• USD ($)
  • English
In the 1980s Sun City constituted a test of integrity for rock and pop stars, as performing in the huge entertainment complex north-west of Johannesburg meant tacitly colluding with the apartheid regime. Nowadays a trip to Sun City needn’t ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour and fantastic location for a short Safari

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

This tour is Half good, half bad. In the morning you have the chance to experience the Pilanesberg reserve, which is really special. We could see a lot of animals and the reserve itself is very beautiful. Just be patient with the restaurant in the Pilanesberg Center : they usually won't have what you want to eat or drink and the food is quite bad. I was Lucky and my order was ok, but my friends fish and chip was terrible.
The second part of the tour is a waste of time (and Money) because this tour is not cheap. When we arrived at SUN CITY we found out that we could only see the external part of the resort and the access to most of the attractions were private to the resort guests. The only thing we could see was a big Garden in the golf course and the backyard of the Valley of Waves. We we're very disappointed. Besides, what we saw was an oldfashioned resort made in the 90's and that nowadays looks like my grandmother's house. It is not Worth going. Try only the first part of the package.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

Louis S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Arrived before the appointed time, drove safely and was able to answer any questions I had

Doing what: Johannesburg Airport Shared Departure Transfer

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The view of flora and fauna in Pilanesberg was nice. Sun City was fun, but make sure the waiters don't overcharge you. We had a big problem with Mark's behavior as a tour guide. He was frequently checking his mobile phone, including texting while driving. If you like roller coasters, you might like Mark's driving with swerving, dangerous lane changes, and following cars too closely.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

David C
Malaysia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Good experience but not value for money

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

GUOJUN
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

I just saw a few animals in Pilanesberg safari.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Nice place to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Very good driver who also double up as tour guide. He was very keen that we spot all the animals.. He took extra efforts so that we could take good pictures. Thanks to him, we had the best safari

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The nature safari itself was worthwhile, but not in a league with Kruger. Sun City was was OK - glad to have done it so we know what it is.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The nature safari itself was worthwhile, but not in a league with Kruger. Sun City was was OK - glad to have done it so we know what it is.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Excellent. The driver was easy to find and very helpful. Our flight was late so were were worried about possible delay - no delay though. He was there. He also was mindful to get the hotel address from us to take us to the right place. After an 18 hour flight, that was much appreciated.

Doing what: Johannesburg Airport Shared Arrival Transfer

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Great day out, really enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Driver was a little confused about hotel location and so was late (about 30 minutes) picking us up. We factored enough time for a possible mishap but if we had not, we might have missed our flight. One we were picked up though, the driver did the best getting ust to the airport.

Doing what: Johannesburg Airport Shared Departure Transfer

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message