• USD ($)
  • English
Soweto (short for South-West Township) was synonymous with resistance to Apartheid in South Africa, particularly as repression was stepped up in the 1970s and 80s, a time when images of the sprawling district on the edge of Johannesburg were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

o tour é um pouco caro, mas valeu a pena, ficamos com uma ideia muito precisa sobre a história recente do país. O nosso guia era símpático e prestável.Gostámos especialmente do Sowei e Lillies leaf.Almoçámos num restaurante comum no soweto, buffet com comida tipica sul-africana, não incluido no tour e um pouco caro.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

Bruce S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was the only English speaking person in a tour group of German Tourist but our tour guide Rudie made the extra effort to provide narrative in both languages ... the visit to the squatter camp in Soweto was excellent and well managed by our tour guide ... well worth it

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

great tour ! Our guide was friendly and informative. Morning tour including farm where Mandela plotted and prison where Mandela and Gandhi stayed were standouts.
Lunch in Soweto and visit to city observation tower excellent.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Brilliant tour of Soweto! Highly recommend. I was very lucky to be the only one on the tour and found it to be very informative.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This tour was so much more than expected. The guide and driver were extremely knowledgeable about the history of the area and the present day Jo'burg and Soweto, We saw many, many things that we would never have seen unguided, and we felt in very safe hands at all times.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Good tour but too much time spent in Liliesleaf Farm. Should have undertaken a short walking tour of Soweto and more time taking photos in Jo'burg CBD.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

Maria K
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

We recently booked the half day tour. What was good: Our guide was polite, flexible and accommodating and gave a lot of information bringing to life Soweto, its history and how it is developing nowadays.
No so good: the tour lasted more than half a day and we spend most of the time (6 hours approx) in the van. The vehicle had small windows and it wasn't easy to see outside and that made it feel like a long day.
What could be better: More scheduled stops and more opportunity to interact with locals.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Seeing Soweto from the point-of-view of a resident was well worth the time.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

A must do for the history, for the myth of Soweto and for South Africa! A very well laid out museum which canot be bypassed if visiting South Africa.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A really excellent trip and well worth the money. The guide was very good. The apartheid museum was very moving. Highlight of the tour however was the lunch in Soweto. Excellent food at very affordable prices.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

Martin A
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

One of the most impacting experiences in this tour is the possibility of "entering" the real daily life of the very poor people living in the Soweto lumps. Drawback that the lunch between the 2 activities was not covered by the payment to Viator

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

The museum was fine. But the guide didn't even bother to assist me or at least get me a headset with the audio that tells more about the museum. In the Soweto tour, I was forced to buy an item I don't like in one of the vendors in the area that the tour guide obviously knows.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

Susan B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Our guide was amazing. He really made the trip. Having lived in Soweto all his life he had so much knowledge to share. A really positive and uplifting day.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

Ian P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Soweto part brilliant - talked to some very personally involved guides at various locations an unofficial settlement, Regina Mundi Church Hector Peterson memorial. Nelson Mandela house museum a disappointment - just processed through quickly. The Apartheid Museum is powerful - need much more than the 2.5hrs allowed.

Doing what: Johannesburg Super Saver: Soweto Sightseeing Tour plus Johannesburg Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message