Kauai ATTRACTIONS See all

Poipu Beach Park

Poipu Beach Park is Kauai’s most popular beach resort for families, with a natural ocean pool, golden sand and an endless array of watersports. This beach is watched over by lifeguards, to ensure safe seaside fun for all the family. You’ll also ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mohan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Overall it was a good one to see the eastern and southern side of Kauai. Juan was our tour guide. He had lots of local stories to share with us. He was very entertaining and knowledgeable. They were also very accommodative to pick us up. Our hotel was not listed in their list of hotels for pick up. When we called them, they were willing to pick us up from our hotel.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mary N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent way to begin a Kauai Vacation. Very informative and helpful to familiarize one with the island. Had a great time.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Beverly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Juan was a superb tour guide, sharing personal stories about growing up on Kauai. His knowledge of the island, its history, and his pride in his heritage was wonderful. The canyon and river were beautiful and it was a treat to have someone else do the driving so we could see all the beautiful landscapes and scenery.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Lori T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kauai was beautiful. Tour was excellent. Only regret was would have liked more than one day there.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Nathan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip is worth the money. There is so much to see and do on the island, however it takes a lot of time to drive to all of the sights because there is only one major road around the island. This tour easily checks a lot of sights off the list saving you time the rest of your vacation.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

BRUINBELLE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

From start to finish the staff was incredibly helpful and fun. They made sure all the equipment fit properly and that we felt secure. Definitely doing this again!

Doing what: Kauai Zipline Tour in Poipu

Jane M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour was very good. Saw many parts of the island that we probably would not have visited. Our driver. Juan, was great! We were a small group, only 11, which was nice. It was just a couple of hours too long. I would skip the cruise and fern grotto and call it a day.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mike W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely one of the most beautiful places on earth. Our pilot was very professional, but also very knowledgeable. He filled us with a great deal of facts and interesting tidbits about the area. And the Sights !!!!!! Oh my gosh. Incredible scenery.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Tim B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour of much of Kauai. Mark is an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Juan was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Triss USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

What we saw was nice, but I had expected more for the Garden Isle. It was a little disappointing after a beautiful, 5-star trip along the Road to Hana in Maui a couple of days earlier. However, kudos to the driver who safely managed to bring the bus to a gentle stop on the roadside after a rear tire blowout.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

mfuss1 United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

It was ok. The driver was fine but the canyon consisted of a grand total of 30 minutes at one overlook, that's it. We did the Sunshine helicopter the day before and you can see so much more that way.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The scenery was fantastic, a don't miss tour. Our guide, Vinnie, was very informative about the history and gave us insite into what we were looking at. Take this tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

George S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great trip, except for the extremely slow service, quality of food, and ambiance flies attacking the food at the lunch stop

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was more than expected, great views, good information, and just good fun.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Christine W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great to let someone else do the driving so all I had to do was look t he sights. A beautiful tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Juan, our guide, was worth the entire cost of the tour. We enjoyed his knowledge and wonderful attitude. Taking this tour early in our Kauai stay helped us to plan our independent activities.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Raymond M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour. If we had known about the helicopter tour and had enough time we would have done it too. The guide was very good and informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mary c

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Yes the bus tour with Sam was very good however the Wailua River ride and fern grotto not so much.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Edward G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour well worth the travel. Excellent way to see Kauai. The Island was beautiful! I highly recommend the tour. Our tour guide Vinnie was fantastic and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

l.sonsiadek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Even though we had a bus breakdown our tour was filled with interesting info about the island and the sites we were taken to. Thanks Jonna

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip very informative. Driver Lisa was great. Always talking and joking. Kept the group very lively. Rate trip 5 Stars and Driver 10. Thanks

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Allyson H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Can not recommend this tour enough!! It is the best I and #39;ve been on, we had Lisa as our guide and she is such a hoot! You see most of the island on this tour! I recommend this to everyone

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Cathy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bus driver was hilarious and brought us all together. Wondered if we really had to be at the airport 2 hours ahead of time for a 7:30 a.m. flight.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Ines U

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I think this tour is only suitable for people who, for some reason, cant walk very well. Most of the day you will spend in a bus. Theyll stop at some nice spots so you can take your pictures, and 10 to 15 minutes later youre on the bus again, driving to the next photo opp. It wasnt really my kind of tour.We got a total of 30 minutes at the Waimea Canyon. Now for only staying on the platform and snapping some pictures that might have been enough, but I would have loved to get the chance to explore the surroundings a bit.
What I dont recommend however is the Wailua River tour. That was just bad. You get stuffed on a boat with probably 50-60 people, and there were still open seats so it can well be more, they tell you it will be a 20 minute boat ride but it was shorter. The captain also did the audio commentary but his mumbling was so bad that I had difficulty understanding it. Grotto everyone pushed to be the first to get there. But the Fern Grotto is closed, you cant go inside anymore. All you can do is stand on a little platform in front of it, hope no one pushes in front of you so you can see and stand there for about another 20 minutes while the crew sings the old Polynesian wedding song.
The guys did do a great job, they had great singers and a nice dancer but frankly there are too many people there to enjoy it and its too rushed. After the dance the running and pushing starts again to get to the boat. This time the singers come along and while you drive back they sing and dance for you. All in all it only took a little over an hour, you didnt really see much on the landscape because of the way the boat is built and because you are almost herded to the Fern Grotto and back in such a rush. My recommendation: rent a Kajak and paddle on the river. Thats in your own time and you get to see so much more without being hurried along. This boat ride was just a mass-tourist attraction that probably departs hourly. Quantity before quality. Very sad.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message