Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Mendenhall Glacier

Alaska's famous drive-in glacier, Mendenhall Glacier, is Juneau's most popular attraction, flowing 12 miles (19 kilometers) from its source, the Juneau Ice Field. On a sunny day it's beautiful, with blue skies and snow-capped mountains in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 201 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Everything we were expecting and then some!!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Even with the rain, this whale watching boat was very personalized and smaller than the offerings of other companies. The ranger and boat captain were extra friendly and we enjoyed the experience. The bus drivers were very nice and accomodating as well.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an amazing time with our Whale Watching with Captian Amy and Ashley. We not only saw quite a few solitary whales but experienced the rare bubble feeding by the hump backs. Possibly 15 whales participated in the feeding after the male blew bubbles around the fish to keep them all together. What an experience to see all these whales coming up together with their mouths open to feed! So awesome! Thank you to the crew for the once in a life time experience!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was wonderful and very enjoyable. We were lucky to see whales on the boat and a bear when we were on our way to Mendenhall. We also enjoyed the details and the information from our driver to the Mendenhall Glacier.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great whale watching. The 2 guys on the boat we were on were the best guides we have ever encountered during our travels. Only one drawback, the tour operator should better coordinate the tour buses. There was some confusion by the buses. Otherwise a fantastic tour, we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you enjoy a moderate walk in the company of an informative guide (Eric), with spectacular views and sometimes challenging terrain. Then you should enjoy this tour. The service provided is outstanding and you will struggle to find fault with your experience. Enjoy!!!!!9

Doing what: Adventure Hiking and Mendenhall Glacier Viewing from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth it. Spectacular scenery and great opportunity to see some majestic wildlife! Whatever you do don't forget your camera, especially for the whale watching!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great crew on boat, very informative, city tour and trip to the glacier also good

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! Our guides, Nick and Troy, did a fantastic job in finding the location of killer whales and humpbacks! They even offered us hot chocolate, coffee, candy and a salmon cream cheese bagel. Highly-recommended!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent excursion. the trip to the Glacier was just as advertised and loved the tram up to mt. Roberts. We ate a lovely salmon dish and hiked on the mountain. excellent

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We booked through Viator and saved 90 per person almost half of the cruise rate! Saw lots of whales and one that breached 3 times right in front of us. Operators were very alert as to what time we had to be back and made sure we made our departure time.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This trip was the highlight of our Alaska and BC trip. Thanks to our wonderful guides Kirstin and Sam. The hike to the glacier, onto the glacier and under the glacier ice caves was great, especially the ice caves. Well worth doing.

You really do need to be in good shape to do this hike.

Eric Prydatok

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Trek and Climb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was AWESOME! Our boat operator and naturalist were fun and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour and worth the money.We saw whales right away and they came very close to the boat.People on the boat were very informative.Would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

professional service and an outstanding experience overall! We saw a LOT of whales! great photo ops!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Awesome tour guides. Bryce and Emma did a great job for us.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Glacierwasnotmuch but the whalewatching was very well handled. enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We saw the whales from close up and was fascinating. The staff on the boat were very friendly, informative and we enjoyed the hot cup of coffee and sandwiches. Overall, we enjoyed our trip and would recommend it to all.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The boat captain and the guide were very nice and helpful. They worked hard to make the experience memorable. It was great to be close to the whales. It was a very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

I was expecting more and the buffet was not to my expectations.

Doing what: Juneau in One Day: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Tour had a lot of waiting time at Mendenhall glacier because the whale watching tour was provided by a different company so we had to wait an extra hour for the bus that to take us to the Whale watching tour. The driver on our way to whale watching gave us a long lecture on bears and safety and did not tell anything about the town I felt this was unnecessary. The city tour was pointless, it was only some commentary on the way to Mendenhall

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Weather was perfect, staff were very knowledgeable, and the whales were very impressive!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was fantastic! Captain Amy and Chelsea did a wonderful job to make the trip interesting and unforgettable. They are very knowledgable and did their best to make everyone happy.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message