• USD ($)
  • English
Johannesburg, at nearly 4 million people over 1,600 square kilometers (625 square miles), is the largest city in South Africa. A truly cosmopolitan city, Jo'burg, as it's often known, overflows with history and culture. From museums to On a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Short and crispy!! Good for starting tour of Johanesburg.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Jo'burg gets a mixed press, and on the basis of our tour, undeservedly so. Our guide Moses was informative and gave a lively and fascinating presentation of Johannesburg's role in the development of modern-day South Africa. The Constitutional Court was well worth a visit, and seeing the redevelopment of down-town Jo'burg was a welcome antidote to the scare stories one hears. Highly recommended, and I just wish we'd had enough time to see Soweto too under Moses' excellent guidance.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I had a great time. The resort was beautiful, I stayed at the A'Zambezi River Lodge. It was located right on the Zambezi River. They evening buffet is worth they price! The cruise was pleasant. I went during high season so we didn't see as much as we possible could have seen:-( We did see hippos. I was able to take great footage of them. Victoria Falls is AMAZING. You will get wet but raincoats were provided. I elected to participate in additional activities. 3 nights were not enough. I could have used at least one more day. There are many adventure activities to do there. One additional activity that I did, was the elephant walk. Afterwards they brought out a cheetah. (Raised domestically, couldn't go back into the wild). We were able to take pictures and pet him. He even licked my wrist/arm without thinking I am breakfast!!! I had an awesome time. I would definitely go back!!!!

Doing what: 3-Day Victoria Falls Tour with Round-Trip Flight from Johannesburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The driver/guide was very knowledgeable. We saw all of the big five except lions during our game drive. There were plenty of animals to see and also time to rest along the way. I was very happy with the game drive and tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Big Five Game Drive in Kruger National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was Hennie of Tourvest. He was very proud of his city Johannesburg and wanted to impart as much knowledge and show us as much as he could during our half day tour. We were lucky to have such an informative tour and I would recommend Hennie for any tour in and around Johannesburg.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Bruce S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was the only English speaking person in a tour group of German Tourist but our tour guide Rudie made the extra effort to provide narrative in both languages ... the visit to the squatter camp in Soweto was excellent and well managed by our tour guide ... well worth it

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was good to get an overview of the city - we were just unlucky to have scheduled it for a Saturday afternoon when things close up early and the guide on Constitution Hill wasn't available and such - that being said - I'm glad we did it!

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Brenda U
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Due to no fault of Viator, we missed our flight and were devistated. The fast and efficiant support we received from the ground staff was 100. They condenced our visit into a fantastic fun packed 24hours and we enjoyed every minute of it. Thanks.

Doing what: 3-Day Victoria Falls Tour with Round-Trip Flight from Johannesburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour was very informative and our tour give, Phineas, was top rate.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Brilliant tour of Soweto! Highly recommend. I was very lucky to be the only one on the tour and found it to be very informative.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour, with a very informative guide. Would definitely recommend to hear all about the history of this interesting place.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was a great tour and our guide was terrific. Perhaps a slight improvement could be the addition of a short refreshment stop, as it was quite a long morning without a break. But it is certainly highly recommended.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Our tour guide was great, very informative, didn't mind us asking questions and we enjoyed the tour.
However, information should be provided about how many people we needed to tip and what was an acceptable tip. We were required to give 4 tips and a donation to a school.
This made the tour quite expensive. The souvenirs were overpriced as I bought a similar item elsewere for the same price but it was 4 times larger.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Had a very personalised tour of Jo'Burg given there were only 2 of us on the tour. It was a good way to get to see the city of Jo'Burg and to learn the local history. Our tour guide was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

I had expected a little more out of this trip. I was mainly driving through the city and not much sightseeing. Mandela Square was not included at all.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message