Perhaps nowhere is South Africa’s transition to democracy more vividly apparent than on Constitution Hill. For over a hundred years, buildings here functioned as a much-feared prison complex, holding everyone from common criminals to activists ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Lots to learn, see about history and educational tour...Plus Tour guide was very friendly, polite, and well known of the places around.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Definitely worth doing. Informative and varied between the different locations. Our guide, remaining in character, was fun and educational. The tour was a real eye-opener on Mandela's life and times. Just do it!

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Absolutely amazing tour guide, very informative and funny. We learnt so much on this tour, well worth doing!

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Short and crispy!! Good for starting tour of Johanesburg.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Jo'burg gets a mixed press, and on the basis of our tour, undeservedly so. Our guide Moses was informative and gave a lively and fascinating presentation of Johannesburg's role in the development of modern-day South Africa. The Constitutional Court was well worth a visit, and seeing the redevelopment of down-town Jo'burg was a welcome antidote to the scare stories one hears. Highly recommended, and I just wish we'd had enough time to see Soweto too under Moses' excellent guidance.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Ken C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We received excellent personalised service from Henni who was personable, friendly and likeable.
We received a pleasant surprise when we met him at Hilton Sandton at exactly the specified time. He advised that he was our personal guide for the day, just the 2 of us.
The trip was excellent in terms of timings and coverage. We enjoyed the Soweto visit after Liliesleaf. Yes, we had read the history but until you visit you have no real understanding. Henni added to our trip and perspective with insightful direct commentary. We found the tour of Constitution Hill personally challenging and it is hard to understand these atrocities only 40 plus years ago. We then also enjoyed the visit to the Church and its symbolism. The drive through Johannesburg and the gold Museum and then the visit to the high rise building was worthwhile.
The tour and guide were both excellent and good value. We were staying / visiting with good friends in Sandton but this tour added great detail and exposure to our visit. Can only highly recommend our guide Henni. He was first class as a guide and also in explaining and presenting a balanced view.
A very good decision even for very experienced travellers to use this guide and the tours were first class.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

o tour é um pouco caro, mas valeu a pena, ficamos com uma ideia muito precisa sobre a história recente do país. O nosso guia era símpático e prestável.Gostámos especialmente do Sowei e Lillies leaf.Almoçámos num restaurante comum no soweto, buffet com comida tipica sul-africana, não incluido no tour e um pouco caro.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was Hennie of Tourvest. He was very proud of his city Johannesburg and wanted to impart as much knowledge and show us as much as he could during our half day tour. We were lucky to have such an informative tour and I would recommend Hennie for any tour in and around Johannesburg.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was good to get an overview of the city - we were just unlucky to have scheduled it for a Saturday afternoon when things close up early and the guide on Constitution Hill wasn't available and such - that being said - I'm glad we did it!

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I was a perfect one day trip to get an idea of Joburg. Guide was very knowledgeable. The only caveat was
If lunch was not included, do not take us to a restaurant and say this is where we are eating. The food
Was not bad but terribly expensive for the place. I would have preferred another restaurant.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

Louis S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great day, great driver/guide recommend it

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Very interesting culture and history of the metropolitan area. Hennie is a very knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Me and my family really enjoyed this full day tour. Lots of information from a very knowledgable guide and not too rushed despite the many sights visited. Excellent way to see Johannesburg.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

great tour ! Our guide was friendly and informative. Morning tour including farm where Mandela plotted and prison where Mandela and Gandhi stayed were standouts.
Lunch in Soweto and visit to city observation tower excellent.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message