Kauai’s Wailua River runs from the volcanic Wailua crater to the coast, flowing through the Wailua River State Park. It’s Hawaii’s only navigable river, so make the most of the experience with a boat tour or cruise into the island’s rugged ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 150 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very pretty Canyon but other sights were repetitive Tour booking agent needs to advise before tickets are purchased

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very repetitive took us to the same spots as the North east Tour Need to Know exactly what and where you will go before booking

Doing what: Private Tour: Kauai Sightseeing Adventure with Picnic Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I wish that this tour had gone further into the canyon than just the first lookout but you still gets some amazing views. The fern grotto boat tour had lovely entertainment.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was an outstanding trip. A perfect way to see Kauai. We will go back to Kauai and stay longer next time. The Island was beautiful! I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Wamea canyon was beautiful, but spending all day on the car was too much.
If the driver tried less hard to entertain the travelers, it could be better.
We needed more time to enjoy the beautiful scenery, maybe listening to calming music,
Hawaiian music is calming to me. Some of the driver's stories were informational, but
listening to him all day was tiring. By the 2nd driver picked us to save time to drop us off to
different hotels we were tired, and she had high pitch voice, and kept talking all about the
local information we already know. I wouldn't take this trip again.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overall the Canyon portion was excellent. Juan out tour guide did a wonderful job. Our only problem was that the 5 Italians on the trip talked the entire time as Juan was talking. He had to request one be quiet it got so bad. The Wailua River portion was less than impressive. I thought the 15 minutes on the river was good but this portion was just a filler of time to us. Would recommend the canyon, not the float. Day is very long also. In fact, too long.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Driver (Keoni) was excellent, funny and full of interesting history and personal stories to go with the history. Took us to a couple of stops not normally on the tour which were very interesting. A little strange that we stopped at a golf course for lunch. Wailua River and Fern Grotto Cruise part of the trip was a total waste of time. Grotto is no longer open - you trek in and stare at the grotto from a good distance while a cheesy Hawaiian music group sings. At the same time, you are eaten alive by mosquitoes. Just OK.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The Kauai Day Trip was a nice way to escape the crowds of tourists in Oahu although I found that their was not much to see on the island. The day was very drawn out with quite a few monotonous stops throughout the beginning of the day. The Wailua River was beautiful but I don't think the tour is good value for money considering the affordability of flights between each island as well as car rental. My tour guide Lisa was amazing, very knowledgeable and hilarious - she kept the bus entertained for 8 hours straight.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

I would NOT recommend this trip! It was "sold" as an "easy walk" to the falls.... NOT!!! The "guide" was practically non-existent.... Our Kayak was last, and if it wasn't for a nice father/daughter combo, we would have not have known where to go. Our guide was way up front, not concerned with those behind. The same thing on the "hike".... there were times when the "group" was way upfront and out of sight. The terrain was muddy, slippery, and dangerous. We were supposed to have walking sticks, which would have helped, but we didn't. When we finally reached the waterfall, we were there less than 30 minutes. We were told to go ahead and swim for 10 minutes while the guide got lunch ready. Even before some people were finished eating, he had his backpack already on his back! We weren't able to go back into the water, but had to keep going! This is a 1 out of 10!!!!! Very disappointing!!!!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was excellent for the first day in Hawaii. The bus was small so there was a lot of interaction among the guide as well as with other passengers. We saw waterfalls, canyons, pretty beaches, plantations, and places to shop. We had a boat ride to the fern grotto with a bit of hula dancing and singing entertainment. We knew then what we wanted to go back to on our own and had ideas on what we can do the rest of the week. We had an excellent lunch as well. One of the things that made our tour fantastic was our driver/guide - Mario. He was knowledgeable, great at getting us to communicate, and lots of fun. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An excellent day out which would have been even better if we had not had to wait over 2 hours each way for our flights. To be dropped at the airport at 5pm for a 7.26pm flight was such a waste of time. The tour guide was excellent and our group size (9 people) made it very personal. Not sure how good it would have been with a very large tour group. All in all a good day.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I would have given it a 5, but our guided tour ended up being well not so guided. All in good reason though, someone got hurt and he had to stay behind. We just felt a little lost but found our way. The trail was EXTREMELY muddy! Overall it was fun and beautiful! The waterfall at the end was worth it:)

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Lisa was very knowledgeable and funny! The canyon views shouldn't be missed. We kept saying 'wow' everywhere we looked.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We got a late start due to a sick driver, but once we got going, the tour was very good. Not only did we get to see the canyon and river, as promised, but the driver was full of interesting information about Kauai and its animal and plant life.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message