One thing that drives travelers to visit outdoor destinations is wildlife spotting. This is especially true for Juneau, as the bear viewing in Alaska is world-renowned. Juneau specifically is in the heart of bear country, and is home to numerous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide and captain were both very knowledgeable, and found a group of humpbacks which we trailed for a period of time before seeking and finding other whales, sea lions - even caught a glimpse of a bear onshore. Would recommend this crew for my next trip.

Doing what: Best Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Excursion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Seward Highway passes through some of Alaska's most spectacular scenery, with glacier topped mountains rising right out of the sea. Then for a different perspective we rode the tram to the top of Alyeska and got the view of it all from above. To top it off we wandered through the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center, walking within a few feet of musk ox, moose, and even a grizzly bear. All in all an incredible day.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was wonderful and very enjoyable. We were lucky to see whales on the boat and a bear when we were on our way to Mendenhall. We also enjoyed the details and the information from our driver to the Mendenhall Glacier.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Christine A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

well planned out day. Wildlife Conservation Reserve was fantastic. Got to see bears close up in a lovely environment. Also bison, moose and musk oxen.
Portage Glacier cruise was excellent.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our driver Richard was fun and friendly. Loved the stop for a terrific home cook style lunch, food was delicious. Wildlife stop was awesome to see elk, bears, moose, and eagle up so close.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Only one word: AMAZING! This was a great company to deal with. Corey was a fantastic guide and pretty good photographer! Would highly recommend this tour. Not only did we see bears, but we had a float plane trip and kayak included. Magical day.

Doing what: Exclusive Pack Creek Bear Viewing from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was an amazing day tour, the kayaking was fun, and getting to see the grizzlies was great. We were also lucky to get to see another 12+ grizzlies as we were flying back at the end of the night including babies. We had two fun and informational tour guides. This is a tour that I would highly recommend to others.

Doing what: Exclusive Pack Creek Bear Viewing from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

We saw a group of 5 whales that came together to feed for over an hour. The glacier was exceptional, and we saw a mother black bear and two cubs catching and eating salmon, climbing trees, and nursing. Outstanding!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Both the glacier and whale watching were spectacular and well organized. We saw humpback whales bubble feeding for a good 45 minutes. At the glacier, we saw a mother bear and 2 cubs, an eagle, and a porcupine.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very nice intro to Anchorage. Had beautiful weather and saw a black bear with cubs on the way to a view point above the city.

Doing what: Best Anchorage City Tour with Optional Alaska Native Heritage Center Upgrade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Tour had a lot of waiting time at Mendenhall glacier because the whale watching tour was provided by a different company so we had to wait an extra hour for the bus that to take us to the Whale watching tour. The driver on our way to whale watching gave us a long lecture on bears and safety and did not tell anything about the town I felt this was unnecessary. The city tour was pointless, it was only some commentary on the way to Mendenhall

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The drive is amazing! Great scenery along the way. The Wildlife Reserve is ok, not really worth the 99. This really isn't a tour and the reserve is not very big. You can see the whole thing in an hour or less depending on how fast you want to get through it. The bears were out and about when we went which was very cool and I finally saw a moose there. Admission to the reserve is only 12.50 so you are really paying for the van to get you there and back. If you can, I would suggest renting a car, seeing the reserve, and then do some hiking lots of great trails nearby. The guide was great, very friendly and provided some interesting commentary along the ride.

Doing what: Turnagain Arm and Alaska Wildlife Tour from Anchorage

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message