Perfect acoustics and gorgeous scenery come together at Fern Grotto, the highlight of a cruise on the Wailua River. A natural amphitheater, the fern-filled grotto provides a unique venue for visitors to hear traditional Hawaiian music in one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was an outstanding trip. A perfect way to see Kauai. We will go back to Kauai and stay longer next time. The Island was beautiful! I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Wamea canyon was beautiful, but spending all day on the car was too much.
If the driver tried less hard to entertain the travelers, it could be better.
We needed more time to enjoy the beautiful scenery, maybe listening to calming music,
Hawaiian music is calming to me. Some of the driver's stories were informational, but
listening to him all day was tiring. By the 2nd driver picked us to save time to drop us off to
different hotels we were tired, and she had high pitch voice, and kept talking all about the
local information we already know. I wouldn't take this trip again.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overall the Canyon portion was excellent. Juan out tour guide did a wonderful job. Our only problem was that the 5 Italians on the trip talked the entire time as Juan was talking. He had to request one be quiet it got so bad. The Wailua River portion was less than impressive. I thought the 15 minutes on the river was good but this portion was just a filler of time to us. Would recommend the canyon, not the float. Day is very long also. In fact, too long.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Driver (Keoni) was excellent, funny and full of interesting history and personal stories to go with the history. Took us to a couple of stops not normally on the tour which were very interesting. A little strange that we stopped at a golf course for lunch. Wailua River and Fern Grotto Cruise part of the trip was a total waste of time. Grotto is no longer open - you trek in and stare at the grotto from a good distance while a cheesy Hawaiian music group sings. At the same time, you are eaten alive by mosquitoes. Just OK.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The Kauai Day Trip was a nice way to escape the crowds of tourists in Oahu although I found that their was not much to see on the island. The day was very drawn out with quite a few monotonous stops throughout the beginning of the day. The Wailua River was beautiful but I don't think the tour is good value for money considering the affordability of flights between each island as well as car rental. My tour guide Lisa was amazing, very knowledgeable and hilarious - she kept the bus entertained for 8 hours straight.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was excellent for the first day in Hawaii. The bus was small so there was a lot of interaction among the guide as well as with other passengers. We saw waterfalls, canyons, pretty beaches, plantations, and places to shop. We had a boat ride to the fern grotto with a bit of hula dancing and singing entertainment. We knew then what we wanted to go back to on our own and had ideas on what we can do the rest of the week. We had an excellent lunch as well. One of the things that made our tour fantastic was our driver/guide - Mario. He was knowledgeable, great at getting us to communicate, and lots of fun. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An excellent day out which would have been even better if we had not had to wait over 2 hours each way for our flights. To be dropped at the airport at 5pm for a 7.26pm flight was such a waste of time. The tour guide was excellent and our group size (9 people) made it very personal. Not sure how good it would have been with a very large tour group. All in all a good day.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Lisa was very knowledgeable and funny! The canyon views shouldn't be missed. We kept saying 'wow' everywhere we looked.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We got a late start due to a sick driver, but once we got going, the tour was very good. Not only did we get to see the canyon and river, as promised, but the driver was full of interesting information about Kauai and its animal and plant life.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I had a great guide and a lovely time. It's a beautiful island and I got to see a lot.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We enjoyed the Waimea Canyon trip but the River part of the trip was a disappointment.

Doing what: Kauai Shore Excursion: Waimea Canyon and River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour very informative

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The view of the canyon was nice, but the short boat ride to Fern grotto as a let down. No wild life to see and nothing other than trees lining the river.

Doing what: Kauai Shore Excursion: Waimea Canyon and River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour guide was very informative.Must do tour

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

THIS TOUR WAS EXELLENT.THE SCENERY WAS BEAUTIFUL AND TOUR GUIDE WAS EXELLENT.I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TOUR TO EVERYONE,THIS WAS OUR FIRST TIME TO VISIT HAWAII AND IT IS BEAUTIFUL

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message