Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Juneau Cruise Port

Juneau’s cruise port is right by the historic downtown area of the city, perfectly located for shore excursions, dinner, shopping and entertainment while you’re cruising Alaskan waters. Founded during the gold-rush days, Juneau is a terrific port ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 529 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Perfect day! Full day all three parts of this trip were great. Beautiful tour.

Jason and Amanda were great hosts for whale watching. Spotted migrant orcas and humpbacks on our trip.
Awesome!

Glacier park was nice.

Lots of food at the salmon bake.

Great transport between each event and back to Juneau/ cruise port.

Great value!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour! It exceeded all my expectations. And, the crew was phenomenal. I would highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Pat S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our excursion was magnificient. We saw probably a hundred whales and were lucky enough to have one breaching close to the boat.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Ramona K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Could have used a little more time at the Glacier, but it was a fun day

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Robbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was our first viator trip and it won't be our last. Great value and great fun.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Grandkids had a ball . It was an interesting and fun trip for all of us.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Gold Mining and Panning at Gold Creek from Juneau

gitanjalibagchi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was amazing. The guides on board were knowledgeable, helpful and enthusiastic. They took us upclose to the whales and captured the excitement for us. I could actually capture a whale breeching on video and that was the highlight for me. I would recommend this shore excursion very highly.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Leasa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was great!! The Mendenhall Glacier was amazing. While we were there we saw a black bear. It was amazing!! The beauty of the area is amazing. The tram ride was great as well!!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: City and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

kerry r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Staff were excellent and very knowledgable. We saw whales which was great. The boat ride was excellent.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Sykodad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a great experience - we started with the city tour then Mendenhall Glacier, I believe doing it this way we had plenty of time to follow all the trails , one to the shore line of the glacier and the other to Nugget falls, it was a long trail but a surprising end for it took you directly in front of the falls where you can take pictures and view the scenic beauty. After the falls we went on the whale watch portion of the tour - that was a spine jarring choppy ride out to see them, once there we saw a pod of about 6 whales - they were not close but we were able to see them and take some pics, what a great experience we had and we enjoyed ourselves - the Juneau Tour company was on time, scheduled and did a great job for their customers

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Bonnie J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a rainy, but well worth the trip. Ben the driver was very informative about the history and culture of the Native people there. The glacier was beautiful, the visitor's center was informative and the dinner on Mt.Roberts was great.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: City and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

Dorothy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We saw more whales than expected. The captain and crew were extremely accommodating from the hot chocolate to helping get close to the whales. The time flew by and the rate was much cheaper than booking on the ship. We had less than 20 people on our boat so it was not crowded.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Mark G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The weather the day of our excursion was rainy and high winds. All the people that booked on the Carnival Legend had their excursions canceled. We were given the opportunity to cancel, however, nobody did. It was a good thing because the whales didn't care about a few rain drops and neither did we. We had a great Captain and tour guide. This was on of the highlights of our cruise.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Lonnie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Awesome! Having been to Juneau on a cruise coordinated HUGE boat to go look whale watching- this was MUCH better. Smaller boat, locally owned, good brief educational component on the boat. Mendenhall was a good hop to see before the whale watching - just enough to remember that the darn glacier is melting fast.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

hrt2true

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The crew was amazing and informative. We had a group of 9, three had mobility aids and the crew was top notch in assisting everyone. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

ccason

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Well organized. Wish we had another half hour at the glacier. We did not have time to hike to the waterfall. Mt Roberts was beautiful and the food was delicious at the Timberline. Our ship was leaving at 4:00 so we did not have time for the film and to explore the trails. Lots to do, not enough time. The tour driver was great and informative.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: City and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide said it was one of the top 3 times that he had seen the whole season. We had Humpbacks all around us and saw them fully breach several times!!! We got to witness whales lunge feeding and got many looks at whale tails as they prepared to dive down deep. Our captain Jason and his mate Steve were awesome and energetic and made the trip and sightings exciting, especially for our children.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Wanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Other than the weather, our whale-watching adventure was wonderful. Both our captain and guide were so knowledgeable. We saw the whale close and upfront. I highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Michele D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a great excursion. I booked this tour independently during our Princess cruise for me and my 9 yr old son. Our initial group was split, so we shared the experience with only about 18 other people. The boat was roomy, clean and the crew I wish I could remember these ladies names! was capable and entertaining. We happened to be in the right place at the right time at the end of our whale filled 2 hrs which went by way too quickly when we were visited by a Humpback whale so close to the boat that we could see its long white pectoral fin. Amazing. Even the crew was excited about the encounter. It was hard to choose between getting that perfect shot or simply enjoying the view. Afterward, we were delivered to the Mendenhall glacier and found that we had plenty of time to hike to the waterfall and for my son to scamper around on the rocks, before the ride back to town. It was a terrific way to spent the day in Juneau. The excursion and the crew delivered.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Elsa C M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Incredible experience for the entire family!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour

saraekingsley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This hiking tour was fantastic. Our guide Brad was so knowledgeable and helpful for this difficult hike. The company gives you snacks for the trip and gets you rain gear and equipment so all you need is good hiking boots and maybe some gloves if its cold. The ice cave was truly a surreal experience and won't be open for many more years because the glacier is receding. Book this trip while you still can!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier Trek and Climb

Doreen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent tour well organised and lots of fun plus great information about the whales.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Excursion

deano United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good experience. The captain female - forgot name and deck mate female - forgot name - one of them was Amy were wonderful. Saw at least 8 whales. Saw 4 of them breach. The boat was comfortable. The bagel with salmon creme cheese spread was great. Also had hot chocolate. The deck mate was pleasant and seemed very knowledgeable about whales. We spent about 45 minutes at the Glacier, which was sufficient to view the glacier and the info center. A 15 minute movie was playing but I missed it twice my fault. A similar excursion was 65 more thru the cruise ship.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message