The Dead Sea is famous for being the lowest point in the world, sitting 1,269 feet (383 meters) below sea level. It is also one of the saltiest bodies of water in the world, and as such, bodies will naturally float in the water. Because of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 120 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Suel
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This was a very good tour! I wanted to see more of Jerusalem and got exactly that! Much of the time is spent in the Jewish Quarter ie: the tour has a Jewish slant to it. There was ample time at the Western Wall and also the Holy Sepulchre - where the Jerusalem portion of the tour ends.

I do have issues with the 'authorized' souvenir and restaurant choices on these tours - but can't be avoided as I am sure the operator gets a cut! As the souvenir store is right in the middle of Old City - there are other shopping options. The restaurant for lunch is just okay - the views of the Temple Mount and Mount of Olives are amazing - too bad the food doesn't match. The 'deal' isn't that great and if budget is an issue - there are better and cheaper places to eat close by.

The Dead Sea was amazing! It was a quick drive and the scenery is stunning. The beach is nice and the facilities were reasonably clean. Bring your own towel and flip flops.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really enjoyed the tour - thanks to a friendly and knowledgeable guide Amir and well organized timing/facilities - a comfy air conditioned minibus with just 17 people, just enough time spent on sightseeing and then 2 hours of muddy bathing in the Dead Sea.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A really enjoyable tour, with a helpful and informative guide. The trip to Jerusalem was fascinating and although it was a Saturday so certain restrictions were in force this did not lessen the enjoyment of the Western Wall or the Holy Sepulchre.The Dead Sea was an absolute delight. Highly recommended

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Although the tour was good The transport situ was pour We were told to go to a place local to us at 8.20 am but was not picked up till 9.15 by a taxi who took us to our coach Again we had to wait another 35 mins .Hence we did not have a long time at the dead sea which was a shame .Our guide was very good

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour was very good. Wish we didn't have to go to the Ahava Factory - would have given us more time at the Dead Sea

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Masada tour was wonderful! The guide, Tamar, was very knowledgeable, and easy to understand, and professional. Most enjoyable! The Dead Sea experience, however, was less than our expectations. Perhaps because it was a Saturday, but the place was completely over-run with tour buses. We waited 20 minutes in line to get in a changing room, only to realize that there was only one shuttle transporting people to the Dead Sea. Another long wait then we had only 5 minutes at the Dead Sea. Even at that, we were late getting back to our bus at the appointed time. This was certainly not our guides fault, but we thought you should know the situation. Jean Nesnow

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Guide was great, but should have indicated waterproof sandals and towel required for Dead Sea

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Masada fantastic. Dead Sea disappointing as lots of people at one place. Long walk from coach drop off to actual sea and tractor/trolley very busy. No towels provided so should tell people to bring their own.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Itamar was an excellent guide. He was very knowledgable about the history of the region and contemporary Israel. This tour is great for travelers with a limited amount of time that they want to maximize.

Not recommended if you are traveling the following day, as it's a quite a long and tiring tour. You will likely want some relaxation time the following day. Also, the Dead Sea portion requires caution in the high summer months. July and August can be brutally hot!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was interesting to hear the story of Masada, as we hadn't heard it before and the views from the top were great. The guide was good. Floating in the Dead Sea was fun, but it was a bit rushed

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I really enjoyed the Masada portion of the tour. It was great, but the Dead Sea portion was so-so. I would have rather spent time at Elijah Springs or Qumran.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The tour was interesting and the group was small which was good. However, I didn't like that there wasn't any 'free time' to explore Jerusalem and get lunch. Instead, we stopped at a boring restaurant near the dead sea around 2pm which is a bit late. Also, I found it too expensive for what it is.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I don't normally give a review but I will make exception to this trip in Masada and Dead Sea. My family was really amazed and enjoyed every moment of the tour. The tour guide Miri and Oleg are well-experienced and knowledgeable to tell us the history and archeological details of Masada. Recommended.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an amazing tour! Our guide named Rikki was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable and happy to answer any questions. Masada was an amazing place to see. Floating on the Dead Sea was so much fun! I would recommend this to anybody. We were very lucky to get a great guide for Jerusalem and Bethlehem too, named Ron. He showed us all around and we had a fantastic day. Beware of the Orthodox Easter as we were nearly crushed in the crowds at the tomb. That was an experience in itself. All good fun.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Masada & the Dead Sea

Cat
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide, Moshe, was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of history with us throughout the day. I definitely learned a lot about Jerusalem, and Israel in general. The old city of Jerusalem is so amazing and full of history that I wish we could have spent longer there, but I also didn't want to miss out on the Dead Sea. This tour is perfect if you don't have a lot of time, but if you do have the time, I'd recommend spending a full day in Jerusalem, and then doing a separate day for the Dead Sea. Overall, a really great day - especially since we had such a small group of 8 people!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

I had one day to do a tour and chose this to give me a glance overall. Bus arrived on time. Only 14 people were booked which was great. Please dress modestly as you are going to very holy and religious sites. In other words, no tank tops or shorts. Ron was informative and funny! Visited the major sites including the Old City, four quarters, Mount of Olives, and Dead Sea. Packed water and snacks for the ride including swimsuit and towel and water shoes for the Dead Sea. Lunch prior to the Dead Sea was pretty good and I suggest skipping the hot food line and go right to the falafel and schwarama line. My only complaint would be the sanctioned souvenir shop that gives you the pitch. You're not forced to buy anything but it's unfortunate we couldn't roam the Jerusalem for 15 minutes to get other items. There's another souvenir shop at the Dead Sea restaurant shop. Would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide was Ben and he was absolutely phenomenal! He knew so much about Israel, Jerusalem, Tel Aviv, and even just random little facts about the scenery and everyday life there. My husband and I did not have enough time on our trip to spend more than a day in Jerusalem and visit the dead sea, which is why we booked this tour. We have no regrets! I would recommend this tour to anyone. I learned a lot, and it was a great experience. Our tour guide was doing another tour two days later into northern Israel, and we were genuinely bummed that we were leaving that day and could not attend that as well. It was definitely worth the money, and I learned so much more that I ever would have if we had decided to venture to these places alone. Book this tour!!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

An excellent tour with an excellent guide. Massada was a wonderful experience. The story of Massada was told to us in fair detail and very interesting. The dead sea experience was really something - floating on water!
This tour should not be missed.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Masada and the Dead Sea were stunning and our tour guide was knowledgeable, classy, and experienced. She did a great job bringing it all together.

As for Jerusalem, unbelievable tour guide Amir Call Or. His charisma, sense of humor and vast amounts of knowledge were humbling and enriching at the same time. He helped me realize how much more there is to see about this amazing country where so much of world's history was made. I highly recommend the tour, which while fast paced you can't pretend to cover a good amount of Jerusalem in a day without unfortunately having to rush, and a tour guide that runs a tight ship, it gives you a great tease/taste of such a historical city. And Amir made it so much more interesting and stimulating.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Israel Tour: Old Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Masada & the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Masada is amazing and the tour guide gave us a very good run down of the differnet things there. The Dead Sea is also amazing and the Ein Gedi spa was very nice, I just wish we had more time there. Would recommend cutting out the stop at Ahava and giving more time at the Dead Sea.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Solid tour with a great guide. Tamar really tried to make sure everyone got what they needed though u felt bad for her since the our group had a few folks that were not very social. The weather almost stopped us from going to Masada but we made it. Dead Sea location was okay but a bit too crowded

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We learned a lot on the trip to Masada and enjoyed the brief time we had at the Dead Sea. The guide was good, but I did get a little tired of hearing how great the bus driver was because he was so patient. I never did understand that. At the end, this was used again to lobby for a bus driver tip. I always tip, and did here, but I thought that the overt pitch for a tip and passing around an envelope was a bit aggressive. In addition, I wish that the food choices for lunch were better, although I doubt there is much you can do about that because of where we are at. Overall, very good tour, but don't be so aggressive on the tip -- your guides might actually collect more if they weren't so aggressive.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Issac was a knowledgable and enthusiastic guide. It was evident that he is passionate about history and Israel. He did an excellent job at making sure the tour group stayed together and moved at an efficient pace in order to maximize our time in Jerusalem and the Dead Sea.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Seeing the Masada and walking barefoot in the Dead Sea are not to be missed experiences. Another guide from the same company, but, with a different group of tourists gave much better information than our guide, however. If he were our guide, I would have rated it 5 stars.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The Dead Sea was an incredible experience and well worth it. Only a short distance from Jerusalem.
The walking tour was also incredible and the tour guide was fantastic - knew everything and very friendly.

Doing what: Jerusalem Super Saver: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea Day Tour plus In the Footsteps of Jesus Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message