Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Mendenhall Glacier

Alaska's famous drive-in glacier, Mendenhall Glacier, is Juneau's most popular attraction, flowing 12 miles (19 kilometers) from its source, the Juneau Ice Field. On a sunny day it's beautiful, with blue skies and snow-capped mountains in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 194 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was wonderful and very enjoyable. We were lucky to see whales on the boat and a bear when we were on our way to Mendenhall. We also enjoyed the details and the information from our driver to the Mendenhall Glacier.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great whale watching. The 2 guys on the boat we were on were the best guides we have ever encountered during our travels. Only one drawback, the tour operator should better coordinate the tour buses. There was some confusion by the buses. Otherwise a fantastic tour, we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you enjoy a moderate walk in the company of an informative guide (Eric), with spectacular views and sometimes challenging terrain. Then you should enjoy this tour. The service provided is outstanding and you will struggle to find fault with your experience. Enjoy!!!!!9

Doing what: Adventure Hiking and Mendenhall Glacier Viewing from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth it. Spectacular scenery and great opportunity to see some majestic wildlife! Whatever you do don't forget your camera, especially for the whale watching!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great crew on boat, very informative, city tour and trip to the glacier also good

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! Our guides, Nick and Troy, did a fantastic job in finding the location of killer whales and humpbacks! They even offered us hot chocolate, coffee, candy and a salmon cream cheese bagel. Highly-recommended!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent excursion. the trip to the Glacier was just as advertised and loved the tram up to mt. Roberts. We ate a lovely salmon dish and hiked on the mountain. excellent

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We booked through Viator and saved 90 per person almost half of the cruise rate! Saw lots of whales and one that breached 3 times right in front of us. Operators were very alert as to what time we had to be back and made sure we made our departure time.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Awesome tour guides. Bryce and Emma did a great job for us.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Glacierwasnotmuch but the whalewatching was very well handled. enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We saw the whales from close up and was fascinating. The staff on the boat were very friendly, informative and we enjoyed the hot cup of coffee and sandwiches. Overall, we enjoyed our trip and would recommend it to all.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The boat captain and the guide were very nice and helpful. They worked hard to make the experience memorable. It was great to be close to the whales. It was a very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

I was expecting more and the buffet was not to my expectations.

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Tour had a lot of waiting time at Mendenhall glacier because the whale watching tour was provided by a different company so we had to wait an extra hour for the bus that to take us to the Whale watching tour. The driver on our way to whale watching gave us a long lecture on bears and safety and did not tell anything about the town I felt this was unnecessary. The city tour was pointless, it was only some commentary on the way to Mendenhall

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Weather was perfect, staff were very knowledgeable, and the whales were very impressive!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was fantastic! Captain Amy and Chelsea did a wonderful job to make the trip interesting and unforgettable. They are very knowledgable and did their best to make everyone happy.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great experience. Very easy to meet up with tour employees at the port. Mendenhall Glacier is really beautiful. We saw about 10 humpback whales and both the captain and guide were informative.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I indeed wanted to let you know that this trip was amazingly awesome and this has been one of my most wonderful trip to the Mendenhall Glacier.
The day was completely awesome without much rain and sun with a lot of hiking in a green rain-forest which was very fantastic and post that we had spectacular views of the Glacier mountain which is out of the world experience. I would definitely recommend this trip to others. Also, if you can please pass on the comments to our Guide Hanna - Above and Beyond Travels who has been cordial and very patient to travel along with us and made this trip an amazing one. We had got in a great information while trekking to the Glacier and had a great summary of rain-forest along with the Glacier with the amazing Ice Caves views that was spectacular and an unforgettable experience.
Thanks again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mendenhall Glacier Hike with Round-Trip Transport from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip with lots of variety. all the sites were incredible and we did see some whales. The company was very flexible - we move the city tour a bit later in the afternoon so we could have lunch after the menhaden glacier. very fun full day in Juneau.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome hike. Got to see some amazing ice caves and our guide Corey was the best.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mendenhall Glacier Hike with Round-Trip Transport from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing!!!! Capt. Amy and Naturalist Troy made it a truly wonderful trip. Boat was great and the sightings were too! The last whale we saw came within yards of the boat...I have the video to prove it !!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our bus driver Alicia gave us tons of information. Then we saw sooooo many whales. Our naturalist Ashley and captain Amy on the ravens journey were terrific. We lucked out with stunning weather. But also with a very personal experience because the boat only holds 30.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

we saw many whales and it was fairly close up. we love the mendenhall glacier, it's so beautiful, the only down side of this tour is no have enough time at the mendenhall glacier, 45 min. is too short for such a beautiful place.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message