Perfect acoustics and gorgeous scenery come together at Fern Grotto, the highlight of a cruise on the Wailua River. A natural amphitheater, the fern-filled grotto provides a unique venue for visitors to hear traditional Hawaiian music in one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 153 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very beautiful sights! Driver was very nice and informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We had an amazing experience! This trip to Hawaii was our first experience, so we were expecting a lot and we got it. The Waimea Canyon was beautiful and serene! The Wailua River was very peaceful, yet breathtaking. This trip provided so much more. I guess you will need to go in order to experience beautiful Kauai!!!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Trip was everything that it was advertised as. Every tour guide we had was friendly and helpful in every respect. I highly recommend Viator and will use them again.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

So glad I went on this tour. I discovered the beauty of Kauai, the Canyon was wonderful! Our tour guide was really nice

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The bus tour was great - we had a very knowledgeable and interesting driver -I enjoyed everything The river cruise was a bit disappointing. I thought we would see some wildlife, birds, or something however, there were water skiers and lots of kayaking and traffic on the river. The Fern Grotto was interesting, but maybe I was just expecting something different.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Juan was our driver and he was great. Very knowledgable and we learned a lot about Kaua'i on the trip. Would recommend it to anyone traveling to Kaua'i

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This trip was pretty good especially compared to the Maui Day trip from Oahu. We liked this much better. More to see and didn`t feel quite as long a day. We went with Island Air and another couple went with Hawaiian Air which their flight times seemed to be better. Lunch was at a golf course which there is a variety to choose from. Our guide was great and made a couple of extra stops for the group (to see turtles and the coffee plantation) which was difficult with a larger group. This is a nice way to see the island of Kauai.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

The tour is fine if you are already ON Kauai, but spending the money to fly from Oahu and back. The canyon is beautiful, one of the most beautiful things that I saw in Hawaii, but there wasn't a whole lot to the tour other than that and our tour guide continually blanked on information and referenced her age as the resason. She was a sweet lady but maybe shouldn't be giving tours anymore...

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Totally enjoyed this adventure!!! A number 1 tour guide Lias Cate....beautiful island...

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The weather was perfect. I am sure that makes a big difference on the tour. Lisa was a great tour guide. What we liked the best is being picked up at our hotel. It is so nice that you don't have to drive somewhere that you are unfamiliar with and worry about arriving on time and standing in line and trying to find parking. We saw whales, turtles, dolphins, the wonderful canyon, and the ride down the river. Great day.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Just ok, thats all. Sorry.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

About 3 hours are spent on a shuttle picking people up from hotels. The sights are pretty spread apart so most of the tour is spent driving around. And the river cruise to the fern grotto is very underwhelming. I could not wait for it to be over. It felt like alot of driving and waiting.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great tour of the island for the first time visitor. Knowledgeable and friendly tour guides make the tour very enjoyable. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The trip to the Canyon is definately worth doing and our driver/guide Juan was excellent. Unfortunately, the trip for me was not enjoyable for a few reasons. You are on a large coach and I prefer to travel in smaller mini coaches, so just be aware of that. There were a few stops along the way that we could have done without, including the blow hole, as there wasn't much to see and the stop to the souvenir shop. Would have preferred more time at the Canyon itself and at the Kauai Coffee farm. The tour itself is a long 9 hour day, so be ready for that. A half day tour of the canyon and coffee farm would be enough. I was lucky to be near my hotel at the lunch stop, so I didn't do the river cruise, and chose to conclude my tour early.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The trip was informative and very nice. We would recommend this tour, the Canyon is beautiful and you don't have to drive the highway. Our tour guide was very nice.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this tour. Great scenery and good guide.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed our tour! Our driver and tour guide, Vinnie, was great. He added a very personal flavor to the trip, with stories that illustrated the history of the island, the impacts of the sugar industry, environmental and cultural challenges on the island, etc. Thanks again, Vinnie!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great time on this tour. We met other people from various cities. The stops we made were special and scenic. We would recommend this tour for anyone wanting a relaxing day.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour was very intresting and educational. Bus driver was very nice and funny, told us many intresting stories about Kauai. We will recomend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A very good tour, the Waimea canyon was spectactular, the river cruise interesting and the drivers commentary extremly good. Only complaint possible was the length of the day, 5 AM pick up in Oahu and returned approx 7:00 PM that evening. Probably will not book and similar tours expoloring other islands from the one we're staying on.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

the tour was worth the money. if it is your first time to Kauai I would suggest this tour to get familiar with Kauai.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was awesome. Our tour guide, Jonna was wonderful. She had lots of facts and stories and it really made the tour enjoyable. The road to Waimea Canyon is very winding, so it was nice to have a competent driver at the wheel. The canyon is truly beautiful. With all of the stops on this tour we got to see a lot of the island, without the hassle of driving. The boat ride up the Wailua river to the fern grotto was fun. They had fun entertainment on the boat on the way back. Would highly recommend this tour and the pricing was great.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message