One of Kauai’s most beautiful stretches of water, Hanalei Bay is a hub for watersports on the island’s north shore. Flanked by idyllic stretches of beach and backed by mountains, the bayside town of Hanalei is filled with shops renting kayaks, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wendy was our guide. She was very knowledgeable about Kauai and never hesitated to tell us details about what parts of the island were featured in what movies. It was a long day, and we were on a small bus getting on and off at many sites, but it was worth it!

Doing what: Kauai Movie Sites Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

You get to see a lot of the eastern and northern parts of the island. Amazing scenery and interesting film facts. Despite not knowing many of the films it was still a fascinating tour.

Doing what: Kauai Movie Sites Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very repetitive took us to the same spots as the North east Tour Need to Know exactly what and where you will go before booking

Doing what: Kauai Movie Sites Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very repetitive took us to the same spots as the North east Tour Need to Know exactly what and where you will go before booking

Doing what: Private Tour: Kauai Sightseeing Adventure with Picnic Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. We were picked up at our hotel on time and were taken to some beautiful locations. The tour bus was very comfortable and movie clips were shown of the sites we visited. During our stop at the Coco Palms, where "Blue Hawaii" was filmed, we were treated to a performance by Larry Rivera who composed over a hundred songs and worked as a music director at the Coco Palms when Elvis Presley performed in Blue Hawaii. I would have given the tour 5 stars if they would have added a stop at Kee Beach, but that would have probably added a couple hours to the tour.

Doing what: Kauai Movie Sites Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Possibly the best tour we've ever done. Mickey, our guide, was kind of like a character in a movie himself - entertaining and funny with a dash of southern charm (he's from Alabama). We loved how he brought the stories alive from the video movie clips with his own jokes and he seemed genuinely passionate about movies and the history behind the making of them. For anyone who loves movies and/or Elvis, you will love that you will walk away with tons of facts and trivia. You almost feel Elvis on some areas - ok that might be going too far, but you get what I mean. The best tours transport you to that era or time. We got to see most of the island because of the tour, with our brave driver Diane who managed to get us out of some very tight places. We even stopped at a "hidden beach" that we would have never seen had it not been for the tour.

This tour offered lunch at Tahiti Nui where the Decendents was filmed. Burgers/chicken or kalua pork and fries - good, but what was really good - the Mai Tais (you need to purchase this, but they were the best ones we've had so far). When you stop for lunch, I suggest you visit Pink's creamery around the corner - the best ice cream I've had - loved my coffee flavor - it was creamy, rich, and tasted like it was made with love.

I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kauai Movie Sites Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful Tour.

Doing what: Kauai Movie Sites Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The tour description was a bit misleading from the actual tour: "stops at several locations where movies, such as Jurassic Park, Pirates of the Caribbean, Tropic Thunder and many more, have been filmed over the years." We did not stop anywhere for Jurassic Park, which was a major selling point to us when we signed up for the tour. We drove past the site on the main highway for a few seconds.

The tour would be more interesting for you if you preferred old Hollywood movies. Movies such as South Pacific and Blue Hawaii were mentioned and shown numerous times on the tour including stops but there was not much emphasis on material or stops for major films such as Raiders of the Lost Ark or Avatar, which both had filming in Kauai. The tour spent much more time on classic Hollywood films shot in Kauai rather than recent films.

The tour was very overpriced compared to other Kauai tours such as dinner cruises, which give you a much better experience for your money.

I would not recommend the tour to friends. The tour could be much better if they updated their material. Still dumbfounded as to why the tour spent so much time on Dinocroc and Supergator rather than other major films Kauai should be proud to be part of showing off their affiliation with.

Doing what: Kauai Movie Sites Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

On a scale of 1 to 10 - definitely a well-deserved 10. Mickey, our guide, was a gem - he couldn't be bettered. His knowledge of films was outstanding. He really made the tour. The scenery was superb and we saw everything listed on the itinerary. It was a rich, full day which came to an end too soon. Well done, it was a well-organised which really made our stay on Kauai a totally memorable one. One, I would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Kauai Movie Sites Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We enjoyed the tour, especially our guide, she was informative, personable and very entertaining.

Doing what: Kauai Movie Sites Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great way to see a lot of Kauai.

Doing what: Kauai Movie Sites Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

We enjoyed the tour, but we probably would not recommend it unless you really enjoy planes. A helicopter would be more versatile and we noticed the helicopter tours got much closer to the coastal range and sites. We choose the plane option as a smoother ride for our young daughter and we thought the overhead wings would give a better view. It was a bumpy ride over the canyons so she got scared and those on the co-pilot side of the aircraft had a much better view throughout the tour. The pilot did circle a few times to give those on the pilot side a chance to see some sights. The pilot was knowledgeable and competent, but the aircraft could use a little refurbishing as the upholstery was torn and the inside a little messy. A good trip, but not great.

Doing what: Entire Kauai Island Air Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

An air tour of the island is a must. It is the only way you can really see the island.
We encountered rain and low clouds which hampered visibility. The flight was comfortably
steady and the pilot provided a very comprehensive narration of what we were, or should
have been seeing. Strongly recommend seeing the island by air. Just be very aware of weather
conditions and potential effect on visibility.

Doing what: Entire Kauai Island Air Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Rained all day so kind of hard to review

Doing what: Kauai Movie Sites Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message