• USD ($)
  • English

Juneau ATTRACTIONS See all

Mendenhall Glacier

Alaska's famous drive-in glacier, Mendenhall Glacier, is Juneau's most popular attraction, flowing 12 miles (19 kilometers) from its source, the Juneau Ice Field. On a sunny day it's beautiful, with blue skies and snow-capped mountains in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The Whale watching cruise was pretty awesome, as was the Glacier, all though the glacier part was mostly on your own. There was plenty of time to walk at your own leisure. The city tour was not much to look at, but hey, it is what it is.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Whale watching was GREAT...loved the entire trip..great captain and mate. We were disappointed in the other two tours (Mendenhall and Juneau city). The places were great but .....we were just dropped off at the glacier with no directions.....had to look for familiar faces from the whale watching and we discussed how we would get back. City tour had no directions either and we had to ask all over to find where we were to pick up the tour bus...almost gave up..but finally found someone who gave us directions......all this considered..would not book this again.....Too expensive........Would only book whale watching

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We would rate this tour as a 5. The boat was very comfortable and designed to hold just the right number of passengers for great viewing. The tour guides were very helpful and we saw many whales. This was a good way to also get a side trip to see the Mendenhall Glacier up close.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Wonderful tour and crew. Many close encounters with whales and other wildlife. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Bus driver very funny and friendly. Paddler/guide very informative and skillful. Not enough white water runs - not your fault !!!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

The scenery in Alaska is always wonderful. This was my second trip to Alaska in 12 months. The group in my raft made the trip so much fun. I was a little disapppointed in the lack of white water, but that is out of your hands.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This trip was fun, exciting and a little frightening, all rolled into one! The price for the photo was extortionate, but we had to have it because it was utterly brilliant!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Highlight of our trip! Such a great experience. We saw seals and bald eagles!

Doing what: Tongass Wildlife Kayaking Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Unbelievable! My wife and I took a 7 day Inside Passage cruise and this was by far the best experience of our trip. Climbing down into a cave under the Mendenhall glacier was something unexpected and was the best part of the trek. The hike to and from the glacier is no joke so be prepared for a very challenging day. I have climbed many mountains in Colorado and this was as difficult as any of the climbs I have done.

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Trek and Climb

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

very bumpy ride, wave came over front end and we got soaked (ruined binoculars). we did see several whales, but none jumping. just fins and mist and backs. guide was nice and driver of boat was also.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2011

The staff on the boat were extremely rude and harsh. I would never have imagined I could have been treated so poorly.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

we loved this we saw only one humpback but quit a few Orcas inlcuding a mom and baby.The naturalsit on board was very informative. She was just as excited to see the whales as us. Highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message