• USD ($)
  • English
Perfect acoustics and gorgeous scenery come together at Fern Grotto, the highlight of a cruise on the Wailua River. A natural amphitheater, the fern-filled grotto provides a unique venue for visitors to hear traditional Hawaiian music in one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 104 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour guide was very informative.Must do tour

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

THIS TOUR WAS EXELLENT.THE SCENERY WAS BEAUTIFUL AND TOUR GUIDE WAS EXELLENT.I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TOUR TO EVERYONE,THIS WAS OUR FIRST TIME TO VISIT HAWAII AND IT IS BEAUTIFUL

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide was very informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Highly recommend this tour. Friendly staff and with a lot of knowledge. The vistas were beautiful.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Waimea Canyon is definitely a must see! It was truly beautiful! Darvin, our bus driver, provided lots of facts and stories, and made the entire drive very interesting.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great way for us to start our trip on the island. Saw most of the sights on the southern half of Kauai and the scenery was spectacular.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We had a day on Kauai, and the tour provided a good overview of the island. The sole negative was the extended "hotel tour" to do the pick ups at various locations, before the tour proper started. However, we arrived at the airport with plenty of time to catch our flight out.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was a nice day. Unfortunately the weather meant we didn't see the canyon but otherwise a really nice day. The tour leader, Juan was absolutely amazing - really made the day! Very comfortable bus and worth the money.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tours were excellent! We had very friendly and informative guides which made the experience both fun and educational. Both the canyon and the fern grotto were beautiful. The canyon, of course was spectacular. Having the Hawaiian wedding song and entertainment on the river cruise was fun. The fact that we went back to the ship to eat was fine. It gave us a change to rest for a few minutes and regroup for the second half. All in all a very good double tour.

Doing what: Kauai Shore Excursion: Waimea Canyon and River

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

Our guide was great but the canyon was disappointing. It was completely fogged in so we did not see anything. You can't do anything about the weather.

Doing what: Kauai Shore Excursion: Waimea Canyon and River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Larry was an excellent guide!

Doing what: Kauai Shore Excursion: Waimea Canyon and River

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was a very fun tour even though it almost rained us out at the Waimea Canyon. The driver was congenial and very well informed.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We were picked up timely at our Hotel. Auntie Alicia, our tour guide, was quite the lady and made the trip enjoyable. We really enjoyed the visit to Waimea Canyon, however, we were only taken to one lookout point at the Canyon. Perhaps that is the only one accessible to the bus, but I do believe there are other viewpoints that can be visited and we would have like to have seen the canyon from another position. Of course, we had to make the obligatory stop at a tourist shop which is not really necesssary at all and consumes a lot of time. We came on this day tour to see the sights and not to shop. The Wailua River cruise and visit to the fern grotto is only so so. You take about 1/2 hour to cruise to the fern grotto with nothing really noteworthy to see along the river. Once at the fern grotto, you can no longer go into the cave or even close to it. You must view it from a platform while a small group of musicians sings the Hawaiin Wedding song. Then it is back on the boat to return to the parking area. If I could do it over again, I would skip the river portion of the tour and only book the Waimea Canyon tour. Depending on your hotel, it can become a very long day. We were gone a total of over 9 hours. Save a little money and take the Canyon tour only, unless you just have to hear a tired rendition of the Hawaiian Wedding Song. Play your Elvis CD version, it sounds much, much better.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed the Waimea Canyon. It was a good tour. The River tour was just so-so. Pretty touristy.

Doing what: Kauai Shore Excursion: Waimea Canyon and River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message