Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Mendenhall Glacier

Alaska's famous drive-in glacier, Mendenhall Glacier, is Juneau's most popular attraction, flowing 12 miles (19 kilometers) from its source, the Juneau Ice Field. On a sunny day it's beautiful, with blue skies and snow-capped mountains in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

GREAT TOUR!!! would recommend to anyone going on an Alaskan vacation.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was great. the Tour guide was young, energetic, and was having fun with us. He made sure the group had a good experience individually and collectively. One really good aspect was while the ship's large tour buses were being loaded and everyone herded, we had a small group that bussed together and did the tour together. The trip itself - lake, glacier, and river were just terrific. We would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding,Brilliant an experience of a lifetime

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the best time on our whale watching tour! The weather was a bit cold and rainy, but the boats were very comfortable and warm inside. Our guides kept things interesting and moving along and our whale sightings far exceeded our expectations. It was a definite highlight of our trip to Alaska. We were so happy that we took the extra time to see the Mendenhall Glacier. Absolutely beautiful! Thanks for a memorable day!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our trip was absolutely wonderful. Our guide on the whale watching was a young girl named Sierra. She was wonderful. The glacier tour and city tour was great also

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely stunning scenery. I would have enjoyed a little more white water, but my eight year-old said it was perfect!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent!! Glacier area was very beautiful and offered nice walking trails. The whale watching was phenomenal! Plenty of whales and even saw " bubble netting" with at least 14 whales! Excellent!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An amazing tour.
We were lucky enough to see Humpback whales.
Both crew were very informative.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was by far the best day that we experienced in Alaska. The city tour was excellent, and our native American guide gave us incites into the culture and history of the people of Juneau. The visit to Mendenhall Glacier was also an experience to remember, since we were able to explore, take many photos, and interact with park rangers at our leisure.

Little did we know that the experience would only get better on our whale-watching cruise. The cruise started with us viewing no less than 20 Bald Eagles on the beach having a salmon snack, continued with the siting of a pod of 15-18 Humpback Whales bubble feeding continuously over our 30-minute observation time, and ended with a quick view of a group of sea lions playing "king of the mountain" on a buoy. Thanks to our captain and crew for a wonderful adventure!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Was the best! The price was so unbelievable! Dinner at the top of Mt.Roberts was fantastic, and the view was breathtaking!! Do yourself a favor... book this tour!

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The trip was great. Got to see Humpback whales and Mendenhall glacier was great.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The guide / driver to Mendenhall Glacier was very good. Gave good info and spotted a few bald eagles for us. Wish we could spend a little more time at the glacier.
The tramway to the top of Mt. Roberts is very good too. Great view from top. The restaurant on top served very good food. Friendly staff.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Whale Watching was the great experience .And we saw the Whale!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message