Kauai ATTRACTIONS See all

Wailua River

Kauai’s Wailua River runs from the volcanic Wailua crater to the coast, flowing through the Wailua River State Park. It’s Hawaii’s only navigable river, so make the most of the experience with a boat tour or cruise into the island’s rugged ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Keiko F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything (kayaking, hiking, and swimming at the waterfall) was great. The guide, Sage, was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I felt the tour was short in each segment and wanted it longer, but it probably means it was that good. The weather was very nice, too. If it rained before or duing the tour, the whole experience could be different, but it is life.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Mohan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Overall it was a good one to see the eastern and southern side of Kauai. Juan was our tour guide. He had lots of local stories to share with us. He was very entertaining and knowledgeable. They were also very accommodative to pick us up. Our hotel was not listed in their list of hotels for pick up. When we called them, they were willing to pick us up from our hotel.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mohan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an awesome one. We really enjoyed this tour. Bryan was our guide. He was very patient with us. We had some difficulties in the beginning with the kayak. He was patient enough to teach us and guide us. He was also very entertaining and knowledgeable of the local customers and events. He shared lots of information with us on the things to do there. The tour consists of about 2 miles of kayaking and 1 mile of hiking to the falls. Not a hard one. Nice experience getting to the falls.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Mary N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent way to begin a Kauai Vacation. Very informative and helpful to familiarize one with the island. Had a great time.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Beverly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Juan was a superb tour guide, sharing personal stories about growing up on Kauai. His knowledge of the island, its history, and his pride in his heritage was wonderful. The canyon and river were beautiful and it was a treat to have someone else do the driving so we could see all the beautiful landscapes and scenery.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Shari S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an excellent excursion. We had Kelly as our guide and he was knowledgeable, patient, and interesting. The scenery is spectacular and the kayaking and hike were adventurous, but not difficult. Everyone at Smith's was very polite and accommodating.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Lori T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kauai was beautiful. Tour was excellent. Only regret was would have liked more than one day there.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Sean K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great! Good mix of kayaking, hiking, and swimming!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Nathan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip is worth the money. There is so much to see and do on the island, however it takes a lot of time to drive to all of the sights because there is only one major road around the island. This tour easily checks a lot of sights off the list saving you time the rest of your vacation.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Virginia C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Maybe there needs to be different tours for people with less experience in Kayaking. Instructional was minimal and the various levels were difficult to accommodate. The hike was fine, but terribly muddy. The waterfall was great as was the meal.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Jane M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour was very good. Saw many parts of the island that we probably would not have visited. Our driver. Juan, was great! We were a small group, only 11, which was nice. It was just a couple of hours too long. I would skip the cruise and fern grotto and call it a day.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Oliver B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Kayak down a beautiful river with a nice cool dip at Kauai's secret waterfall over packed lunch. The paddle home was pretty strenuous for us against the current and wind, but everybody made it safely.

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Leslie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Cole our guide was outstanding! Very knowledgeable in all things Kauai, born and raised Kauai. Explained plants and uses when hiking. Always made sure we were safe Kyaking. The trip is not for those unfit. I must admit I did find some unknown musles. Would not have missed this experience.
If you are up for some fun exercise this is it!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Dennis S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our kayak/hike tour guide, Michelle, was top notch. She kept us comfortable, informed us of what was around us, and had enough humor to keep us occupied and going. I would highly recommend this tour given Michelle as the guide. We were a party of 8 with 6 of us older than dirt.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Mike W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely one of the most beautiful places on earth. Our pilot was very professional, but also very knowledgeable. He filled us with a great deal of facts and interesting tidbits about the area. And the Sights !!!!!! Oh my gosh. Incredible scenery.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Tim B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour of much of Kauai. Mark is an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of best things we did as a family in Kauai. Michelle was our guide, and she was awesome! She was super friendly and knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the island. Our girls, ages 6 and 10, loved talking to her as we hiked. The river, the hike, and especially the falls, were breathtaking and beautiful. This was such a fantastic experience, getting off the beaten path and experiencing Kauai's wild nature and beauty. I recommend this to anyone, any age, who wants to have a true experience with the nature of Kauai. Awesome trip, so worth it!!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Juan was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Joe A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Breathtaking! Elvis was great, we traveled as a family...kids still saying, well...Elvis said....

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Ryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was super fun! Our guide, Cole, was great. He was super nice and funny. He had a lot of interesting information to share with us and was very knowledgeable about the area. We had a great time on the both the river and the hike.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Triss USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

What we saw was nice, but I had expected more for the Garden Isle. It was a little disappointing after a beautiful, 5-star trip along the Road to Hana in Maui a couple of days earlier. However, kudos to the driver who safely managed to bring the bus to a gentle stop on the roadside after a rear tire blowout.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

mfuss1 United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

It was ok. The driver was fine but the canyon consisted of a grand total of 30 minutes at one overlook, that's it. We did the Sunshine helicopter the day before and you can see so much more that way.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The scenery was fantastic, a don't miss tour. Our guide, Vinnie, was very informative about the history and gave us insite into what we were looking at. Take this tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

George S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great trip, except for the extremely slow service, quality of food, and ambiance flies attacking the food at the lunch stop

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message