One thing that drives travelers to visit outdoor destinations is wildlife spotting. This is especially true for Juneau, as the bear viewing in Alaska is world-renowned. Juneau specifically is in the heart of bear country, and is home to numerous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife, Julie, and I were both thrilled with this tour. From the very beginning to the very end there was a great degree of personalized service and congenial conversation. Ben the bus driver was a native Tlingit and delighted us by stopping along the route so we could have a photo op of dozens of salmon entering a stream to spawn. While we were there, a Bald Eagle came to rest atop a nearby tree. Then we spent a couple of hours walking around the Tongas National Forrest enjoying the sights of the Mendenhall Glacier and the nearby waterfall. The next shuttle driver, Donald drove us out to the docks were we saw 30-40 bald eagles scavenging on the shore looking more like a flock of buzzards than eagles. Then the boat captain, Ken, took us out to view the whales - holy cow batman! We were nearly on top of them, he had to work hard to maintain the proximity rules as the whales kept coming right toward us as they used the bubble net fishing technique. Our on-board biologitst, Michelle, explained the process and was a fount of fun trivia about not only the humpbacks we saw but also the harbor seals and the stellar sea lions. We could not have been more pleased. The weather was perfect, the wildlife was spectacular and the staff was exceptional. We even got a bonus, on the way from the glacier to the doc, we got to see a black bear crossing a field, right near the Walmart - definitely inside the city limits of Juneau. It was an experience that will last a lifetime.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved the trip. It was our favorite. We saw many whales and thought we were going to get to walk on the glacier. We saw some salmon, a mother bear and 3 cubs. The cubs climbed a tree

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Everything was absolutely PERFECT!! The pick up location was easily accessed in Juneau...very informative bus drivers full of interesting history...the Whale watch company, was amazing!! The 2 guides and captain of our boat were so very pleasant and informative..they served steaming hot coffee, hot cocoa and even salmon spread on bagels! We saw a lot of humpback whales in the area doing a 'special shallow feeding" so there were plenty of whales to be seen!! The bus ride to Mendenhall Glacier was great and informative about the areas of Juneau.. Mendenhall Glacier/Waterfall were beautiful..the only thing to disappoint was that we only had approx. 50-60 mins. at the Glacier park...some of our group (elderly etc) stayed on the first/shorter trail and visitors center...while 4 of us literally RAN down the trails in order to to get down to the waterfall and closer views of the glacier....it was well worth it as it is gorgeous all the way..even saw a huge pile of bear poop! LOL which only reinforced that yes, we are definitely out in the wilderness of Alaska!! I would definitely do this tour again, but instead of taking the tour bus back to down, I would stay at the Glacier/Waterfalls area much longer to explore it all and take public transportation back to town....Of course there is never a guarantee to see so many whales, I think we lucked out...definitely bundle up for this once in a lifetime adventure...We HIGHLY recommend this tour....worth every penny!!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our driver Richard was fun and friendly. Loved the stop for a terrific home cook style lunch, food was delicious. Wildlife stop was awesome to see elk, bears, moose, and eagle up so close.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Mendenhall Glacier was very beautiful. It didn't take long to cover the park but was able to take some very nice photos. Some people said they had seen bears.

For the whale-watching cruise, It took a while before we spotted any whales, but when we did, they were putting on quite a show for us. There were a few in one location, later there were a few more in a different location. Very active and made for many great pics.

I missed the City Tour but I figure I lucked out when I saw all the whales that I did, so I won't complain. :)

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Brilliant whale watching on AukeBay. Saw about eight whales but the best was when two whales swam under the boat, surfaced within a couple of yards and blew their spout. Not only did we see whales we smelled them! Not pleasant. Captain Derek and naturalist Ali were excellent, full of useful info and finding good sites. Glacier very good but just missed seeing bear catching salmon. Best trip in Alaska.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

One of the most spectacular sights was to see the humpbacks make their bubble net. At Mendenhall Glacier was able to see Bear and Bear Cub. Waterfall was spectacular.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Juneau Whale Watching was fabulous. Booking with Junea Tours Whale Watching made the trip. From seeing Orca's to having porpoises play in the boat wake was the best. Yes we saw Humpback whales, and bald eagles and seals and the "Jabba the Hut" big daddy seal. Everything was great. Glad we didn't book with the cruise, heard they didn't see what we saw!!! Only wish we did the whale watch before the Mendenhall Glaciar so we could have spent more time with the bears out on the Glacier and hiked out to the waterfall.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Pauline G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Booked this for husband and son and it was the most amazing trip they have ever been on. They absolutely recommend it and their guide was very good. I have seen footage and pictures from their trip and it was mind blowing. It is expensive but worth every penny.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Exclusive Pack Creek Bear Viewing from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Such a beautiful and breathtaking experience. We definitely saw whales, three in fact. The skipper of the boat took us to a great location for viewing. We were so close that one particular whale was only 100 yards off the starboard side of the boat. WOW! We also viewed sea lions hanging off a channel marker on our way to the whales. One of them actually followed the boat as we circled the marker.
Mendanhall Glacier was fantastic. We spent a while in the information center, where we enjoyed a short movie about the glacier, as well as, many interesting facts about the animals that frequent the area such as bears and mountain goats. Although it was raining, the rain held off long enough for us to take some wonderful picture of the glacier. The tour was well worth the money spent.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a great time. The Salmon Bake was delicious and what a wonderful site. Mendenhall Glacier is a breath taking, we even saw a bear. But the best was the Whale Watching, we saw so may whales. The boat was new and the crew was just

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a fantastic trip, highly recommended. It was the highlight of our Alaskan trip and we did see a number of whales, one of which was so close to the boat - absolutely incredible. The Mendenhall Glacier Tour was just as fantastic and completed a wonderful day. We decided to take the 20 minute walk along the trek to the fabulous waterfall and on the way spotted a mother bear and cub, and a juvenile bear. On the return we were amazed to see a bear crossing the path ahead of us and managed to get such a great photo. What an experience, do not miss this excursion, so well worth the money.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Only one word: AMAZING! This was a great company to deal with. Corey was a fantastic guide and pretty good photographer! Would highly recommend this tour. Not only did we see bears, but we had a float plane trip and kayak included. Magical day.

Doing what: Exclusive Pack Creek Bear Viewing from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was an amazing day tour, the kayaking was fun, and getting to see the grizzlies was great. We were also lucky to get to see another 12+ grizzlies as we were flying back at the end of the night including babies. We had two fun and informational tour guides. This is a tour that I would highly recommend to others.

Doing what: Exclusive Pack Creek Bear Viewing from Juneau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

We saw a group of 5 whales that came together to feed for over an hour. The glacier was exceptional, and we saw a mother black bear and two cubs catching and eating salmon, climbing trees, and nursing. Outstanding!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Both the glacier and whale watching were spectacular and well organized. We saw humpback whales bubble feeding for a good 45 minutes. At the glacier, we saw a mother bear and 2 cubs, an eagle, and a porcupine.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Saw a bear, eagles and a few sightings of whales. It was chilly so dress warmly.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I thought the ladies who captained and guided our whale watching trip where phenomenal They were able to maneuver the boat for excellent views of the whales. They pointed out seals and eagles. Trip was outstanding and their enthusiasm for nature made trip even better. Boat was just the right size. Not too big. I thought we had a more intimate experience with the whales. The guide on the City tour was knowledgeable and funny. Guided trip with plenty of interesting information Juneau. Trip to Mendinhall Glacier, I enjoyed but there were too many people. It was hard to see glacier or bear without someone standing in the way. We saw bear eating salmon. Such a treat, just wish there were less people. Glacier and waterfall were outstanding sights.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We thought the Mendenhall Glacier was incredible and would really liked to spend more time there. We wished we could have walked the trails and explored the great facility even more. We probably spent too much time watching the black bears (mom and her two cubs) fishing for salmon. They were pretty amazing, too. Our Juneau whale watching was great as well. Saw a group of five of them quite close. The beauty of the trip was breathtaking!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

We loved Whale Watching and saw about a dozen whales. We saw the blow holes spouting and some tails but they never breached out of the water. Several of them came fairly close to the boat however. It was nice but not as much of a "WOW" experience as I would have thought. Our naturalist Katie was wonderful and very knowledgeable. We had smoked salmon for a snack, soft drinks or coffee/hot chocolate and local chocolate. The trip to Mendenhall Glacier was really beautiful. We got to see the spawning salmon and a few people saw a black bear. The movie in the visitor center is really worth seeing and the Glacier and the trails are awesome. I would recommend this trip. We saw Blue whales in Mexico and they were more impressive but maybe I shouldn't compare the two.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The hunting for bears was not good. The guide on the island just raced up and down some gravel roads for 2 hours plus. She also took a "friend" with her who was there to take her on photos on our dime. The friend got to set in the front passenger seat putting our tour guide in the rear seats of a nine passenger van which precluded her from doing any narration. We finally saw a bear beside the runway at the airport while we were flying out. The glaciers by air were really nice and the whale watching was great. Saw Orcas and Humpbacks.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Bears, Whales and Glaciers by Land, Sea and Air

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was a good trip. We saw whales and glacier. We even saw a black bear standing on the side of the road. It was a bonus for this trip.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Disappointed in whales, but you can't control Mother Nature. Saw bears at Mendenhall Glacier. Guides were informative.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Saw many whales (and calves) considering it was towards the end of the whale watching season. Tour was informative and our onboard guide Ryan was very knowledgeable. Mendenhall Glacier was mind blowing and we had the added bonus of witnessing two mother bears feeding their cubs was fresh salmon they caught in the stream right in front of us. A very good tour.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The drive is amazing! Great scenery along the way. The Wildlife Reserve is ok, not really worth the 99. This really isn't a tour and the reserve is not very big. You can see the whole thing in an hour or less depending on how fast you want to get through it. The bears were out and about when we went which was very cool and I finally saw a moose there. Admission to the reserve is only 12.50 so you are really paying for the van to get you there and back. If you can, I would suggest renting a car, seeing the reserve, and then do some hiking lots of great trails nearby. The guide was great, very friendly and provided some interesting commentary along the ride.

Doing what: Turnagain Arm and Alaska Wildlife Tour from Anchorage

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message