Johannesburg, at nearly 4 million people over 1,600 square kilometers (625 square miles), is the largest city in South Africa. A truly cosmopolitan city, Jo'burg, as it's often known, overflows with history and culture. From museums to On a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Definitely do the Soweto add-on... we had a FANTASTIC tour guide, whose name I can't pronounce but who enjoyed sharing it with us. Plenty to see and do, and a good way to see Jo'burg in one day. Leave time for the Apartheid Museum for sure.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Hop-on Hop-off door Johannesburg is leuk, maar niet bijzonder. De Sowetotour Tours daarentegen was zeer de moeite waard. Indrukwekkend! De gidsen zijn deskundig en weten veel te vertellen.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide was great. Got to see Nelson Mandela's home and Bishop Desmund Tutu's home. Saw how the people of Soweto live.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Good tour but guide needed to know a bit more and give us time to actually go into Mandela's house which would have only taken up a few minutes out of the tour.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Full day with lunch turned into half day without lunch and the streets of Pretoria were all torn to hell. Looked just like Texas.

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Exceptional experiences and worth to do this tour .. Five stars to our guide

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

We had a rocky start after being informed by email that we would be collected at 7.15am in the foyer we were left waiting for more than 2 hours before finally being picked up. We were eventually able to contact the company and after a number of calls they informed us the driver was running late. This wasn't a good start as we had a long flight from Australia the day before and could easily have done with the extra sleep. The tour itself was very good and well worth doing, just a shame about the late pick up.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Short and crispy!! Good for starting tour of Johanesburg.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Nice with many museum and sightseein spots,
but other than those, I myself like to see and feel more
daily life of citizens, such as market or downtowns.

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour led by a highly knowledgable and articulate guide. Phineas was phenomenal. He really made the day interesting and highly enjoyable.

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Jo'burg gets a mixed press, and on the basis of our tour, undeservedly so. Our guide Moses was informative and gave a lively and fascinating presentation of Johannesburg's role in the development of modern-day South Africa. The Constitutional Court was well worth a visit, and seeing the redevelopment of down-town Jo'burg was a welcome antidote to the scare stories one hears. Highly recommended, and I just wish we'd had enough time to see Soweto too under Moses' excellent guidance.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I had a great time. The resort was beautiful, I stayed at the A'Zambezi River Lodge. It was located right on the Zambezi River. They evening buffet is worth they price! The cruise was pleasant. I went during high season so we didn't see as much as we possible could have seen:-( We did see hippos. I was able to take great footage of them. Victoria Falls is AMAZING. You will get wet but raincoats were provided. I elected to participate in additional activities. 3 nights were not enough. I could have used at least one more day. There are many adventure activities to do there. One additional activity that I did, was the elephant walk. Afterwards they brought out a cheetah. (Raised domestically, couldn't go back into the wild). We were able to take pictures and pet him. He even licked my wrist/arm without thinking I am breakfast!!! I had an awesome time. I would definitely go back!!!!

Doing what: 3-Day Victoria Falls Tour with Round-Trip Flight from Johannesburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The driver/guide was very knowledgeable. We saw all of the big five except lions during our game drive. There were plenty of animals to see and also time to rest along the way. I was very happy with the game drive and tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Big Five Game Drive in Kruger National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was Hennie of Tourvest. He was very proud of his city Johannesburg and wanted to impart as much knowledge and show us as much as he could during our half day tour. We were lucky to have such an informative tour and I would recommend Hennie for any tour in and around Johannesburg.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message