Hoover Dam (also known as Boulder Dam) is one of the largest in America. It was built between 1931 and 1936 across Black Canyon and above the mighty Colorado River. It's a national historical landmark with remarkable views of the Colorado River, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife, Julie, and I were both thrilled with this tour. From the very beginning to the very end there was a great degree of personalized service and congenial conversation. Ben the bus driver was a native Tlingit and delighted us by stopping along the route so we could have a photo op of dozens of salmon entering a stream to spawn. While we were there, a Bald Eagle came to rest atop a nearby tree. Then we spent a couple of hours walking around the Tongas National Forrest enjoying the sights of the Mendenhall Glacier and the nearby waterfall. The next shuttle driver, Donald drove us out to the docks were we saw 30-40 bald eagles scavenging on the shore looking more like a flock of buzzards than eagles. Then the boat captain, Ken, took us out to view the whales - holy cow batman! We were nearly on top of them, he had to work hard to maintain the proximity rules as the whales kept coming right toward us as they used the bubble net fishing technique. Our on-board biologitst, Michelle, explained the process and was a fount of fun trivia about not only the humpbacks we saw but also the harbor seals and the stellar sea lions. We could not have been more pleased. The weather was perfect, the wildlife was spectacular and the staff was exceptional. We even got a bonus, on the way from the glacier to the doc, we got to see a black bear crossing a field, right near the Walmart - definitely inside the city limits of Juneau. It was an experience that will last a lifetime.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved the trip. It was our favorite. We saw many whales and thought we were going to get to walk on the glacier. We saw some salmon, a mother bear and 3 cubs. The cubs climbed a tree

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Everything was absolutely PERFECT!! The pick up location was easily accessed in Juneau...very informative bus drivers full of interesting history...the Whale watch company, was amazing!! The 2 guides and captain of our boat were so very pleasant and informative..they served steaming hot coffee, hot cocoa and even salmon spread on bagels! We saw a lot of humpback whales in the area doing a 'special shallow feeding" so there were plenty of whales to be seen!! The bus ride to Mendenhall Glacier was great and informative about the areas of Juneau.. Mendenhall Glacier/Waterfall were beautiful..the only thing to disappoint was that we only had approx. 50-60 mins. at the Glacier park...some of our group (elderly etc) stayed on the first/shorter trail and visitors center...while 4 of us literally RAN down the trails in order to to get down to the waterfall and closer views of the glacier....it was well worth it as it is gorgeous all the way..even saw a huge pile of bear poop! LOL which only reinforced that yes, we are definitely out in the wilderness of Alaska!! I would definitely do this tour again, but instead of taking the tour bus back to down, I would stay at the Glacier/Waterfalls area much longer to explore it all and take public transportation back to town....Of course there is never a guarantee to see so many whales, I think we lucked out...definitely bundle up for this once in a lifetime adventure...We HIGHLY recommend this tour....worth every penny!!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our driver Richard was fun and friendly. Loved the stop for a terrific home cook style lunch, food was delicious. Wildlife stop was awesome to see elk, bears, moose, and eagle up so close.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Mendenhall Glacier was very beautiful. It didn't take long to cover the park but was able to take some very nice photos. Some people said they had seen bears.

For the whale-watching cruise, It took a while before we spotted any whales, but when we did, they were putting on quite a show for us. There were a few in one location, later there were a few more in a different location. Very active and made for many great pics.

I missed the City Tour but I figure I lucked out when I saw all the whales that I did, so I won't complain. :)

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Brilliant whale watching on AukeBay. Saw about eight whales but the best was when two whales swam under the boat, surfaced within a couple of yards and blew their spout. Not only did we see whales we smelled them! Not pleasant. Captain Derek and naturalist Ali were excellent, full of useful info and finding good sites. Glacier very good but just missed seeing bear catching salmon. Best trip in Alaska.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

One of the most spectacular sights was to see the humpbacks make their bubble net. At Mendenhall Glacier was able to see Bear and Bear Cub. Waterfall was spectacular.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Juneau Whale Watching was fabulous. Booking with Junea Tours Whale Watching made the trip. From seeing Orca's to having porpoises play in the boat wake was the best. Yes we saw Humpback whales, and bald eagles and seals and the "Jabba the Hut" big daddy seal. Everything was great. Glad we didn't book with the cruise, heard they didn't see what we saw!!! Only wish we did the whale watch before the Mendenhall Glaciar so we could have spent more time with the bears out on the Glacier and hiked out to the waterfall.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Pauline G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Booked this for husband and son and it was the most amazing trip they have ever been on. They absolutely recommend it and their guide was very good. I have seen footage and pictures from their trip and it was mind blowing. It is expensive but worth every penny.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Exclusive Pack Creek Bear Viewing from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Such a beautiful and breathtaking experience. We definitely saw whales, three in fact. The skipper of the boat took us to a great location for viewing. We were so close that one particular whale was only 100 yards off the starboard side of the boat. WOW! We also viewed sea lions hanging off a channel marker on our way to the whales. One of them actually followed the boat as we circled the marker.
Mendanhall Glacier was fantastic. We spent a while in the information center, where we enjoyed a short movie about the glacier, as well as, many interesting facts about the animals that frequent the area such as bears and mountain goats. Although it was raining, the rain held off long enough for us to take some wonderful picture of the glacier. The tour was well worth the money spent.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a great time. The Salmon Bake was delicious and what a wonderful site. Mendenhall Glacier is a breath taking, we even saw a bear. But the best was the Whale Watching, we saw so may whales. The boat was new and the crew was just

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was the best excursion. The Salmon Bake was wonderful and the site was beautiful. Mendenhall Glacier Park was unbelievable, we even saw a bear and many birds. But the best was the Whale Watching. We saw many whales and sea life, the boat was new and fast, the crew was great. Would do this again!!!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a fantastic trip, highly recommended. It was the highlight of our Alaskan trip and we did see a number of whales, one of which was so close to the boat - absolutely incredible. The Mendenhall Glacier Tour was just as fantastic and completed a wonderful day. We decided to take the 20 minute walk along the trek to the fabulous waterfall and on the way spotted a mother bear and cub, and a juvenile bear. On the return we were amazed to see a bear crossing the path ahead of us and managed to get such a great photo. What an experience, do not miss this excursion, so well worth the money.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Only one word: AMAZING! This was a great company to deal with. Corey was a fantastic guide and pretty good photographer! Would highly recommend this tour. Not only did we see bears, but we had a float plane trip and kayak included. Magical day.

Doing what: Exclusive Pack Creek Bear Viewing from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was an amazing day tour, the kayaking was fun, and getting to see the grizzlies was great. We were also lucky to get to see another 12+ grizzlies as we were flying back at the end of the night including babies. We had two fun and informational tour guides. This is a tour that I would highly recommend to others.

Doing what: Exclusive Pack Creek Bear Viewing from Juneau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message