Kauai ATTRACTIONS See all

Poipu Beach Park

Poipu Beach Park is Kauai’s most popular beach resort for families, with a natural ocean pool, golden sand and an endless array of watersports. This beach is watched over by lifeguards, to ensure safe seaside fun for all the family. You’ll also ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Wamea canyon was beautiful, but spending all day on the car was too much.
If the driver tried less hard to entertain the travelers, it could be better.
We needed more time to enjoy the beautiful scenery, maybe listening to calming music,
Hawaiian music is calming to me. Some of the driver's stories were informational, but
listening to him all day was tiring. By the 2nd driver picked us to save time to drop us off to
different hotels we were tired, and she had high pitch voice, and kept talking all about the
local information we already know. I wouldn't take this trip again.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overall the Canyon portion was excellent. Juan out tour guide did a wonderful job. Our only problem was that the 5 Italians on the trip talked the entire time as Juan was talking. He had to request one be quiet it got so bad. The Wailua River portion was less than impressive. I thought the 15 minutes on the river was good but this portion was just a filler of time to us. Would recommend the canyon, not the float. Day is very long also. In fact, too long.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Driver (Keoni) was excellent, funny and full of interesting history and personal stories to go with the history. Took us to a couple of stops not normally on the tour which were very interesting. A little strange that we stopped at a golf course for lunch. Wailua River and Fern Grotto Cruise part of the trip was a total waste of time. Grotto is no longer open - you trek in and stare at the grotto from a good distance while a cheesy Hawaiian music group sings. At the same time, you are eaten alive by mosquitoes. Just OK.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was excellent for the first day in Hawaii. The bus was small so there was a lot of interaction among the guide as well as with other passengers. We saw waterfalls, canyons, pretty beaches, plantations, and places to shop. We had a boat ride to the fern grotto with a bit of hula dancing and singing entertainment. We knew then what we wanted to go back to on our own and had ideas on what we can do the rest of the week. We had an excellent lunch as well. One of the things that made our tour fantastic was our driver/guide - Mario. He was knowledgeable, great at getting us to communicate, and lots of fun. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Lisa was very knowledgeable and funny! The canyon views shouldn't be missed. We kept saying 'wow' everywhere we looked.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We got a late start due to a sick driver, but once we got going, the tour was very good. Not only did we get to see the canyon and river, as promised, but the driver was full of interesting information about Kauai and its animal and plant life.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour very informative

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour guide was very informative.Must do tour

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

THIS TOUR WAS EXELLENT.THE SCENERY WAS BEAUTIFUL AND TOUR GUIDE WAS EXELLENT.I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TOUR TO EVERYONE,THIS WAS OUR FIRST TIME TO VISIT HAWAII AND IT IS BEAUTIFUL

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide was very informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Lots of fun, show on the boat very good.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Rainy day. Did not see much at the Waimea Canyon. We only went to Waimea Canyon lookout. The river cruise to the Fern Grotto was interesting. We went on our own 2 days later to the Waimea Canyon and we managed to see much more beautiful sights of the canyon and the waterfall. Recommended to do on your own. This tour just visited only one place on the canyon. You will see much more when you do it on your own. Quite disappointing day.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Rainy day. Tour only covers the Waimea Canyon lookout. At the lookout, poor visibility. The only highlight of the day was the river cruise to Fern Grotto. Quite interesting. Best to do the canyon tour on your own. We went later on our own and we see more beautiful sights and waterfalls where the tour does not cover. Recommended that you do this tour on your own.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Highly recommend this tour. Friendly staff and with a lot of knowledge. The vistas were beautiful.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Waimea Canyon is definitely a must see! It was truly beautiful! Darvin, our bus driver, provided lots of facts and stories, and made the entire drive very interesting.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message