Johannesburg, at nearly 4 million people over 1,600 square kilometers (625 square miles), is the largest city in South Africa. A truly cosmopolitan city, Jo'burg, as it's often known, overflows with history and culture. From museums to On a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Picked up from Garden Court O R Tambo, Very good half day seeing Soweto, made all the better by having the driver/guide 'James all to ourselves.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, saw a lot of Soweto. Guide was really helpful and chatty.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Cornelia Veroni F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great! We saw everthing we wanted to see. Our guide was very nice and polite.

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

Carl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Afrikaneer history shown is Pretoria is both surprising and moving. It was very worthwhile to make this side trip.

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

Robet D A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding! The red bus tour was great. I loved the narrator and the view from the top of the bus was excellent. The tour of Soweto was good and the tour guide was interesting, but I felt that aspect of the tour lacked a little as our guide left us for a few minutes in the hands of a stranger. We were also nervous about taking a taxi to and from the drop off point. It was 400 rand each way and we had heard scary stories about taxi drivers in Joburg I would pay extra for a ride from the hotel to the drop off point. Over all great!

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

sanjiv

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Pretoria is a nice city but the tour felt rushed.

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

Chris R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

friendly tour guide who did a very good job as far as we were concerned

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Riquelmy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Visiting Soweto was my favorite part of my time in Joburg. It was the most culturally enriching experience. An absolute MUST DO. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Riquelmy M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The highlight of this tour was visiting Constitution Hill. Insist on taking as much time as you need here, as the rest of the tour goes by rather quickly and can you leave feeling rushed. Exploring Number Four - the prison complex that once housed Mandela and Ghandi is quite interesting.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Riquelmy M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This tour gives you some insight on the colonization of South Africa by the Dutch. It definitely helps you understand the present culture and why things are the way they currently are.

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

Vivian S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This was a great experience! The tour guide was knowledgeable with a great sense of humor! I would recommend this to anyone who is taking their first trip to Johannesburg.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

robharper_30

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very good. well organised and worth the money paid. guide was excellent.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Tanveer A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Tour was good.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Tanveer A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

It was good tour but very over priced .

Doing what: Pretoria Sightseeing Day Trip from Johannesburg

Tanveer A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

The tour was okay - not good.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice and informative. Mark was great.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

John M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The Soweto minibus trip was the highlight - it costs extra but is well worth it.

There is a long distance between stops on the hop on/hop off route, which reflects the spread out geography of JoBurg. The Apartheid Museum is a a long way out of town. So in some way the trip is a little boring because of all the time spent going between places, but on the other hand it is very useful to getting you to places which are further from the center of town. I couldn't figure out the public transportation in JoBurg. I used the Gautrain, which was great, but is very limited in where it goes.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Theresa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour that provided a deeper understanding of South Africa's history. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and was a very safe driver. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sherin J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The falls were fantastic, the accommodation very good. My only grizzle was the lack of preliminary information provided by Viator such as itinerary information, where to meet at the airport, what currency to bring etc
Overall though very good

Doing what: 3-Day Victoria Falls Tour with Round-Trip Flight from Johannesburg

Renee S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The hop on hop off portion of the tour was pretty good. But the Soweto tour had a detour due to protesting and rioting that resulted in us not be able to see one of the main attractions.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Brilliant. I had no idea S Africa was so beautiful and the people so friendly. I did not feel unsafe at any stage in the trip. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Megan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Definitely do the Soweto add-on... we had a FANTASTIC tour guide, whose name I can't pronounce but who enjoyed sharing it with us. Plenty to see and do, and a good way to see Jo'burg in one day. Leave time for the Apartheid Museum for sure.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

N.A. d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Hop-on Hop-off door Johannesburg is leuk, maar niet bijzonder. De Sowetotour Tours daarentegen was zeer de moeite waard. Indrukwekkend! De gidsen zijn deskundig en weten veel te vertellen.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide was great. Got to see Nelson Mandela's home and Bishop Desmund Tutu's home. Saw how the people of Soweto live.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Lynne K

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Good tour but guide needed to know a bit more and give us time to actually go into Mandela's house which would have only taken up a few minutes out of the tour.

Doing what: Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message