The Alaskan capital, Juneau has a tangible sense of history and contemporary charm. Gateway to the region’s otherworldly glacial landscapes, the city has heaps of gold-rush memorabilia as the site of Alaska’s first gold strike. Day 1: A Day in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 263 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rita B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

They are awesome! Although the dog sled tour was cancelled due to weather, the substitute trip to Herbert Glacier was magnificent! John was an awesome pilot and very informative. This tour is worth every penny and an incredible experience. All the staff are extremely nice. Thank You to the local helicopter company for the tour and my photo's! :

Doing what: Juneau Helicopter Tour and Dogsledding Experience

randy.swing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Ben and Emily and Captain Derek were terrific. They went way beyond expectations to find and follow Orca Whales. This was 1 of 3 Viator excursions for us in Alaska and it was our favorite. We were lucky to have perfect weather in mid-May. The boat was excellent for whale watching. Great photos.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Seafood Lunch or Dinner atop Mt Roberts

gabriela h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time on this tour, we saw so many whales, a mom and a calf, sea lions, bald eagles and tons of birds. Even though bear season started we didn't glimpse them on the glacier. All of the tour operators were nice and corteous and made sure we got back to the shop in time. We had 1 hr total on the glacier. i also liked that the boat was smaller and didn't feel crowded unlike others we saw on the water.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

jjbean78

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The views were breathtaking! At Mendellhall, we took a walk to Nugget Falls which was beautiful! On the whale watching tour, we saw several orcas and the crew was great, couldn't have asked for anything better. The only reason i did not give 5 stars was because they canceled our whale watching tour pretty last minute and we had to reschedule it for the next day. It was inconvenient but luckily the tour we had scheduled was set for earlier in the day and finished by the time we rescheduled, so did not conflict.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

Cynthia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were more than pleased with our Alaska Whale tour. We were able to find our location to board the bus to the tour easily. The tour guides were pleasant and worked hard to give us a good show. We saw numerous whales, including a mama and baby whale. Awesome. The complimentary hot chocolate was an added bonus. By booking thru viator we were able to save money verses booking off the cruise ship. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Randy C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We had an amazing whale watching tour with our captain Ron and naturalist, Wendy. We were taken to Auke Bay in an enclosed boat. We were made aware of where our life jackets were under our seats. When we stopped to observe the whales, we were only allowed 4 people on the bow of the boat at a time. We were so fortune to see so many humpbacks they called it a herd. Wendy and Ron were very knowledgeable. Our second stop to Mendenhall Glacier was equally as amazing. We walked the trail to the glacier and Nugget Falls. The scenery was spectacular. I would recommend this tour. Our only disappointment was we should have had more time to walk the trail and enjoy the visitor building. We never even made it up to the visitor building or to see the glacier video, which was recommended. Five people never made to the bus on time and the bus left without them.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Douglas C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The whale watching was good and we enjoyed the glacier but the city tour was non existent. Still, if you don't have a car it's a good way to get around.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

acnvrk

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Really fun tour. Had a great experience with my kids. Both my kids 2 and 6 enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Juneau Helicopter Tour and Guided Icefield Walk

acnvrk

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Loved the Whale Watching. Loved the Mendenhall Glacier. City tour was meh.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

Jennifer R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour...well organized. Tour operator gave us extra time at Mendenhall and told us very interesting history of the area. Dinner on Mt Roberts was very good, however, the staff at the restaurant were unprepared for the dinner rush and we saw many people walk out due to the wait/not being acknowledged. Luckily we we did not experience that and our food was amazing. Indian fry bread to die for!

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Leslie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We definitely scored with the tour we booked through Viator. We got more for our money than most of the people on the bus and at a lower price. We had my 86-year old mother-in-law, my wife and her best friend in our group. The guides and drivers were very accommodating and informative. And, it's Alaska! How can you loose?!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and Juneau City Tour

Jacqueline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This trip was fantastic. It was the last run of the season, very few tourists and all the captains, mates and naturalists went with us for a last farewell to their whale friends. Even without those circumstances, all the employees we met were courteous, helpful, knowledgeable and plied us with soft drinks and soda and bagel with salmon for a snack. Could not recommend it more. Easy pickup up by shuttle and knowledgeable driver full of information about the area both to and from. Went out of their way to accomodate.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a fun great trip would recomend to friends

Doing what: Juneau Whale-Watching Cruise

Stuart B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an amazing trip. We thoroughly enjoyed the whale watching and lunch at the top of Mt. Roberts was delicious. The best salmon we ate on our entire Alaska vacation. My only suggestion would be to take the earliest whale watching trip so that you have more time at the top of Mt. Roberts to enjoy the views and other attractions before returning to the cruise ship. Great value and the highlight of our vacation.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Seafood Lunch or Dinner atop Mt Roberts

Ohiofreebird United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Breathtaking! This tour opened my eyes to the true beauty of glaciers, and I am so glad my friend convinced me to go. We drank ancient water trickling down the glaciers surface and tried to capture the magic of the moment with panning photos and videos. I had never ridden in a helicopter, and that was exciting too, but the glacier itself stole the show. We also witnessed bighorn sheep on the mountainside nearby.

Doing what: Juneau Helicopter Tour and Guided Icefield Walk

Deb New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great day with sightseeing in the bus then off to the glacier for free time to go and see what you wish and then to come but to town on the bus where you take the cable car to the top for a delicious lunch with fantastic views. We opted to walk down the mountain back to town rather than go back down in the cable car - it is a great 1.5hr walk down.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Jennifer B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

the glacier was really nice to see,and going up to the restuarant ant the top of mount roberts was excellent. the eagle was really nice to see.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Victoria D Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

It was a nice trip, but didn't see much whale activity

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Nordan U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Everything we were expecting and then some!!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

lizgillit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Nice boat and knowledgable staff. Saw 4 or 5 humpback whales fairly close. Couldn't have asked for a nicer excursion.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

blalexander

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was pretty rough, but loved our tour director and driver. We saw lots of whales and the trip to the glacier was spectacular, as well!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Julia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Saw about a dozen humpback whales, as well as sea lions and porpoises. Great trip!

Doing what: Juneau Whale-Watching Cruise

Elizabeth E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Even with the rain, this whale watching boat was very personalized and smaller than the offerings of other companies. The ranger and boat captain were extra friendly and we enjoyed the experience. The bus drivers were very nice and accomodating as well.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an amazing time with our Whale Watching with Captian Amy and Ashley. We not only saw quite a few solitary whales but experienced the rare bubble feeding by the hump backs. Possibly 15 whales participated in the feeding after the male blew bubbles around the fish to keep them all together. What an experience to see all these whales coming up together with their mouths open to feed! So awesome! Thank you to the crew for the once in a life time experience!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message