Johannesburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Kruger National Park

One of South Africa’s premier attractions, Kruger National Park is famous the world over for the extent and diversity of its wildlife. The “Big Five” of game are all there: buffalo, elephants, leopards, lions, and rhinoceroses. A world-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent hotel (right next to Kruger Gate entrance to park) and terrific tour guide Andrew! 3 days of high-quality safari: we saw the big five all in the same day.

Doing what: 4-Day Kruger National Park Safari Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This Tour was sensational although with travel time, 4 days is hardly enough. We stayed an extra 2. Our accommodation was not with the stated lodge but rather with Drifters Game Lodge. Lucky us! because we were spoiled rotten by a gorgeous couple Adrian and Kim. The resort is spectacular as well. Almost new with beautiful individual bungalows with ensuites, overlooking an amazing wide sandy riverbed. at times we had heards of Elephants meandering past along with the occasional Rhino or Water Buffalo. The food here was 5 star as well passionately prepared by James. They even baked me a birthday cake! Prices for drinks was very reasonable and R50 ($5) took care of the washing. As for the Safaris, their resident guide and tracker Karl showed his skills in hunting us down the 'big 5' plus a host of other animals and birds. I can thoroughly recommend this tour but strongly suggest you request to stay at Drifters Game Lodge

Doing what: 4-Day Kruger National Park Safari Tour from Johannesburg: Game Drives and Wilderness Walks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The driver/guide was very knowledgeable. We saw all of the big five except lions during our game drive. There were plenty of animals to see and also time to rest along the way. I was very happy with the game drive and tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Big Five Game Drive in Kruger National Park

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Unfortunately Kruger was washed out and we didn't get the whole experience we had hoped for. We were placed at Drifters Lodge in lieu of Hoyo Hoyo Lodge. Drifters was okay but not what we had paid for as we had paid for luxury accommodation and we were disappointed. The staff were all fine and we had an okay time but really feel we missed out with the numbers of animals we saw. We had been to Pumba private reserve and saw so many animals but thought Kruger would be even better. We saw a few at Drifters but not in the numbers we had expected as per discussions with friends who had been to Kruger previously. We realise there wasn't a lot that could be done because of the floods but when you are on holiday that really isn't any consolation as we may never get back that way again.

Doing what: 3-Day Kruger National Park Luxury Safari from Johannesburg

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Kruger is a beautiful place to visit and I would recommend it to anyone. However, based on my recent experiences with the tour agency/s I would not recommend this tour to anyone. If you want to go to Kruger, you are better off looking for options like self driving and then taking an open jeep safari, or look for another travel company. We had a horrible driver/guide who practically refused to provide us with the promised closed safari in an attempt to 'hard sell' the open jeep safari. This was a classic case of 'bait and switch'. Once we were at the park the first day, she refused to look for animals on the pretext that she cannot drive and look for game at the same time and that she was afraid to take the vehicle to the gravel roads! After hearing her outburst, I informed her that we just had a closed vehicle trip in Pilanesberg and that our driver/guide for that trip drove slowly and spotted all the animals for us and took his vehicle to the gravel roads as well. To this she responded with a very rude remark. She said and I quote, “ OK, I will find the animals if you do the driving. I cannot do both”. I was very insulted and taken aback, because isn’t the job of an ‘expert game ranger’ to drive and help customers spot animals? If I had to drive and my husband were to spot the animals why did we pay to take the help of a so called expert?
Since she was obviously not going to help us spot any animals, we tried to do that on our own. However, it became very difficult since she was driving very fast. My husband requested her to slow down so that we could better spot the animals. To this she responded again in a very rude tone,” I am following the speed limit and I am allowed to go at 50kmph”.
The point is that in the tour brochure the open safari is given as an option, but if the closed safari driver refuses to provide us with the services as promised, then it is really not an option, is it? We feel thoroughly cheated.

Doing what: 3-Day Kruger Park Wildlife Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Our tour guide on this trip could not have been more helpful. He went out of his way to assist us and accommodate people's wishes as far as individual requests were concerned. The hotels in general were very nice, though the Bongoni Lodge was hard to reach. Game sightings at Bongoni were disappointing. The Kruger was exceptional. Elephant Whispers was outstanding, and the highlight of the tour. We are not shoppers, so were not really interested in the Pilgrim's Rest stores. Lunch there at "The Vine" was average. Time management was hard for our tour guide, due to other couples' requests, but he tried hard to accommodate and please all his passengers. His driving was safe and considerate of others on the road. His knowledge of the country and flora and fauna was excellent. The game drives that he conducted were outstanding.

Doing what: 4-Day Kruger National Park Safari Tour from Johannesburg: Game Drives and Wilderness Walks

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2013

I do not recommend booking this tour if Viator continues to use Tsakane Safari Camp as the source. The camp is poorly managed with absentee ownership. The description of the itinerary is inaccurate. Food was meager portions, poorly prepared and in some cases inedible . Worse there were safety issues with a vehicle that was old and had treadless tires. Their "swimming pool" measures abut 5' x 7'. While pick-up and drop-off arrangements were provided, the management never confirmed the time we were to leave to return to Johannesburg, and we were left waiting for hours. We were the only 2 in the camp. Avoid Tsakane Safari Camp!

Doing what: 4-Day Kruger National Park Safari Tour from Johannesburg: Game Drives and Wilderness Walks

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Worst part of the tour was the 5 hour car ride from Johannesburg. After arriving, the arrangements were on time for everything and very acceptable. The accommodations were very good and the guides very professional.

Doing what: 3-Day Kruger Park Wildlife Safari

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

The hotel was excellent with few details overlooked. Although it was a lovely hotel they could use a good exterminator for the roach problem. I saw them in the bedroom, bathroom, and other areas. They really do make a superior effort. On the return trip, we did get stopped for a traffic check. I was a bit shaky when the police threatened to impound the vehicle because there was no tourist passenger insurance on the vehicle. Begging from the front office on the phone helped!

Doing what: 3-Day Kruger Park Wildlife Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message