Johannesburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Kruger National Park

One of South Africa’s premier attractions, Kruger National Park is famous the world over for the extent and diversity of its wildlife. The “Big Five” of game are all there: buffalo, elephants, leopards, lions, and rhinoceroses. A world-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JAMES S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I completely enjoyed my stay at Kruger Park. The accommodations were excellent and the game drives did not disappoint. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Kruger National Park Luxury Safari from Johannesburg

James L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

I have to give this visit a low score. First, the title is inaccurate. The accommodations were not in Kruger Park. Second, the transport to and from Johannesburg and lodge was definitely not luxurious. Makalali game reserve deserves four-plus stars. It is a small boutique lodge, with three camps each hosting maximum perhaps 12 guests with accommodating and courteous staff, great food, and knowledgeable safari guides. The game contributed their part too, and I saw many animals. I would call the accommodations not luxurious but something more along the lines of refined but rustic. A toilet in a room with no heat when the outside temperature is five degrees is not my definition of luxury. Still, on the whole, an excellent stay. My biggest complaint was the lengthy, uncomfortable and tiring five-plus hour ride from Johannesburg to the lodge and the return. In sum, four-plus stars for Makilali lodge and its services but one to one plus stars for the tour organizers because of the misleading title and the lengthy and uncomfortable trips.

Doing what: 3-Day Kruger National Park Luxury Safari from Johannesburg

dr_adel_wilson

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Not what I expected. The tour guide Andrew was reluctant, and did not care if you saw any animals at all or not. Vehicles were worn out. Too much time was waste on breakfast, and equally as much time was wasted on lunch!! Could do with more organization.

Doing what: Kruger National Park Morning Game Drive

dr.mjweil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Guide Andrew made it the best ever! Excellent knowledge and friendliness. Great accommodations. Animals galore. Jane Goodall experience a treasure! Protea lodge superb.

Doing what: 4-Day Kruger National Park Safari Tour from Johannesburg: Game Drives and Wilderness Walks

Maureen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My friend and I were amazingly lucky, as we ended up being the only two on our tour! Our guide, Finnias, was friendly, super-accommodating of any request, and was so much fun to be with for the four days.

Doing what: 4-Day Kruger National Park Safari Tour from Johannesburg: Game Drives and Wilderness Walks

N.A. d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Prachtig! Haal- en breng service van en naar ons verblijf in Hazyview. Het toeval wilde dat wij de enige 2 personen waren die geboekt hadden op dat tijdstip, dus een prive game drive! 4 van de big 5 gezien.

Doing what: Big Five Afternoon Game Drive in Kruger National Park

Renan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent hotel (right next to Kruger Gate entrance to park) and terrific tour guide Andrew! 3 days of high-quality safari: we saw the big five all in the same day.

Doing what: Best 4-Day Kruger National Park Safari Adventure

Graeme T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This Tour was sensational although with travel time, 4 days is hardly enough. We stayed an extra 2. Our accommodation was not with the stated lodge but rather with Drifters Game Lodge. Lucky us! because we were spoiled rotten by a gorgeous couple Adrian and Kim. The resort is spectacular as well. Almost new with beautiful individual bungalows with ensuites, overlooking an amazing wide sandy riverbed. at times we had heards of Elephants meandering past along with the occasional Rhino or Water Buffalo. The food here was 5 star as well passionately prepared by James. They even baked me a birthday cake! Prices for drinks was very reasonable and R50 ($5) took care of the washing. As for the Safaris, their resident guide and tracker Karl showed his skills in hunting us down the 'big 5' plus a host of other animals and birds. I can thoroughly recommend this tour but strongly suggest you request to stay at Drifters Game Lodge

Doing what: 4-Day Kruger National Park Safari Tour from Johannesburg: Game Drives and Wilderness Walks

Eric

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The driver/guide was very knowledgeable. We saw all of the big five except lions during our game drive. There were plenty of animals to see and also time to rest along the way. I was very happy with the game drive and tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Big Five Game Drive in Kruger National Park

William S

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Unfortunately Kruger was washed out and we didn't get the whole experience we had hoped for. We were placed at Drifters Lodge in lieu of Hoyo Hoyo Lodge. Drifters was okay but not what we had paid for as we had paid for luxury accommodation and we were disappointed. The staff were all fine and we had an okay time but really feel we missed out with the numbers of animals we saw. We had been to Pumba private reserve and saw so many animals but thought Kruger would be even better. We saw a few at Drifters but not in the numbers we had expected as per discussions with friends who had been to Kruger previously. We realise there wasn't a lot that could be done because of the floods but when you are on holiday that really isn't any consolation as we may never get back that way again.

Doing what: 3-Day Kruger National Park Luxury Safari from Johannesburg

Jean K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Our tour guide on this trip could not have been more helpful. He went out of his way to assist us and accommodate people's wishes as far as individual requests were concerned. The hotels in general were very nice, though the Bongoni Lodge was hard to reach. Game sightings at Bongoni were disappointing. The Kruger was exceptional. Elephant Whispers was outstanding, and the highlight of the tour. We are not shoppers, so were not really interested in the Pilgrim's Rest stores. Lunch there at "The Vine" was average. Time management was hard for our tour guide, due to other couples' requests, but he tried hard to accommodate and please all his passengers. His driving was safe and considerate of others on the road. His knowledge of the country and flora and fauna was excellent. The game drives that he conducted were outstanding.

Doing what: 4-Day Kruger National Park Safari Tour from Johannesburg: Game Drives and Wilderness Walks

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message