Kauai ATTRACTIONS See all

Poipu Beach Park

Poipu Beach Park is Kauai’s most popular beach resort for families, with a natural ocean pool, golden sand and an endless array of watersports. This beach is watched over by lifeguards, to ensure safe seaside fun for all the family. You’ll also ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 158 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

George S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great trip, except for the extremely slow service, quality of food, and ambiance flies attacking the food at the lunch stop

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was more than expected, great views, good information, and just good fun.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Christine W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great to let someone else do the driving so all I had to do was look t he sights. A beautiful tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Juan, our guide, was worth the entire cost of the tour. We enjoyed his knowledge and wonderful attitude. Taking this tour early in our Kauai stay helped us to plan our independent activities.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Raymond M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour. If we had known about the helicopter tour and had enough time we would have done it too. The guide was very good and informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mary c

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Yes the bus tour with Sam was very good however the Wailua River ride and fern grotto not so much.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Edward G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour well worth the travel. Excellent way to see Kauai. The Island was beautiful! I highly recommend the tour. Our tour guide Vinnie was fantastic and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

l.sonsiadek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Even though we had a bus breakdown our tour was filled with interesting info about the island and the sites we were taken to. Thanks Jonna

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip very informative. Driver Lisa was great. Always talking and joking. Kept the group very lively. Rate trip 5 Stars and Driver 10. Thanks

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Allyson H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Can not recommend this tour enough!! It is the best I and #39;ve been on, we had Lisa as our guide and she is such a hoot! You see most of the island on this tour! I recommend this to everyone

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Cathy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bus driver was hilarious and brought us all together. Wondered if we really had to be at the airport 2 hours ahead of time for a 7:30 a.m. flight.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Ines U

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I think this tour is only suitable for people who, for some reason, cant walk very well. Most of the day you will spend in a bus. Theyll stop at some nice spots so you can take your pictures, and 10 to 15 minutes later youre on the bus again, driving to the next photo opp. It wasnt really my kind of tour.We got a total of 30 minutes at the Waimea Canyon. Now for only staying on the platform and snapping some pictures that might have been enough, but I would have loved to get the chance to explore the surroundings a bit.
What I dont recommend however is the Wailua River tour. That was just bad. You get stuffed on a boat with probably 50-60 people, and there were still open seats so it can well be more, they tell you it will be a 20 minute boat ride but it was shorter. The captain also did the audio commentary but his mumbling was so bad that I had difficulty understanding it. Grotto everyone pushed to be the first to get there. But the Fern Grotto is closed, you cant go inside anymore. All you can do is stand on a little platform in front of it, hope no one pushes in front of you so you can see and stand there for about another 20 minutes while the crew sings the old Polynesian wedding song.
The guys did do a great job, they had great singers and a nice dancer but frankly there are too many people there to enjoy it and its too rushed. After the dance the running and pushing starts again to get to the boat. This time the singers come along and while you drive back they sing and dance for you. All in all it only took a little over an hour, you didnt really see much on the landscape because of the way the boat is built and because you are almost herded to the Fern Grotto and back in such a rush. My recommendation: rent a Kajak and paddle on the river. Thats in your own time and you get to see so much more without being hurried along. This boat ride was just a mass-tourist attraction that probably departs hourly. Quantity before quality. Very sad.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

fcjones007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The driver/narrator was quite knowledgeable, courteous, mannerly, and helpful to everyone!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Josee L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This tour will give you a good overview of the Island. Waimea Canyon is a must to see. The ride on Wailua River is interesting with visit to Fern Grotto. Lisa our driver's/guide was very good.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Julie G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed this trip, it wasn't as full on as some of the other day trips we've done, great guide who was full of information about the Island.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Jerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Got great pictures and the tour guide was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and humorous. His expertise made the day.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Shirley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is definitely worth taking. I highly recommend it for new visitors and returning ohana family alike. Our tour guide, Juan, led us through an amazinng story-book tour on July 7, 2015 on the history, culture and people of the island of Kaua'i. We were picked up at our hotel by Juan on an air-conditioned bus. Besides the 4 of us in our group, the only other people on this tour was a newly-wed couple from Italy. Juan personalized his narration and answered any questions we had as we were expertly escorted to each stop. We did not feel rushed or hurried at any time during our tour. If you truly want to experience the spirit of 'Aloha' from the island, take this tour and you'll be amazed at what you learn and take back with you.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I recently went on the 8 line zipline tour in Kauai and there is only one word I can use to describe it – perfect. I was only in Kauai for 5 days, and there is already so much to do. This zipline tour is an absolute must though. First off – it is completely exhilarating. The drive was so scenic and the guides were entertaining. The actual zip lining was such a rush and you never feel unsafe. We put on our gear, made the drive, and did 8 gorgeous ziplines in 2 hours – leaving so much time for other activities. Great tour.

Doing what: Kauai Zipline Tour in Poipu

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I cant remember having as great of a time as I did on the Kauai Zip line tour. The zips were so much fun! The group we were with were all so nice and it was great to meet people. The scenery was fantastic. So much beauty, and so many breathtaking views. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kauai Zipline Tour in Poipu

Richard H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The microphone was not working well at all. it kept on fading in and out. So the tour guide did not try to give much of the background of where we visited. It was a waste of money.
We also had people who were late and we lost almost an hour.
By 2:30pm we had not even started the Wailua River ride.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Jeffrey F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a wonderful tour. Our tour guide was a native Hawaiian who really knew her stuff! Lots of great stories and information along the way, and we even had enough time to make an extra stop to see a coffee plantation. The canyon is absolutely beautiful - not to be missed! And the river cruise was great too.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

William Wei-Jen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour! Juan the tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

angie rouede USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this Jurassic World scenic tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

JUDITH H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was good, but things got off to a rough start with a driver that took us to the airport who seemed very unprepared for the task. Once we got to Kauai, our driver guide Kamu was exceptional. We made all our stops and the scenery was breath-taking.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Wayne U

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

We felt like we lost a day in paradise. The tour spends about two hours there and back to spend 20 minutes at the first overlook for Waimea canyon... when I read the tour details, I thought that this was going to be a considerably more extensive coverage of Waimea than other tours. It was not, as the parking lot was full of busses from the other tour companies. The tour spent far too much time at local tourist tchotchke shops... made me feel like too many deals had been made with the tour company. Lunch price not included was at a golf course café?!?! What about a local food spot? Give us something we can't get back home. Smith's Wailua River cruise included also feels hardly worth it. The boat stops at Fern Grotto, which due to a history of reduced attractiveness can't go in cave anymore, the ferns all but died in Hurricane Iniki, someone needs to divert the water back for the falls was worth maybe 15 minutes of my day, not 2 hours including the wait in line in the jungle for the earlier tour to finish up. We felt exhausted and disappointed when the day was over. Our guide was very good, but the tour management needs to provide better value. Would not recommend unless you simply can't rent a car and drive yourself around.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message