour. The outlets are in an outside mall. The rain started coming pretty hard around now and it was very cold out. The outlets are mostly international brands and are things I can get here in the US. Overall, I had a great time and this tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had a great time, the guide was lovely, the bus very comfortable and the experience a must do. We did this trip the first full day we had in Tokyo and it was great to find your feet. Mt Fuji was terrific (I love horse riding and guess what was available at the visitors centre, it was fun). Lunch was delicious and very Japanese (I am a vegetarian and there was no trouble catering for that). The onsen was a must do, it was a very liberating experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, informative guide but didn't get to see mount fuji as it was very cloudy; very disappointing. BBQ lunch was great and the Onsen was an amazing first time experience that everyone should try at least once.
overall enjoyed the day and the entire package.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was so good and efficient, we was enjoy the tour, the food and get more information about Japan. That was worth it with that price we ride shinkansen ( bullet train ) cable car, train, bus, rope way, cruise...enjoy beautiful hakone and Onsen..amazing experience.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was excellent and so was our guide. We learnt a lot about Mount Fiji, but we weren't lucky as for the weather: it was very cloudy. We weren't able to see Mount Fuji, however, the tour was worth taking. The onsen was amazing and the mall was for every taste. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I had a great time with a very informative and humorous guide. One hour at the onsen is unfortunately short, I'd prefer to take an extra 30 minutes out of the shopping, but all in all, it was a great day!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful time! Our tour guide, Takei, was the best - very informatve, organized, charming, and funny. The barbecue lunch was great. My niece who did the onsen was ecstatic about the experience. And she also found very good bargains of lego toys at the outlets.

Fe G. , New York City

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Although we have lived in Japan for years we had never been to Hakone. When a visiting family member asked us to go, we were a little hesitant about the price, set up etc, but found that this was a perfect trip if you want balance. The first day we were able to see Mount Fuji, take a boat ride on the beautiful Lake Ashi, a cable car ride and enjoy an amazing lunch. In the evening we were taxied to the hotel (which was ok), and then go to a local onsen. In terms of controlled tour that was it, but that is where the fun began. The next day we were able to go on all of the local transportation with our handy all access pass. We were able to eat black eggs, see volcanos, ride ropeways up mountains and tour on our own until we caught our Shinkansen back to Tokyo station. If you want a balance of tour and individual tour, than this is the option.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The tour was really great. Our tour guide Harry was really good and extremely helpful. We had a great time and would highly recomend this tour to everyone visiting Tokyo. The stay in Hakone and visiting the Onsen was the highlight of our trip!!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

It was great. The guide was excellent and informative, the view was magnificent, Mt. Fuji was majestic, Prince Hotel with its onsen is superb, hotel staff was ever-so-helpful, Hakone pass was handy as we traveled to various spots around Hakone and it's good to experience the bullet train.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Fantastic tour! Our tourguide Toko was great. Very informative and entertaining and kept everyone on schedule in order for us to make the most of the day. Apart from the obvious drawcard Fujisan, the highlights were the ropeway and definitely the overnight stay at Prince Hakone Hotel for the onsen! Would highly recommend this overnight tour and tour company.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

Alastair M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The whole trip from start to finish was excellent! Very well organized and extremely informative. Not too rushed considering how much land was covered on the first day. Would have maybe liked a bit more time on Mount Fuji. I was very lucky to have had great weather, so there were great views of and from Mount Fuji. The hotel was very nice, I was in the Lakeside Annex and the restaurant there was very reasonable compared to the other restaurants at the Prince complex. The service was great and food excellent. I loved the Onsen bath experience. The second day, having the Hakone 2 day pass, was brilliant! I am not usually keen on organized tours but this one gave you the best of both worlds, being in a tour the first day and then the freedom to choose what to do on your own the second with free access to local transportation. The trip back to Tokyo in the Shinkansen was a great way to end it and experience such a marvelous train. Top Marks, definitely do this trip in Tokyo!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

A spectacular time, beautiful views of the valleys and of course Mount Fuji. The guide was very knowledgeable and we enjoyed his dry sense of humor. Stayed at the Hakone Prince Hotel and thought it was wonderful. Very nice rooms, an excellent buffet dinner 50pp and the onsen experience was definitely something not to miss. I only wish we had one more day in the Hakone valley to explore a little more.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Mika is our tour guide. I love her systematic flow in the timeline. Giving us clear instruction on the time and places to visit.

Thought of things to improve, maybe this trip should just focus on Mt Fuji and onsen. Too rush to enjoy. But overall love the trip!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Susan M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A great day ... My Fuji did show us her peak, even if it was only for the start of the trip! We were blessed with good weather and an enthusiastic Guide.
Our Hakone hotel was rather dated rooms musty and a bit out of town. Staff were customarily polite but have limited English.
The hotels public ONSEN was organised and clean -- a must do even if you are shy about the thought of it !

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Was nice to get close to mt Fuji. Only made it to station 1 due to the weather. Onsen was fun and different. Some were not allowed as they had small tattoos. This should be listed on the booking information as it was a waste of time for some to sit and wait. the outlets were nice to see but the same as mnay parts of the world and the prices were high.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

I am very excited with this trip but a little sad when I know we did't go to 5th station because of weather. Onsen was very nice with view of mount Fuji. And Gotemba also a very pleasant place but not enough time there.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message