Perfect acoustics and gorgeous scenery come together at Fern Grotto, the highlight of a cruise on the Wailua River. A natural amphitheater, the fern-filled grotto provides a unique venue for visitors to hear traditional Hawaiian music in one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 167 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mohan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Overall it was a good one to see the eastern and southern side of Kauai. Juan was our tour guide. He had lots of local stories to share with us. He was very entertaining and knowledgeable. They were also very accommodative to pick us up. Our hotel was not listed in their list of hotels for pick up. When we called them, they were willing to pick us up from our hotel.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mary N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent way to begin a Kauai Vacation. Very informative and helpful to familiarize one with the island. Had a great time.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Beverly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Juan was a superb tour guide, sharing personal stories about growing up on Kauai. His knowledge of the island, its history, and his pride in his heritage was wonderful. The canyon and river were beautiful and it was a treat to have someone else do the driving so we could see all the beautiful landscapes and scenery.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Harry, our pilot, was awesome and the views were spectacular!! We would do it again and again.

Doing what: Vintage Biplane Tour of Kauai

Lori T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kauai was beautiful. Tour was excellent. Only regret was would have liked more than one day there.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Nathan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip is worth the money. There is so much to see and do on the island, however it takes a lot of time to drive to all of the sights because there is only one major road around the island. This tour easily checks a lot of sights off the list saving you time the rest of your vacation.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Jane M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour was very good. Saw many parts of the island that we probably would not have visited. Our driver. Juan, was great! We were a small group, only 11, which was nice. It was just a couple of hours too long. I would skip the cruise and fern grotto and call it a day.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mike W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely one of the most beautiful places on earth. Our pilot was very professional, but also very knowledgeable. He filled us with a great deal of facts and interesting tidbits about the area. And the Sights !!!!!! Oh my gosh. Incredible scenery.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Tim B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour of much of Kauai. Mark is an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Juan was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. She showed us everything on our tour and more. It was a great day and well worth the price.

Doing what: Kauai: Waimea Canyon and Fern Grotto Kauai

Triss USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

What we saw was nice, but I had expected more for the Garden Isle. It was a little disappointing after a beautiful, 5-star trip along the Road to Hana in Maui a couple of days earlier. However, kudos to the driver who safely managed to bring the bus to a gentle stop on the roadside after a rear tire blowout.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

mfuss1 United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

It was ok. The driver was fine but the canyon consisted of a grand total of 30 minutes at one overlook, that's it. We did the Sunshine helicopter the day before and you can see so much more that way.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The scenery was fantastic, a don't miss tour. Our guide, Vinnie, was very informative about the history and gave us insite into what we were looking at. Take this tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

George S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great trip, except for the extremely slow service, quality of food, and ambiance flies attacking the food at the lunch stop

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Beata N USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

I had a great tour guide and overall a very good time.

Doing what: Kauai: Waimea Canyon and Fern Grotto Kauai

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was more than expected, great views, good information, and just good fun.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Christine W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great to let someone else do the driving so all I had to do was look t he sights. A beautiful tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Juan, our guide, was worth the entire cost of the tour. We enjoyed his knowledge and wonderful attitude. Taking this tour early in our Kauai stay helped us to plan our independent activities.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Prudence M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Scheduled for this tour but Biplane out of commission and waiting on parts. So I gave it 3 stars for allowing me to schedule when it was not even available. Took another small plane tour with same company but was delayed TWICE. They did give each of us a free T-Shirt, but I would have rather been on time. Pilot was good in assisting passenger with motion sickness.

Doing what: Vintage Biplane Tour of Kauai

Peter F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour, pilot was well informed about the island. Staff were helpfull and very friendly.
Much better than any helicopter tours.

Doing what: Vintage Biplane Tour of Kauai

Raymond M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour. If we had known about the helicopter tour and had enough time we would have done it too. The guide was very good and informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mary c

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Yes the bus tour with Sam was very good however the Wailua River ride and fern grotto not so much.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Edward G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour well worth the travel. Excellent way to see Kauai. The Island was beautiful! I highly recommend the tour. Our tour guide Vinnie was fantastic and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

l.sonsiadek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Even though we had a bus breakdown our tour was filled with interesting info about the island and the sites we were taken to. Thanks Jonna

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message