• USD ($)
  • English
The Dead Sea is famous for being the lowest point in the world, sitting 1,269 feet (383 meters) below sea level. It is also one of the saltiest bodies of water in the world, and as such, bodies will naturally float in the water. Because of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Tour was as advertised. What I did not like was the stuffed mini bus and the rush through the tour. It seemed that the only time we took our time was at the AHAVA sales location. Masada and the Dead Sea was a rushed stop. The bus was again a mini bus that was full. It was very uncomfortable and I would not use this tour operator again because of the equipment that they use. Also, this was to be a tour in English only. There were 3 people on board that spoke English but demanded that the guide speak in Spanish. This dual language presentation was confusing and again I would have not booked it if I knew it to be the case. The guide was very knowledgeable but was in a hurry and spoke very fast. There are other operators that use larger tour bus's and would recommend them before this company.
Keep in mind that Viator is a booking company and does not actually run the tour. I have used them all over the world before and have always been pleased with their tours. The 6 tours in Israel that was booked through them but operated by a local company was disappointing chiefly due the being uncomfortable in the bus equipment they choose to use.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour - well organised, good value and the tour guide (Amir) was outstanding! The only (slight) downside is the enforced stop-off at 'HAVA' to buy beauty products/Dead Sea oils.

Remember to take water with you for the trip (no refreshments provided).

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide, Amir was excellent! I so appreciated his obvious, dedicated preparation. Not only did we get a 4000 year look at history but we also got to hear (to me) new and current views and opinions on the state of affairs in Iseral. again affirming that nothing in this world is black and white. I so appreciated to hear what it is like to live and work in this wonderful cuntry and their struggles on both sides of the ;political issues. Eye opening and worth it. Amir did not shove his opinions down our thoughts but merely showed us some other ways to think. In additions to that the site we saw and his very thorough explanations (without overwhelming us too much!) were excellent. AND floating in the Dead Sea is not to be missed. Never in my life did I think I would get this chance. Such a great tour of the old city capped off with a sea float and a history and political lesson to boot. Thank you!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable tour which was a good mix of culture and seeing the Dead Sea. We had less time by the sea than expected but you can only spend that much time in the water so it worked fine. Eli was an excellent guide.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour was very informative. I learnt a lot about Jewish History. The time spent at Shava factory was adequate. The time at the Dead Sea was sufficient. There are few problems with the tour and the organization in charge of the tour. With the price everyone is paying for the tour, one would believe that the bus would not be completely full- in a 52 seat bus, only three aisle seat were available and two of those seat were occupied by the tour guides' friend's personal stuff. The reason I believe that the bus was so full is that the tour company combined the bus from Jerusalem with the bus for Tel Aviv. When coming back from Jerusalem, the tour guide was less informative and engaged in a conversation with his friends at the front of the bus. Would I recommend this tour yes, but make sure that day you are going is not fully booked.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The general choice of sights to visit was spot on, but the Jerusalem hotel used in at best mediocre. Both the dinner we opted for and the included breakfast were absolutely the poorest quality in ALL of our time in Jordan and Israel. The room was also noisy and the TV access "shut down" for almost 5 hours in the late afternoon and early evening.

Our tour guides were well-informed and competent, but on the Jerusalem/Bethlehem day, we moved too fast and did not get enough time for actual "trinket shopping" in the Old City of Jerusalem.

Masada was especially impressive and worth every penny of that day's cost.

I would recommend booking just the Masada/Dead Sea single day option and seeing the Old City of Jerusalem on your own with a guidebook at hand, so you could stroll at leisure and reflect more at sights of YOUR own selection. This is especially recommended as long as Viator uses the Prima Park Hotel as their overnight option in Jerusalem, as it is SO below the acceptable standard in terms of food options in the hotel.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Masada & the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Had a great tour of Jerusalem and the Dead Sea. Our guide, Ozi (?), was great, full of energy and information. Good group of people that added to the experience.Fascinating places to see and a great way to spend the day.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Jerusalem, Masada and Dead Sea were great experiences. We learned a lot and got to see a lot of Israel and float on the Dead Sea. Bethlehem was another story. Our guide there was trying to get money from us so we wouldnt have to wait in line to see where Jesus was born and he got mad when we said no

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Masada & the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I went on two tours with this company. My tour to Masada and the Dead Sea was excellent. It was organized, plenty of breaks (clean bathrooms, snacks, etc.). The tour guide was great and this day tour was one of my favorite days in Jerusalem. I had plenty of time to look around, shop, and explore.

I also booked the Bethlehem tour as well. This one was not as organized. I was told an 8:30 a.m. pick-up and was finally picked up at 10:30 a.m. I sat in the hotel lobby for 2 hours. My hotel kept calling and they said 5 more minutes, 5 more minutes. I waited it out because I wanted to go to Bethlehem. After the tour started, it was better. The guide was great, stops were cool (Bethlehem is much more dirty than I imagined, though). However, I did not like the shopping option. It is one of those stores that is geared to take advantage of tourists. All the prices in US dollar. There were numerous other shops, but we could not go to those.

If they tell you 8:30 a.m. pick-up-I'd go down to the lobby at 8:45 a.m. and I bet you'll still wait a bit.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was probably the best trip I did during my stay in Jerusalem. The scenery was very barren but stunning at the same time. Masada has such a fascinating history and the guide was extremely knowledgeable and interesting. We had lunch in the restaurant there - nice reasonably priced food but very chaotic finding somewhere to sit to eat. Then it was down to the shores of the Dead Sea - very unsurreal floating in the water but a wonderful experience - excellent trip - well done

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Masada and the Dead Sea was my favourite part of visiting Israel! Masada is a very interesting sight to walk around and listen to the history. It is a medium amount of walk but mostly on flat ground. We took the cable car to the top and down for more time spent sightseeing. We were also given time to float and mud up at the Dead Sea. Great Day!!
The part I did not like was the tour was late leaving and we were rushed at Masada. As well as a long shopping stop for Dead Sea products. I would wish to have more time spent sightseeing than waiting.
*** Tip Bring snacks as lunch is scheduled for very late in the day. ***

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very interesting tour! Too much time reserved for shopping, too little for staying in Dead Sea area.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

The only worthwhile part of the tour was the transportation. The tour guide, Haya, was unpleasant and domineering, so much so that people started to joke that it felt like we were in grade school and she was our teacher. She wasted our time by taking us to a tourist trap shop with inflated prices in the Old City for 30 minutes. She was unknowledgeable about the Old City. A cursory internet search would have revealed far more information about the places we visited than Haya was able to provide. We might as well have walked around on our own. I don't recommend this tour.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our driver/guide was fantastic, and I apologise for not remembering his name now, 4 countries later! He made very clear what we could expect, and when. He had good knowledge and great people skills. He even took us up onto the rooftops of Jerusalem, for a spectacular view. The Dead Sea experience was great, and his assistance at lunch was much appreciated. Really good experience!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

These are all incredible places to visit and this trip covers them way better than youd be able to do yourself. Day 1 starts in Jerusalem which was completely overwhelming, its a complete shock to the senses, all this ancient history, incredibly diverse cultures and religions all crammed between the old walls, it was great to have the guided tour as you see and learn so much in the short time you have. Next is Bethlehem, and even getting there is quite an experience. Overnight in Jerusalem. Day 2 starts at Masada, amazing, then off for a mud bath and floating on the dead sea. A brilliant trip. The only negatives I would mention is the very average overnight hotel in Jerusalem (upgrade if you can) and the tour guide on day 2 must have been doing the tours in King Herrods time as she appeared pretty bored of doing the tour again.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Masada & the Dead Sea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message