The Dead Sea is famous for being the lowest point in the world, sitting 1,269 feet (383 meters) below sea level. It is also one of the saltiest bodies of water in the world, and as such, bodies will naturally float in the water. Because of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lance Owen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My favourite tour while in Isael. Both Masada and the Dead Sea were stunning.
I was collected from the pick-up point, which was a 2 minute walk from my centrally located Jerusalem hotel, on-time at 8.30am.
The guide was excellent and knowledgeable about the places we visited and those we passed along the way.
Make sure you take your swimming costume and a towel with you as you'll need them for the Dead Sea resort. Unfortunately, I didn't take mine and had to purchase both items from the beach shop for NIS140 about 30. However, it was still worth it as you can't really go all that way and not float in the Dead Sea!
What really made this trip though was the small but friendly crowd of fellow travellers who came from all over the world but seemed to get on really well. In fact, I ended up spending a very enjoyable evening after the tour sharing a few beers with a fellow solo traveller from Australia I met on the trip.
A highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Darren R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour makes what would be a difficult solo, public transport day trip compact and manageable. More time at Masada would have been worthwhile. The tour around the plateau was very quick, with little free time to wander or contemplate. Given how much time was given for lunch and shopping and for the Dead Sea visit, greater balance is possible and desirable.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

howard r

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The Masada leg of the tour was great. We had plenty of time at the site and our guide Avishai was both informative and entertaining and kept the group together making sure that the stragglers kept up. The Dead Sea was something of a dud. We had great views of it but the part we went to was a tiny beach and bathing area surrounded by a much larger gift and refreshment area. The entire place was crowded shoulder to shoulder including the locker room which is ridiculously small. We also bypassed the Qumran caves which Avishai pointed out as we passed by. Less time in a cosmetic shop we were brought to would have allowed a stop there.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

sofy

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip, professional guide, would be nice to have some more time in Dead sea.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

kk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very enjoyable. Most of the day was travel and touring Masada. We spent a couple of hours at the Dead Sea. I think 2 hours is plenty to enjoy the Dead Sea but if you want more time there maybe consider a different tour. Masada was very interesting and guide provided a good overview of the ruins.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Sung Sik P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This trip was good especially Masada! The guide was really good with full of information.
I think dead sea tour was average but it was ok.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Milda N

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The tour was pretty good. I wish we didnt stop for the shopping at the factory, but at least the stop wasnt that long. More time at Masada and some free time there would be nice. Likewise with dead sea. Feels a bit rushed,

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Susan B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Would have liked entrance into Masada museum, as well as better facilities at the Dead Sea

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Timothy D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

I would not recommend this trip. It was disorganized . We were picked up late and then placed on the wrong bus. We went to the Ahava storewhich was not on the itinerary which I was not interested in seeing.. It also meant less time at Masada and the Dead Sea. The tour of Masada was so rushed due to the initial delay and then the time spent at the Ahava store We had virtually no time at the Dead Sea for the same reasons. Very disappointing,

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Inna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We did 4 tours with Bein Harim during our honeymoon in Israel, and this was by far our favorite! Masada is absolutely stunning, and it was great having some time to float in the Dead Sea. The tour took about 12 hours from pick up to drop off. Ozzy was our tour guide - he conducted the tour in German and in English and did a fantastic job. He was funny, and full of great information. The bus was large and very comfortable, and made plenty of bathroom stops! Lunch at Masada was delicious and inexpensive. Having done a few of these tours, it seems to all be in the tour guide Masada and the Dead Sea are of course so beautiful, they speak for themselves. Ozzy was organized and had great time management, we felt we had enough time places and didn't feel too rushed though I would have preferred less time at Ahava and more time at the Dead Sea - but others might have wanted to shop, like we did on some of the other tours maybe because the other tours had more stops?. We would definitely recommend this tour and Ozzy, and would go again!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very worthwhile tourwell organized, informative tour guides and an interesting combination of history and archeology Masada and geomorphology and recreation Dead Sea. A great day. Interestingly, on the day of our tour, we happened upon the aftermath of a road accident in the West Bank which turned out to be a terrorist attack on an Israeli settler's car.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Donald M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Yawl was a fine guide and gave us much interesting information. Loved the explanations of areas we were passing and the chance to see Masada and take a float in one trip. Only suggestion is to inform guests in advance to brings water shoes for the Dead Sea float.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Connie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was great. Went to Masada and then the Dead Sea. Was a beautiful day and the guide on the bus kept us informed of what was where and interesting tid-bits. Glad we did the trip!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Rakesh H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Good tour. Spent too much time in Masada. Tour guide was rude, as it seems to be the case with most tour guides in Israel. The culture and manners are very aggressive and not conducive to a happy tour.

Dead sea was good. could have spent more time here.
Overall an OK tour.

It seems all tours have to go through Bein Harim regardless of the portal/ agent you book through. They seem to have a monopoly and are not very customer friendly.

I have used viator tour in other countries and they are so much better.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

runnytu

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The hotel pick up was 40 min late and we waiting for long time to take the final bus to the masada, in dead sea we had less than 1,30h for take a bath, everything else was recommended.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Think_Gigi Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The recommendation depends what you are looking for. If you require a good driver with limited knowledge that will get you to the destination than this is the tour for you. Our guide Ron would gladly point out obvious information such as the quarry Masada highlight, which was supported by a sign that said quarry. His mood fluctuated between frustration, patience and pleasantness. Our diverse group of people on the tour was also rather amusing. It was quite obvious that everyone had different expectations of the trip. Bottom line, the trip is basic, and the tour is true to its description you go to Masada and the dead sea. It is well organised in regard to transport, but if you want more out of your tour in regard to information historical, cultural, political etc about the area or if you want to participate in additional activities hiking, exploring Masada this is not the trip for you. Bring water and bring lunch saves you paying for overpriced food and drink. Also bring a hat and sunscreen for Masada.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

katreilla_sf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone who comes to visit Israel. I love the history behind it all and being able to see these places in person makes it a million times better in my opinion. Driving through the Judean desert and seeing Jericho from afar was beautiful and hearing the stories made it even more interesting. You're at sea level and even below sea level which was pretty awesome... Then you make your way to Masada which is really hot, but i mean what do you expect, you're in the desert! It was such a beautiful place to be at. That high up and pretty much nothing around you except the desert and being able to see the Dead sea up there was an unforgettable view. Ma'ayan was a great tour guide. She was very knowledgeable, informative, funny, and well organized and I would love to have her as my tour guide again since she knows what she is doing. Keep up the great work Ma'ayan! :

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

JOSE LUIS C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very well organized tour. The tour guide was super energetic and interesting. The bus was clean and on time. The only thing I will change is for them to give more time in the dead sea.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Elaine K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Pick up from hotel was fine and tour proceeded as listed. Some time wasted on organisation of buses as we were all combined from various hotels into a big bus. On our return trip, there were not enough seats in the shuttle which brought us back to our hotel - the driver failed to sort out/couldn't be bothered. We ended up squashing together sharing seats!!

The actual tour itself was ok. Our tour guide was knowledgeable. Masada was really interesting, brings the history to life but very hot and dry, wear appropriate clothing. Great to have a lunch break at Masada. Trip to Dead Sea was memorable, although short, could be longer. Remember to bring swimwear and sandals that you can wear on the Dead Sea beach as its stony can be sharp, hot and can be hard to walk on in bare feet. Trip overall was memorable and would recommend it at least once in one's lifetime.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Happy Traveller

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great Tour. Would have liked to have spent more time at the Dead Sea.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Jorge D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

For a first timer to Masada, the sunrise visit is probably not a good option because facilities are closed and you do not know what you are seeing or what parts of the site are best to go to. The hike along the snake path is too strenuous for all but the fittest--even if you manage to make it all the way, most of us end up feeling sick from the exertion. On the other hand, Ein Gedi is a paradise even in extreme summer heat. The Dead Sea resort is also nice. I wish I had chosen another one of the tours offered by Viator, but I am very satisfied with the professionalism and friendliness of the tour operator Abraham Tours, Jerusalem.

Doing what: Masada Sunrise, Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Trip from Jerusalem

tomoyana8712

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

I have met on this tour, an Israeli man who guided German. He was seated on the bus behind me. After brief introduction on my part, he made an assumption about myself and delivered comments that left me a very unpleasant feeling. I am not sure if he is one of your member, but something that he said about me was stereotyped and prejudiced.

Otherwise, the tour was well organized, and the main tour guide did very well in explaining the sites and cultural contexts. Just the one person that I encountered on the tour questions me professionalism of your company.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Suel Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This was a very good tour! I wanted to see more of Jerusalem and got exactly that! Much of the time is spent in the Jewish Quarter ie: the tour has a Jewish slant to it. There was ample time at the Western Wall and also the Holy Sepulchre - where the Jerusalem portion of the tour ends.

I do have issues with the 'authorized' souvenir and restaurant choices on these tours - but can't be avoided as I am sure the operator gets a cut! As the souvenir store is right in the middle of Old City - there are other shopping options. The restaurant for lunch is just okay - the views of the Temple Mount and Mount of Olives are amazing - too bad the food doesn't match. The 'deal' isn't that great and if budget is an issue - there are better and cheaper places to eat close by.

The Dead Sea was amazing! It was a quick drive and the scenery is stunning. The beach is nice and the facilities were reasonably clean. Bring your own towel and flip flops.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

annette

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Although the tour was good The transport situ was pour We were told to go to a place local to us at 8.20 am but was not picked up till 9.15 by a taxi who took us to our coach Again we had to wait another 35 mins .Hence we did not have a long time at the dead sea which was a shame .Our guide was very good

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Jude

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour was very good. Wish we didn't have to go to the Ahava Factory - would have given us more time at the Dead Sea

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message