Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Mendenhall Glacier

Alaska's famous drive-in glacier, Mendenhall Glacier, is Juneau's most popular attraction, flowing 12 miles (19 kilometers) from its source, the Juneau Ice Field. On a sunny day it's beautiful, with blue skies and snow-capped mountains in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 104 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

GREAT TOUR!!! would recommend to anyone going on an Alaskan vacation.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding,Brilliant an experience of a lifetime

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely stunning scenery. I would have enjoyed a little more white water, but my eight year-old said it was perfect!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The trip was great. Got to see Humpback whales and Mendenhall glacier was great.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The tour was down and dirty. Great to see the wildlife. The dinner could have been eliminated. The tram ride was brilliant.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

My experience with this tour is that everything is being rushed. From the Whale Watching to the Mendenhall Glacier Tour, the tour operator seems to just want to check us off their list so they can go on with the next group. We are especially very disappointed with the Glacier Tour. We were only given an hour to "tour" the Mendenhall Glacier which is too short if you want to hike to the Falls which is the "main thing" in this glacier. This was a self-guided tour and they only thing that the tour company does is to drop and pick us up at the glacier visitor center. As for the whale watching, we only saw a couple of whales and they are a bit far. We can only see the tail and back for a few seconds.
Not sure if it's just the tour operator, but In my opinion, this tour is not worth it. The Mendenhall Glacier is worth the trip, but there are other, cheaper, options available to do so if you aren't interested in viewing the whales.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Whale watching was truly amazing! We were lucky that we saw more than one whale come close to the boat. Have a camera that shoots multiple shots at a fast speed because the whales are faster than they look!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful experience! Jess and T did a great job finding the whales and telling us about them. We were able to see humpbacks and orcas. They even let us stay out an extra 30 minutes in order to see everything. I would highly recommend this tour. The glacier was beautiful and worth the trip. The city tour was very interesting and covered a lot of great tourist attractions.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a fantastic experience on this excursion. The package was far less expensive than what was offered on the cruise ship. Our bus driver, Ben, gave us an informative tour of Juneau and provided a great background of his Tlingit Tribe. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Juneau.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The glacier was truly a sight to behold and one that words can't describe. The folks that took us on a whale watching excursion were truly passionate about what that do and it showed. The city tour was basic transportation, but I would highly recommend this total adventure.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Jessica and Captain Derrick of our tour were the best! We not only got to see whales, but we saw 7 whales together doing what our captain said was bubble-netting. The whales swim together, dive, eat, and blow water. I took around 50 pictures of just these whales. What a sight to see. Mendenhall glacier was absolutely beautiful and they gave us around 1 hour to see this sight. I wish we would have gone straight to the falls as this is around a 45 minute walk. Everyone who did it said it was beautiful. But we still saw the falls from a distance. FYI - this tour is cheaper than the cruise, plus you see more. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good experience. Watched at least five whales for over an hour bubble net feeding. Crew was great. Would do this again in a heart beat. Gwen and paul sullivan. July 5 2014.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Nice setting. I wish to have more time at the glacier for hiking. I was lucky to catch clear view from the top of Mt. Roberts as it was covered with cloud when I arrived. Salmon dinner was nice from the top of mountain looking down, but the salmon can be a bit more juicier. Would recommend this for anyone travelling to Juneau.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good tour. Could have used more time at Mendenhall, and could have used a LOT less rain on the whale-watching cruise! Michele and Dirk were outstanding on the whale-watching portion of our tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My husband and two boys, 18 and 13, absolutely loved it. It was raining most of the time but our guide, Sam, was so energetic and fun that we could have cared less about the rain. Super fun. Do not miss this!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message