Kauai’s Wailua River runs from the volcanic Wailua crater to the coast, flowing through the Wailua River State Park. It’s Hawaii’s only navigable river, so make the most of the experience with a boat tour or cruise into the island’s rugged ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Had a great time would recommend morning tour afternoon winds made it hard for my wife to paddle back with our young son! Tour Guide Lucas was great with our children who were 7 and 9. He made their trip with all the extra time he spent with them!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Had a great time would recommend morning tour afternoon winds made it hard for my wife to paddle back with our young son! Tour Guide Lucas was great with our children who were 7 and 9. He made their trip with all the extra time he spent with them!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Had a great time would recommend morning tour afternoon winds made it hard for my wife to paddle back with our young son! Tour Guide Lucas was great with our children who were 7 and 9. He made their trip with all the extra time he spent with them!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Had a great time would recommend morning tour afternoon winds made it hard for my wife to paddle back with our young son! Tour Guide Lucas was great with our children who were 7 and 9. He made their trip with all the extra time he spent with them!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great tour of the island for the first time visitor. Knowledgeable and friendly tour guides make the tour very enjoyable. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The trip to the Canyon is definately worth doing and our driver/guide Juan was excellent. Unfortunately, the trip for me was not enjoyable for a few reasons. You are on a large coach and I prefer to travel in smaller mini coaches, so just be aware of that. There were a few stops along the way that we could have done without, including the blow hole, as there wasn't much to see and the stop to the souvenir shop. Would have preferred more time at the Canyon itself and at the Kauai Coffee farm. The tour itself is a long 9 hour day, so be ready for that. A half day tour of the canyon and coffee farm would be enough. I was lucky to be near my hotel at the lunch stop, so I didn't do the river cruise, and chose to conclude my tour early.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this tour. Great scenery and good guide.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed our tour! Our driver and tour guide, Vinnie, was great. He added a very personal flavor to the trip, with stories that illustrated the history of the island, the impacts of the sugar industry, environmental and cultural challenges on the island, etc. Thanks again, Vinnie!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great time on this tour. We met other people from various cities. The stops we made were special and scenic. We would recommend this tour for anyone wanting a relaxing day.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was my favorite excursion of all. The gentle 2 mile kayak followed by a little over a mile hike led to the beautiful falls. At one point all the other groups left and our small group had the falls all to ourselves for about 15 minutes.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour was very intresting and educational. Bus driver was very nice and funny, told us many intresting stories about Kauai. We will recomend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A very good tour, the Waimea canyon was spectactular, the river cruise interesting and the drivers commentary extremly good. Only complaint possible was the length of the day, 5 AM pick up in Oahu and returned approx 7:00 PM that evening. Probably will not book and similar tours expoloring other islands from the one we're staying on.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

the tour was worth the money. if it is your first time to Kauai I would suggest this tour to get familiar with Kauai.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was awesome. Our tour guide, Jonna was wonderful. She had lots of facts and stories and it really made the tour enjoyable. The road to Waimea Canyon is very winding, so it was nice to have a competent driver at the wheel. The canyon is truly beautiful. With all of the stops on this tour we got to see a lot of the island, without the hassle of driving. The boat ride up the Wailua river to the fern grotto was fun. They had fun entertainment on the boat on the way back. Would highly recommend this tour and the pricing was great.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour was awesome. Our guide was very good with telling us about the area's flora and wildlife. I highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message