Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Mendenhall Glacier

Alaska's famous drive-in glacier, Mendenhall Glacier, is Juneau's most popular attraction, flowing 12 miles (19 kilometers) from its source, the Juneau Ice Field. On a sunny day it's beautiful, with blue skies and snow-capped mountains in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 259 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gwbacon1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour went like clockwork. We actually got upclose pictures of humpback and killer whales. Very exciting.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Daniel Todd P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed our tour, the guides were knowledgeable and the tour was well organized. Would highly recommend it to all that visit Juneau.
This was also made possible buy how good this organization handled our cruise ship being an hour and half late. They got us on the next tour and didn't miss a beat.
We were so worried that because the ship was late we would miss the tour, but they made it happen and saved the day!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Maria C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing!!! Elliot and Brad were fantastic guides and the Ice caves under the glacier was incredible!!
Highly recommend this company and trip

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Trek and Climb

Kurtis E G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The two naturalists on the whale watching tour were so enthusiastic that it was contagious. Captain Kale put us in position to see several whales, including a juvenile whale that was really playing around a lot. The snacks on board were also very fresh and yummy.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were shuttled right from the cruise port very interessting tour of Juneau. The tram ride was beautiful, the salmon dinner was delicioys and the views of the Mendenhall glacier spectacular. Highly recommend and priced better than ship excursions.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Suzanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing we had the glacier trip first,we had about I he free time there, this just about gave us time to get up close to the glacier and nearby waterfall.
The whale watching trip was great ,we were a party of 8 on a little boat and yes we did see a whale feeding near the shore....amazing.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely wonderful! Wonderful bus tour of the city from a very knowledgeable driver good free time at Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center fantastic whale watching trip - 4 whales at 3 stops, all putting on quite the feeding show!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

Jerry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The boat captain and the mate were great! they went out of their way to try to locate whale for us. We had a very successful whale watching experience.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Jason D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The whale watching was great!! Our captain and tour guide were knowledgeable, friendly, and gave us an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

kathchristy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Saw the most incredible sightings of orcas and humpbacks up close. A very memorable viewing of the glacier and great salmon bake. Lots of food and tasted great.

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

mjowilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our jet boat tour was perfect. We got to watch a baby humpback whale breech about 20 times which is unheard of. WE go to see Mama whale too a couple times as she surfaced. The Naturalist on Board and the Captain were knowledgeable and made sure we got to see whales as well as the sea lions. We were then transported to Mendenhall Glacier. I wished we had more time at the Glacier but were limited to only an hour. Still worth the time and money.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Roger E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kate and Jessica were exceptional guides. Trek is not for the faint of heart. I am 62 and thought I was in pretty good shape. The 9 mile trek left me aching for two days, but hiking on the glacier and exploring the ice cave was truly the highlight of our cruise. A bucket list experience!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Trek and Climb

Joshua B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

THE TOUR WAS GREAT THE WEATHER WAS BAD. THIS WAS OUR SECOND TIME BOOKING THIS TOUR WITH YOU. I RECCOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE. THE BUS DRIVERS 2 WHERE FUN , INFORMATIVE,VERY HELPFUL. AS WE HAD A DISABLED PERSON IN OUR GROUP. SEE YOU NEXT TIME WE ARE IN JUNEAU.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

wgauth2

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was excellent...I'm glad I chose you rather than go with all the people from the cruise ship.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

Patricia T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

1 thought the entire tour was more than I expected. ! That includes the transportation but more so the guides as well. They were a wealth of information and most pleasant, in answering all questions as well. I would highly recommend the tour to everyone. I would also like to compliment our guide MaryAnn who took what I consider to be above and beyond her duties to make the whale watching extra special. The captain was superior in his boating expertise, making sure we didn't get too close to the whales yet enough to take fantastic photos and videos.!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

JaimeLynn

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great! Dolphin Jetboat Tours did a great job, estaf was friendly and knowledgable. Transportation was comfortable. The mendenhall glacier was incredible, and the hike to the falls well worth it, but could have used a little more time there. The whale watching was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Petr United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

precisely organised - smooth - every body is very polite and friendly - we just haven't had luck to see much in the water - seems like the first group was more lucky. Hey its nature, we can't command them to pose for our photos, can we?! : the Mendenhall Glacier is pretty place - yet the hour stop was sufficient for us: Juneau itself is pretty boring place - Skagway much more friendlier town:

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

David B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

There was someone to meet us at the dock and the trip to the glacier was quite good with lots of flexibility. Going up the cable car was great but the salmon dinner at the top was disappointing

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Tia K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour was easily accessed at the port. The tour guide on the bus was very knowledgeable about the area and pointed out all sorts of interesting sites. We were dropped at Mendenhall Glacier and told we could stay as long as we wanted - the shuttle runs throughout the day. We hiked very easy walk to Nugget Falls and closer to the glacier. It's all so breathtaking. After taking the shuttle back to town, we rode the gondola up Mt. Roberts for lunch. The salmon lunch was very good, but wasn't the Alaskan salmon bake that I had hoped for. It's just an ordinary restaurant. Views from the top of the mountain were beautiful and the gondola was exciting.... especially on the way down. It was worth the money.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

holidays

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Prompt tour. Met straight from the cruise terminal. Shuttle service good, however city tour aimed at older clients.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Nancy J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the city tour and seeing the glacier. The tram ride up was beautiful.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Holly R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Enjoyed glacier and waterfall. Bus driver was informative. Tramway was great ! Salmon dinner was not that great..corn on the cob still frozen in center.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Edward D

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The glacier is very neat to see. The tour guide was very pleasant. The ad mentions a Russian church, we did not however stop for that. The tour operator was nice enough to let us store our bags w/ them while we did the tour- very nice.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Ji W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Well it was raining, we didn and #39;t enjoyed the Glacier much.
Tramway the staff was not ready, he made a couple of mistakes. At first he didn and #39;t know of our plan, no meal ticket he gave us.

The salmon dinner didn and #39;t meet our expectation (dry)

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message