Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Mendenhall Glacier

Alaska's famous drive-in glacier, Mendenhall Glacier, is Juneau's most popular attraction, flowing 12 miles (19 kilometers) from its source, the Juneau Ice Field. On a sunny day it's beautiful, with blue skies and snow-capped mountains in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 160 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was a great tour and Larry was a wonderful tour guide!!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved! Loved! Loved it! We had the most amazing time on our cruise and particularly enjoyed seeing the humpback whales in the wild. The staff were awesome and very knowledgeable. Definitely looking forward to doing it again some day!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This excursion was,in a word, fabulous! Everything worked like clockwork, the guides were extremely knowledgeable, and we loved every moment. We chose not to book this through this cruise line, and we don't have any regrets.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This excursion was fascinating and fun. Good time.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was awesome! The whales showed out for us. We saw a double breach, which is an unusual sight! The crew was very informative and determined to make our trip memorable! We highly recommend them!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

both of these were great tour operators were very professional

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thanks so much. It was a wonderful experience. Specially the tour to watch the whales.!! Fantastic. I will recommend this tour to my friends and family.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely amazing! We saw several whales near our boat. The guides were friendly and informative.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an outstanding tour. Simple overview of Juneau. Then we went to Mendenhall Glacier. Be sure to take the hike to the Nugget Falls. That alone would have been enough for a great day in Alaska. We were pretty beat and loving Alaska. But our day was not over...we went whale watching. The most amazing whale watching we've ever done. There were 3 pods of Whales Bubble Netting. Words and photos cannot describe it. The crew was friendly, knowledgeable and as enthusiastic as the passengers. It was a great day full of smiles for all.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Worth-while. Glacier on your own so you have all the time you need. Whale watching was great. City tour did all they could...not much to see other than T-shirt shops.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The boat captain was very knowledgeable about the whales and worked to get to the whale areas. Smaller craft were closer to the whales.
Mendenhall Glacier was simply a bus ride and return.
Had insufficient time for the city tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic. It was easy to plan, convenient, and much cheaper than through the cruise line.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was 44 minutes later than we were told it would start, which wasted time we could've spent browsing through the shops. Fortunately the tour was worth the wait.

The guide was personable, funny and informative, and the glacier was magnificent. We saw a field with about 30 eagles on the way to the glacier.

The restaurant workers didn't know what exactly was included in the lunch, so they had to track down the manager.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was difficult to find the right tour in downtown Juneau with so many tours with similar names leaving about the same time. However, once we hooked up with the right company, everything went fine. The City Tour didn't explain the city very well, but the driver pointed out some of the businesses of interest.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The whale watching boat ride was everything and more than we expected. We saw over 60 whale surfacings and got a lot of great pictures. The glacier part was enjoyable as well. We skipped the city tour, but overall were more than pleased with our excursion.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Would be a five star rating except that the time at the Glacier was very limited really need at least an hour to see everything and enjoy at a leisurely pace. The whale watching was awesome. We were able to see the Humpback whales bubble feeding. So cool!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

One star bus tour four stars whale watching.

The bus tour is a waste of time and money. You can get a shuttle from right under Mt. Roberts tramway for ten bucks that will take you to see the glacier. That would actually give you time to hike around, go see the water fall, and do all that you want at the glacier. The city bus tour was a waste. Plus, if you take the shuttle to the Alaska Brewing company - which I highly recommend - your shuttle driver gives you a better city tour on the way.

The whale watching was great! Our captain, Brian, followed the whales, stopped to give us picture time, and helped keep us informed with what signs to look for to see where whales would come up the deck hand Amy? was great with this too and very nice. The boat did get crowded, but people eventually moved to share the views.

Definitely bring extra layers...it gets chilly in the wind!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We started with the whale watching which was awesome. The guide was excellent, she was informative, enthusiastic and friendly. We were all so excited to see several whales and the boats skipper made sure that we all had an opportunity to take photos.
We were taken from there to the Mendenhall Glacier which really is a spectacle. We walked to the waterfall and thoroughly enjoyed this experience.
After the Glacier we should have returned to the Juneau bus depot for the Juneau City tour but we didn't have enough time to get back for this. It was after 5pm when we got back.
With hindsight I think we should have booked to start the trip earlier in the morning and then we could have fitted everything in. We chose 11:00.
We did have an amazing day and the trip was well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour is a little expensive but otherwise ok. You can probably avoid the Mendenhall Glacier leg if you are on a cruise ship to Alaska and the ship will be cruising the Glacier Bay National Park where you will see better glaciers and icebergs. Mendenhall Glacier has receded so much there is not much to look at otherwise. The whale watching adventure is good if you don't get seasick easily as you are on pretty windy and rough seas where you try to spot humpback whales feeding in open waters. Half the time we worried about getting seasick and throwing up otherwise whale spotting is an exhilarating experience. More thrilling if you can get good photo shoots of the whales taken from afar and a heaving boat!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Marvellous experience! Love the tagline of "Full refund if Whale are not spotted". We were surrounded by whales and spot a hill of sea lions. Dinner at Salmon Bake is good as well

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the two naturalists on board. They were knowledgeable and very fun.
Thank you.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Adriana D
Cayman Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Mendenhall Glacier and the cascade was a really nice walking we sow a porcupine, and we took a great pics, and in the whale tour Rachel and the Captain did a great job, we sow a few whale tales and the best part was the sea lions island.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message