Kauai ATTRACTIONS See all

Wailua River

Kauai’s Wailua River runs from the volcanic Wailua crater to the coast, flowing through the Wailua River State Park. It’s Hawaii’s only navigable river, so make the most of the experience with a boat tour or cruise into the island’s rugged ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 195 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leslie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Cole our guide was outstanding! Very knowledgeable in all things Kauai, born and raised Kauai. Explained plants and uses when hiking. Always made sure we were safe Kyaking. The trip is not for those unfit. I must admit I did find some unknown musles. Would not have missed this experience.
If you are up for some fun exercise this is it!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Mike W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely one of the most beautiful places on earth. Our pilot was very professional, but also very knowledgeable. He filled us with a great deal of facts and interesting tidbits about the area. And the Sights !!!!!! Oh my gosh. Incredible scenery.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Tim B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour of much of Kauai. Mark is an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of best things we did as a family in Kauai. Michelle was our guide, and she was awesome! She was super friendly and knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the island. Our girls, ages 6 and 10, loved talking to her as we hiked. The river, the hike, and especially the falls, were breathtaking and beautiful. This was such a fantastic experience, getting off the beaten path and experiencing Kauai's wild nature and beauty. I recommend this to anyone, any age, who wants to have a true experience with the nature of Kauai. Awesome trip, so worth it!!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Juan was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Joe A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Breathtaking! Elvis was great, we traveled as a family...kids still saying, well...Elvis said....

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Ryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was super fun! Our guide, Cole, was great. He was super nice and funny. He had a lot of interesting information to share with us and was very knowledgeable about the area. We had a great time on the both the river and the hike.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Triss USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

What we saw was nice, but I had expected more for the Garden Isle. It was a little disappointing after a beautiful, 5-star trip along the Road to Hana in Maui a couple of days earlier. However, kudos to the driver who safely managed to bring the bus to a gentle stop on the roadside after a rear tire blowout.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

mfuss1 United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

It was ok. The driver was fine but the canyon consisted of a grand total of 30 minutes at one overlook, that's it. We did the Sunshine helicopter the day before and you can see so much more that way.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The scenery was fantastic, a don't miss tour. Our guide, Vinnie, was very informative about the history and gave us insite into what we were looking at. Take this tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

George S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great trip, except for the extremely slow service, quality of food, and ambiance flies attacking the food at the lunch stop

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was more than expected, great views, good information, and just good fun.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Christine W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great to let someone else do the driving so all I had to do was look t he sights. A beautiful tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Juan, our guide, was worth the entire cost of the tour. We enjoyed his knowledge and wonderful attitude. Taking this tour early in our Kauai stay helped us to plan our independent activities.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Coco

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

The tour itself was the high light of the trip....... However, VIATOR charged 88. each for the excursion and EVERYONE else in Kauai charged 39.99 each. Shame on you for bilking the public! That is the very last ANYTHING I get from VIATOR!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Raymond M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour. If we had known about the helicopter tour and had enough time we would have done it too. The guide was very good and informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Mary c

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Yes the bus tour with Sam was very good however the Wailua River ride and fern grotto not so much.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Edward G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour well worth the travel. Excellent way to see Kauai. The Island was beautiful! I highly recommend the tour. Our tour guide Vinnie was fantastic and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

l.sonsiadek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Even though we had a bus breakdown our tour was filled with interesting info about the island and the sites we were taken to. Thanks Jonna

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip very informative. Driver Lisa was great. Always talking and joking. Kept the group very lively. Rate trip 5 Stars and Driver 10. Thanks

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Stefanie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Terrific trip!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Allyson H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Can not recommend this tour enough!! It is the best I and #39;ve been on, we had Lisa as our guide and she is such a hoot! You see most of the island on this tour! I recommend this to everyone

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Cathy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bus driver was hilarious and brought us all together. Wondered if we really had to be at the airport 2 hours ahead of time for a 7:30 a.m. flight.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Harmony Z

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was fun and our guide was awesome.......fun group although when we got to the waterfall it was a little crowded due to other tour groups being there. If you have never kayaked before this is a good start.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Ines U

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I think this tour is only suitable for people who, for some reason, cant walk very well. Most of the day you will spend in a bus. Theyll stop at some nice spots so you can take your pictures, and 10 to 15 minutes later youre on the bus again, driving to the next photo opp. It wasnt really my kind of tour.We got a total of 30 minutes at the Waimea Canyon. Now for only staying on the platform and snapping some pictures that might have been enough, but I would have loved to get the chance to explore the surroundings a bit.
What I dont recommend however is the Wailua River tour. That was just bad. You get stuffed on a boat with probably 50-60 people, and there were still open seats so it can well be more, they tell you it will be a 20 minute boat ride but it was shorter. The captain also did the audio commentary but his mumbling was so bad that I had difficulty understanding it. Grotto everyone pushed to be the first to get there. But the Fern Grotto is closed, you cant go inside anymore. All you can do is stand on a little platform in front of it, hope no one pushes in front of you so you can see and stand there for about another 20 minutes while the crew sings the old Polynesian wedding song.
The guys did do a great job, they had great singers and a nice dancer but frankly there are too many people there to enjoy it and its too rushed. After the dance the running and pushing starts again to get to the boat. This time the singers come along and while you drive back they sing and dance for you. All in all it only took a little over an hour, you didnt really see much on the landscape because of the way the boat is built and because you are almost herded to the Fern Grotto and back in such a rush. My recommendation: rent a Kajak and paddle on the river. Thats in your own time and you get to see so much more without being hurried along. This boat ride was just a mass-tourist attraction that probably departs hourly. Quantity before quality. Very sad.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message