Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Juneau Cruise Port

Juneau’s cruise port is right by the historic downtown area of the city, perfectly located for shore excursions, dinner, shopping and entertainment while you’re cruising Alaskan waters. Founded during the gold-rush days, Juneau is a terrific port ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 395 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Breathtaking views. The was the best tour of this type that I have ever taken.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Helicopter Tour and Guided Icefield Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Took a cruise ship scheduled tour to the same area last year. This tour was much better. A comfortable, newer boat that took us right out to the many whales in the area. We all had ample deck area to observe and take pics from. This was my favorite tour, to date.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour. We all enjoyed it immensely. One comment though----When we ate at the restaurant at the top of the mountain, we were asked if we wanted dessert after the meal and it was not mentioned that it was not included in the price. These desserts were 10 dollars each--the price of a meal somewhere else. We each had one even though we all said we were stuffed and the girl let us believe it was part of the deal we paid for. Just a comment for next time. They should tell you this is not included.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: City and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The best. Would definitely do again. Was the highlight of my life. Excellent.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Helicopter Tour and Guided Icefield Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well done! Very well done at a very reasonable price. Tour afforded me the flexibility to spend as much time at Mendenhall Glacier as you wanted.. Well run and excellent Guides, drivers staff. Not that it happens on each tour, but on our whale watching cruise we were privileged to witness 2 "bubble ups" thanks to our "Juneau Whale Watch" Captain.who got us to the action! What an amazing memory and photo op!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour everything went our way, the weather was beautiful, the whales were on form and had a lovely walk to the waterfalls at the Glacier.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an awesome experience, however the cost was quite prohibitive!! The helicopter trip is highly recommended especially flying over and landing on the glacier. If I were to choose again I would probably select the Mendenhall glacier walk only and not do the dogsledding. The latter doubles the cost and I actually felt quite sorry for the dogs living on the glacier chained to their kennels.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Helicopter Tour and Dogsledding Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The whale watching portion of our tour was phenomenal!! There were 6-7 whales and our captain and tour guide were great. We saw what I believe they called a bubble feeding, it was awesome. At the Mendenhall Glacier we had rain and it was not the best day to view the glacier but would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Alaska.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife, Julie, and I were both thrilled with this tour. From the very beginning to the very end there was a great degree of personalized service and congenial conversation. Ben the bus driver was a native Tlingit and delighted us by stopping along the route so we could have a photo op of dozens of salmon entering a stream to spawn. While we were there, a Bald Eagle came to rest atop a nearby tree. Then we spent a couple of hours walking around the Tongas National Forrest enjoying the sights of the Mendenhall Glacier and the nearby waterfall. The next shuttle driver, Donald drove us out to the docks were we saw 30-40 bald eagles scavenging on the shore looking more like a flock of buzzards than eagles. Then the boat captain, Ken, took us out to view the whales - holy cow batman! We were nearly on top of them, he had to work hard to maintain the proximity rules as the whales kept coming right toward us as they used the bubble net fishing technique. Our on-board biologitst, Michelle, explained the process and was a fount of fun trivia about not only the humpbacks we saw but also the harbor seals and the stellar sea lions. We could not have been more pleased. The weather was perfect, the wildlife was spectacular and the staff was exceptional. We even got a bonus, on the way from the glacier to the doc, we got to see a black bear crossing a field, right near the Walmart - definitely inside the city limits of Juneau. It was an experience that will last a lifetime.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The whale watching guides were excellent with Dolphin Jet Tours. There about 20 people on the boat which made for an enjoyable viewing experience. We saw 3 Orca's and the humpback whales were "bubble feeding" meaning that ~10 whales are feeding in the same spot. Were able to see 2 groups of whales during the outing. Highly recommend with great service. Tour was on time for all stops and provided helpful information along the way.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the best tour I have ever been on, and I have been on many tours. From the minute we stepped on the bus to begin the tour until we ended it was amazing. The bus driver had a big personality and was very informative about Juneau. The dolphin eco tour was spectacular. The hosts on board were very educated about whales and the captain of the boat knew just where to go to see the whales. We saw over a dozen whales and some sea lions and bald eagles. Everyone was so kind and informative. We had a person in a wheelchair and they could not do enough for them. The boat for the whale watching was amazing. We passed the double decker cruise tour where people were jammed in and couldn't get to the rail. We had plenty of rail room on our boat for everyone to see. Being a smaller boat than the double decker and having an experienced crew we were up close to the whales. The glacier was also amazing. We got our great bus driver who explained everything about the glacier. We had plenty of time to walk around. This was a five plus tour!!!!!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was amazing and everything we expected plus some! All employees were very friendly and professional. The experience is a once in a lifetime and a must if you are visiting Alaska. Do not visit Alaska without taking a Helicopter and Guided Icefield Walk!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Helicopter Tour and Guided Icefield Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Perfect! We were a small group of 4 with mixed experience kayaking. The boats (Current design, like my boat at home!) were terrific and the rest of the equipment was first class! Our guide Miles was knowledgable, enthusiastic and lots of fun! This excursion was one of the highlights of our trip in AK! The scenery was wonderful, and we got to see lots of eagles, salmon and a even a lone seal came close to our boats. We will recommend to our friends and will put it on our list of things to do again!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Tongass Wildlife Kayaking Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an awesome excursion! Very fun and informative. Loved the Mendenhall Glacier! I wish everyone could have the chance to see it. The dinner on Mt. Roberts was amazing! This was well worth the time and money!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: City and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was very fascinating because everyday is a new adventure. Whale watching was very personal and supportive interaction was positive. All the drivers had a very honoring role with the established community which made it positive. Nature has so many amazing features and the Juneau shore excursion staff assisted our party with humor and sparking delights. I would give it a 5 star.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message