• USD ($)
  • English

Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Juneau Cruise Port

Juneau’s cruise port is right by the historic downtown area of the city, perfectly located for shore excursions, dinner, shopping and entertainment while you’re cruising Alaskan waters. Founded during the gold-rush days, Juneau is a terrific port ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 283 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful experience. Saw a lot of whales, some seals, and several bald eagles. The crew were knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This excursion was GREAT. The whale watching adventure with Captain Darren and naturalists Mike and Cinnamon exceeded expectations. We were forewarned that conditions may be a little choppy but that concern was soon forgotten when we the whales. Heaps of photo opportunites, then on the way back to base Darren spotted a pair of orcas that "checked us out" according to Mike and Cinnamon, who were just excited as we were when both orcas passed under our boat. The boat crew were very friendly and informative, we were picked up at the dock and dropped back there after the Mendenhall Glacier tour. All in all the excursion was great value when you compare what the cruise ship was offering. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour. Well organized with small number of sightseers . Jetboat to see the whales safe and not overcrowded so good visibility to see the whales. Very knowledgeable guide. Driver to the to Glacier informed us of the history of the area and was very friendly and helpful.I would recommend this tour as a privately booked excursion from a cruise ship as it is very reasonably priced and well organised.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great trip. Saw a lot of Humpback Whales close by. Although is rained the whole trip, it was very rewarding.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a fun boat ride and driver knew exactly where to take us. He also yelled when he knew the whales tail would come up for our picture taking, just loved it. So exciting to see that many around us. Mendenhall Glacier was beautiful and loved the waterfall.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Mendenhall Glacier was very beautiful. It didn't take long to cover the park but was able to take some very nice photos. Some people said they had seen bears.

For the whale-watching cruise, It took a while before we spotted any whales, but when we did, they were putting on quite a show for us. There were a few in one location, later there were a few more in a different location. Very active and made for many great pics.

I missed the City Tour but I figure I lucked out when I saw all the whales that I did, so I won't complain. :)

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Captain Ken and Katie were wonderful, knowledgeable and friendly. Made us feel welcome right away and went out of their way to make sure we had the best tour possible. Definite recommend for an excursion in Juneau :)

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very good trip the guys know there stuff saw both orcas and humpbacks

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very good trip the guys know there stuff saw both orcas and humpbacks

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We booked this tour outside of the cruise line offerings, through Viator, and it was the right choice. Not only did it include 3 different activities, but we had our own separate transportation, 5 guests in a 12 passenger van, that gave us more flexibility with scheduling and more room. While my wife and I were a bit skeptical about whale watching, we had a great time! The Captain and his guide did a great job getting us in position to see multiple humpbacks, sea lions, and Orcas up close. We didn't go to the visitors' center at Mendanhall Glacier, but we did have time to walk the trail up to the waterfall and get a closer view of the glacier. While some folks were disappointed with the salmon bake, trying to compare it with the cruise menu, we took it for what it was; a quaint, relaxing, picnic-style atmosphere. The salmon was very good and there was a musician for entertainment. Overall we had a great time and would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We went on the Red Dolphin and Mike and Shell were amazing. We saw a young whale breaching several times and the trip was fantastic, even Mike and Shell were taking photos - so I know we were lucky to see this. Would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone wishing to see whales in the wild, doing what whales do!

A

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent excursion. Enjoyed every bit of it...the bus rides with informative and humorous drivers, whale-watching on the boat with the naturalist and boat driver, the snacks while on the boat, and the time allowed at Mendenhall Glacier.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We arranged this tour independly from the cruise ship and we were not disappointed. We were met at the parking area near the tram. Our boat captain and guide were awesome. We saw many whales and had one breach close to the boat. Would highly recommend this tour. Thanks again for making our visit to Juneau memorable.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lots of whales and the glacier is extraordinary. A perfect tour.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message