The injustice, cruelty and day-to-day absurdities of white minority rule are impressively detailed in Johannesburg’s Apartheid Museum. “Apartheid”, meaning “separateness” in Afrikaans, was officially in operation from 1948 to 1994, though ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ken C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We received excellent personalised service from Henni who was personable, friendly and likeable.
We received a pleasant surprise when we met him at Hilton Sandton at exactly the specified time. He advised that he was our personal guide for the day, just the 2 of us.
The trip was excellent in terms of timings and coverage. We enjoyed the Soweto visit after Liliesleaf. Yes, we had read the history but until you visit you have no real understanding. Henni added to our trip and perspective with insightful direct commentary. We found the tour of Constitution Hill personally challenging and it is hard to understand these atrocities only 40 plus years ago. We then also enjoyed the visit to the Church and its symbolism. The drive through Johannesburg and the gold Museum and then the visit to the high rise building was worthwhile.
The tour and guide were both excellent and good value. We were staying / visiting with good friends in Sandton but this tour added great detail and exposure to our visit. Can only highly recommend our guide Henni. He was first class as a guide and also in explaining and presenting a balanced view.
A very good decision even for very experienced travellers to use this guide and the tours were first class.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Truly excellent. The guide was superb. Liliesleaf was truly moving and educational - glad this was substituted for the Apartheid museum. A stop at Mandela's house and at the Hector Peterson memorial would have been nice.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

A must do for the history, for the myth of Soweto and for South Africa! A very well laid out museum which canot be bypassed if visiting South Africa.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Phineas was our tour guide and was incredibly generous in sharing his personal and professional perspective on the history of the township and its people. He also made a few side stops for us. Your perspective on life will be changed by a visit to the Apartheid Museum; I had a wonderful and unique appreciation for the meal my husband and I, black Americans, enjoyed at an upscale restaurant in Sandton that evening.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A really excellent trip and well worth the money. The guide was very good. The apartheid museum was very moving. Highlight of the tour however was the lunch in Soweto. Excellent food at very affordable prices.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Really good tour - our guide was very informative.
However only got 1.5 hours at the apartheid museum which wasn't enough, and given we had a smaller group we probably had time to stay for longer.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

The museum was fine. But the guide didn't even bother to assist me or at least get me a headset with the audio that tells more about the museum. In the Soweto tour, I was forced to buy an item I don't like in one of the vendors in the area that the tour guide obviously knows.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

Ian P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Soweto part brilliant - talked to some very personally involved guides at various locations an unofficial settlement, Regina Mundi Church Hector Peterson memorial. Nelson Mandela house museum a disappointment - just processed through quickly. The Apartheid Museum is powerful - need much more than the 2.5hrs allowed.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message