• USD ($)
  • English
The South African city of Johannesburg is main international gateway to the country, but visitors tend to get on another flight fairly quickly and head for cities like Cape Town or Durban. There’s enough to see and do in Johannesburg to keep you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour and fantastic location for a short Safari

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Very good driver who also double up as tour guide. He was very keen that we spot all the animals.. He took extra efforts so that we could take good pictures. Thanks to him, we had the best safari

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Pilanesberg was very good. If you've done safaris in Tanzania and Kenya you may be a little disappointed, but if you have never seen animals like this close-up, it is superb. Sun City is good if a bit odd. The Las Vegas of Africa, and all that implies. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This trip was amazing. There were seven of us on the trip so we had a small minibus to drive us up there. The driver pointed out lots of interesting things on the drive. We managed to get a whole safari jeep to ourselves other jeeps were full with 25 people on board (I think other people were jealous). We then went off to sun city and spent a few hours in Valley of Waves. This was an extra £12 and we were only there for two hours but we enjoyed it. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

For a first time safari adventure it was great. Driver and guide were entertaining and educational. We didn't see lions but saw all other animals even an elephant as close as 2ms from the truck. We were the only ones on the trip so got more than our moneys worth. Sun City is Vegas in the savannah, not our thing so after a quick bite and walk around we headed off. Photos to come....

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

GUOJUN
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

I just saw a few animals in Pilanesberg safari.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The nature safari itself was worthwhile, but not in a league with Kruger. Sun City was was OK - glad to have done it so we know what it is.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The nature safari itself was worthwhile, but not in a league with Kruger. Sun City was was OK - glad to have done it so we know what it is.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

the safari was great...though prob would have been better if we had arrived earlier, started off at 7am so was almost 10am by time we got there. Sun city was a waste though so we cut it short and asked our guide to take us to the Lion park we had passed on the way so got to pet the lion cubs.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Kruger is a beautiful place to visit and I would recommend it to anyone. However, based on my recent experiences with the tour agency/s I would not recommend this tour to anyone. If you want to go to Kruger, you are better off looking for options like self driving and then taking an open jeep safari, or look for another travel company. We had a horrible driver/guide who practically refused to provide us with the promised closed safari in an attempt to 'hard sell' the open jeep safari. This was a classic case of 'bait and switch'. Once we were at the park the first day, she refused to look for animals on the pretext that she cannot drive and look for game at the same time and that she was afraid to take the vehicle to the gravel roads! After hearing her outburst, I informed her that we just had a closed vehicle trip in Pilanesberg and that our driver/guide for that trip drove slowly and spotted all the animals for us and took his vehicle to the gravel roads as well. To this she responded with a very rude remark. She said and I quote, “ OK, I will find the animals if you do the driving. I cannot do both”. I was very insulted and taken aback, because isn’t the job of an ‘expert game ranger’ to drive and help customers spot animals? If I had to drive and my husband were to spot the animals why did we pay to take the help of a so called expert?
Since she was obviously not going to help us spot any animals, we tried to do that on our own. However, it became very difficult since she was driving very fast. My husband requested her to slow down so that we could better spot the animals. To this she responded again in a very rude tone,” I am following the speed limit and I am allowed to go at 50kmph”.
The point is that in the tour brochure the open safari is given as an option, but if the closed safari driver refuses to provide us with the services as promised, then it is really not an option, is it? We feel thoroughly cheated.

Doing what: 3-Day Kruger Park Wildlife Safari

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2013

I do not recommend booking this tour if Viator continues to use Tsakane Safari Camp as the source. The camp is poorly managed with absentee ownership. The description of the itinerary is inaccurate. Food was meager portions, poorly prepared and in some cases inedible . Worse there were safety issues with a vehicle that was old and had treadless tires. Their "swimming pool" measures abut 5' x 7'. While pick-up and drop-off arrangements were provided, the management never confirmed the time we were to leave to return to Johannesburg, and we were left waiting for hours. We were the only 2 in the camp. Avoid Tsakane Safari Camp!

Doing what: 4-Day Kruger National Park Safari Tour from Johannesburg: Game Drives and Wilderness Walks

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message