There’s nothing in the world quite like a Japanese onsen experience. These public bathhouses traditionally use natural hot spring water and come in a variety of shapes, sizes and forms. From an outdoor onsen in the mountains with steam rising high ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Sadly, it did rain the day we went to Mt.Fuji. However, this didn't stop the tour from being amazing. The bus trip was nice and the landscape was pretty. We started off by going to the Mt.Fuji information center at the base of the mountain. This was cool and you can learn a lot about Mt.Fuji. We then drove up to the 5th station. The rain limited some of the views (it also hide the top of Mt.Fuji) but it was still beautiful. The trees were changing color and the full spectrum of autumn colors were visible. Next we went down and had lunch by the lake. The restaurant was on the 3rd floor and you could see the lake from it. We then went to the Onsen (hot spring). They had 3 indoor springs, 1 outdoor spring and a wet and dry sauna for the women. I believe the men side is the same. I wish we had more time to spend here. We then went to the outlets. This was my less favorite part of the tour. The outlets are in an outside mall. The rain started coming pretty hard around now and it was very cold out. The outlets are mostly international brands and are things I can get here in the US. Overall, I had a great time and this tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had a great time, the guide was lovely, the bus very comfortable and the experience a must do. We did this trip the first full day we had in Tokyo and it was great to find your feet. Mt Fuji was terrific (I love horse riding and guess what was available at the visitors centre, it was fun). Lunch was delicious and very Japanese (I am a vegetarian and there was no trouble catering for that). The onsen was a must do, it was a very liberating experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, informative guide but didn't get to see mount fuji as it was very cloudy; very disappointing. BBQ lunch was great and the Onsen was an amazing first time experience that everyone should try at least once.
overall enjoyed the day and the entire package.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was so good and efficient, we was enjoy the tour, the food and get more information about Japan. That was worth it with that price we ride shinkansen ( bullet train ) cable car, train, bus, rope way, cruise...enjoy beautiful hakone and Onsen..amazing experience.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was excellent and so was our guide. We learnt a lot about Mount Fiji, but we weren't lucky as for the weather: it was very cloudy. We weren't able to see Mount Fuji, however, the tour was worth taking. The onsen was amazing and the mall was for every taste. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I had a great time with a very informative and humorous guide. One hour at the onsen is unfortunately short, I'd prefer to take an extra 30 minutes out of the shopping, but all in all, it was a great day!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful time! Our tour guide, Takei, was the best - very informatve, organized, charming, and funny. The barbecue lunch was great. My niece who did the onsen was ecstatic about the experience. And she also found very good bargains of lego toys at the outlets.

Fe G. , New York City

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Although we have lived in Japan for years we had never been to Hakone. When a visiting family member asked us to go, we were a little hesitant about the price, set up etc, but found that this was a perfect trip if you want balance. The first day we were able to see Mount Fuji, take a boat ride on the beautiful Lake Ashi, a cable car ride and enjoy an amazing lunch. In the evening we were taxied to the hotel (which was ok), and then go to a local onsen. In terms of controlled tour that was it, but that is where the fun began. The next day we were able to go on all of the local transportation with our handy all access pass. We were able to eat black eggs, see volcanos, ride ropeways up mountains and tour on our own until we caught our Shinkansen back to Tokyo station. If you want a balance of tour and individual tour, than this is the option.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The tour was really great. Our tour guide Harry was really good and extremely helpful. We had a great time and would highly recomend this tour to everyone visiting Tokyo. The stay in Hakone and visiting the Onsen was the highlight of our trip!!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

It was great. The guide was excellent and informative, the view was magnificent, Mt. Fuji was majestic, Prince Hotel with its onsen is superb, hotel staff was ever-so-helpful, Hakone pass was handy as we traveled to various spots around Hakone and it's good to experience the bullet train.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Fantastic tour! Our tourguide Toko was great. Very informative and entertaining and kept everyone on schedule in order for us to make the most of the day. Apart from the obvious drawcard Fujisan, the highlights were the ropeway and definitely the overnight stay at Prince Hakone Hotel for the onsen! Would highly recommend this overnight tour and tour company.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

Alastair M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The whole trip from start to finish was excellent! Very well organized and extremely informative. Not too rushed considering how much land was covered on the first day. Would have maybe liked a bit more time on Mount Fuji. I was very lucky to have had great weather, so there were great views of and from Mount Fuji. The hotel was very nice, I was in the Lakeside Annex and the restaurant there was very reasonable compared to the other restaurants at the Prince complex. The service was great and food excellent. I loved the Onsen bath experience. The second day, having the Hakone 2 day pass, was brilliant! I am not usually keen on organized tours but this one gave you the best of both worlds, being in a tour the first day and then the freedom to choose what to do on your own the second with free access to local transportation. The trip back to Tokyo in the Shinkansen was a great way to end it and experience such a marvelous train. Top Marks, definitely do this trip in Tokyo!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

A spectacular time, beautiful views of the valleys and of course Mount Fuji. The guide was very knowledgeable and we enjoyed his dry sense of humor. Stayed at the Hakone Prince Hotel and thought it was wonderful. Very nice rooms, an excellent buffet dinner 50pp and the onsen experience was definitely something not to miss. I only wish we had one more day in the Hakone valley to explore a little more.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Overall great trip! We were able to see the top of Mt. Fuji right before the fifth station. Onsen and shopping were night as well.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour is well organized. We had enjoyed barbecue lunch experience. We grilled beef and chicken.
Then we went to see Mt Fuji at 5th station. However, visit is only 30min. Wish there was more time. The onsen experience was great! Definitely a must try. Great view of Mt Fuji while taking a dip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message