Kauai's most famous destination is rugged Waimea Canyon, a wild and wonderful river gorge that’s known as the Grand Canyon of the Pacific. Spectacular views and favored hiking trails are the canyon's main drawcards, with plenty of scenic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 180 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was AWESOME!! Our guides were fun, energetic, knowledgable, engaging and witty...we laughed the entire time. My boyfriend and I made some life long friends as well...

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The driver/narrator was quite knowledgeable, courteous, mannerly, and helpful to everyone!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lukia was a great tour bus driver to Waimea Canyon. What I liked about how she ran the tour, we didn't just go to see Waimea Canyon and come back. She took us to a lot of the local destinations along the way, like Spouting Horn, Kauai Coffee Plantation, and others. She was humorous and helpful. The canyon was breathtaking once we arrived, even on a slightly cloudy day. it looks like something straight out of movie for sure! An enjoyable day for sure on this tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable. He went out of his way to make is a great day. He showed us some wild fruit that most other people would not have had the chance to sample. He steered us away from bad deals. We confirmed that later in our trip.

We strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Kauai Tour Including Waimea Canyon, Poipu and Koloa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband and I truly enjoyed the experience, It was amazing to see the island from above ground!! The captain made it personal and fun. Will recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This tour will give you a good overview of the Island. Waimea Canyon is a must to see. The ride on Wailua River is interesting with visit to Fern Grotto. Lisa our driver's/guide was very good.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Got great pictures and the tour guide was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and humorous. His expertise made the day.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the flight. The pilot Josh was very informative and pleasant. My only recommendation would be to tell people if they get motion sickness to take something ahead of time. I sat in the back and I was ok but the person in front of me wasn't

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great at to spend the early morning. Beautiful sights, Blake and Dan were awesome guides. Very personable. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is definitely worth taking. I highly recommend it for new visitors and returning ohana family alike. Our tour guide, Juan, led us through an amazinng story-book tour on July 7, 2015 on the history, culture and people of the island of Kaua'i. We were picked up at our hotel by Juan on an air-conditioned bus. Besides the 4 of us in our group, the only other people on this tour was a newly-wed couple from Italy. Juan personalized his narration and answered any questions we had as we were expertly escorted to each stop. We did not feel rushed or hurried at any time during our tour. If you truly want to experience the spirit of 'Aloha' from the island, take this tour and you'll be amazed at what you learn and take back with you.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The microphone was not working well at all. it kept on fading in and out. So the tour guide did not try to give much of the background of where we visited. It was a waste of money.
We also had people who were late and we lost almost an hour.
By 2:30pm we had not even started the Wailua River ride.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Didn't go, but had to pay.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a wonderful tour. Our tour guide was a native Hawaiian who really knew her stuff! Lots of great stories and information along the way, and we even had enough time to make an extra stop to see a coffee plantation. The canyon is absolutely beautiful - not to be missed! And the river cruise was great too.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beth and I enjoyed the flight immensely. It was a great way to see the island and Josh was a great pilot. I recommend you buy the video afterwards. We downloaded it and have been sharing it with our family back at home. It's well made and exceeded our expectations. Aloha!

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour! Juan the tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this Jurassic World scenic tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was good, the canyon was not very clear on the morning we went, but that's not the tour fault, it gets cold up there so take a jacket. Felt a little rushed but not too bad. Not sure it was worth the money if you have a car you can do it a lot cheaper. But overall it was ok

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon Experience

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

They gave me the wrong start time and then almost left without me so I had to chase them down the street... only to be yelled at in front of the entire bus for being late even though I came out earlier than the time they gave me. The driver had a bit of an attitude about it. The tour itself was ok but not worth the price. This trip was the low point of my trip.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon Experience

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

We felt like we lost a day in paradise. The tour spends about two hours there and back to spend 20 minutes at the first overlook for Waimea canyon... when I read the tour details, I thought that this was going to be a considerably more extensive coverage of Waimea than other tours. It was not, as the parking lot was full of busses from the other tour companies. The tour spent far too much time at local tourist tchotchke shops... made me feel like too many deals had been made with the tour company. Lunch price not included was at a golf course café?!?! What about a local food spot? Give us something we can't get back home. Smith's Wailua River cruise included also feels hardly worth it. The boat stops at Fern Grotto, which due to a history of reduced attractiveness can't go in cave anymore, the ferns all but died in Hurricane Iniki, someone needs to divert the water back for the falls was worth maybe 15 minutes of my day, not 2 hours including the wait in line in the jungle for the earlier tour to finish up. We felt exhausted and disappointed when the day was over. Our guide was very good, but the tour management needs to provide better value. Would not recommend unless you simply can't rent a car and drive yourself around.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The only day I had available because I am here for work completely to myself was used for this tour. I must say I am terribly disappointed because of the amount of time spent at some of the places and the time utilization. There are so many things that could've been done to improve this tour. It started off with Waimea Canyon and we hardly stopped for 15 minutes, more time was spent at lame coffee shops. The sprouting horn was another so-so attraction. The Wailua river another disappointment followed by one of the waterfalls that hardly had any water. To add to all the frustration, our tires blew and lost an hour plus there. No compensation, no sorry nothing was received to any of us in the tour. If you are the kind of person who would want to explore only 5-10 minutes between 4-5 stops just for the sake of clicking some pictures, then you MAY like this tour. Everyone else, please stay away. I'd rather pick up a MAP of Kauai and just explore it for the entire day and would still have been able to cover more places than they did in 7 hours or so.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very beautiful sights! Driver was very nice and informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Super friendly...very professional....couldn't have asked for better.

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

They took us to an outlook, and the view is breathtaking. Then we started biking. The guys were really friendly and showed us all the sights and told us about plants and Hawaiian legends. The ride down was fun and not difficult at all. I liked the bikes too. They were comfortable and appropriate for this ride.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

David B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Well worth doing the trip for the canyon views. Anything else is a bonus.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message