Kauai's most famous destination is rugged Waimea Canyon, a wild and wonderful river gorge that’s known as the Grand Canyon of the Pacific. Spectacular views and favored hiking trails are the canyon's main drawcards, with plenty of scenic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 168 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a wonderful tour. Our tour guide was a native Hawaiian who really knew her stuff! Lots of great stories and information along the way, and we even had enough time to make an extra stop to see a coffee plantation. The canyon is absolutely beautiful - not to be missed! And the river cruise was great too.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beth and I enjoyed the flight immensely. It was a great way to see the island and Josh was a great pilot. I recommend you buy the video afterwards. We downloaded it and have been sharing it with our family back at home. It's well made and exceeded our expectations. Aloha!

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour! Juan the tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this Jurassic World scenic tour.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was good, the canyon was not very clear on the morning we went, but that's not the tour fault, it gets cold up there so take a jacket. Felt a little rushed but not too bad. Not sure it was worth the money if you have a car you can do it a lot cheaper. But overall it was ok

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon Experience

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

They gave me the wrong start time and then almost left without me so I had to chase them down the street... only to be yelled at in front of the entire bus for being late even though I came out earlier than the time they gave me. The driver had a bit of an attitude about it. The tour itself was ok but not worth the price. This trip was the low point of my trip.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon Experience

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

We felt like we lost a day in paradise. The tour spends about two hours there and back to spend 20 minutes at the first overlook for Waimea canyon... when I read the tour details, I thought that this was going to be a considerably more extensive coverage of Waimea than other tours. It was not, as the parking lot was full of busses from the other tour companies. The tour spent far too much time at local tourist tchotchke shops... made me feel like too many deals had been made with the tour company. Lunch price not included was at a golf course café?!?! What about a local food spot? Give us something we can't get back home. Smith's Wailua River cruise included also feels hardly worth it. The boat stops at Fern Grotto, which due to a history of reduced attractiveness can't go in cave anymore, the ferns all but died in Hurricane Iniki, someone needs to divert the water back for the falls was worth maybe 15 minutes of my day, not 2 hours including the wait in line in the jungle for the earlier tour to finish up. We felt exhausted and disappointed when the day was over. Our guide was very good, but the tour management needs to provide better value. Would not recommend unless you simply can't rent a car and drive yourself around.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The only day I had available because I am here for work completely to myself was used for this tour. I must say I am terribly disappointed because of the amount of time spent at some of the places and the time utilization. There are so many things that could've been done to improve this tour. It started off with Waimea Canyon and we hardly stopped for 15 minutes, more time was spent at lame coffee shops. The sprouting horn was another so-so attraction. The Wailua river another disappointment followed by one of the waterfalls that hardly had any water. To add to all the frustration, our tires blew and lost an hour plus there. No compensation, no sorry nothing was received to any of us in the tour. If you are the kind of person who would want to explore only 5-10 minutes between 4-5 stops just for the sake of clicking some pictures, then you MAY like this tour. Everyone else, please stay away. I'd rather pick up a MAP of Kauai and just explore it for the entire day and would still have been able to cover more places than they did in 7 hours or so.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very beautiful sights! Driver was very nice and informative.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Super friendly...very professional....couldn't have asked for better.

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

They took us to an outlook, and the view is breathtaking. Then we started biking. The guys were really friendly and showed us all the sights and told us about plants and Hawaiian legends. The ride down was fun and not difficult at all. I liked the bikes too. They were comfortable and appropriate for this ride.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

David B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Well worth doing the trip for the canyon views. Anything else is a bonus.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We had an amazing experience! This trip to Hawaii was our first experience, so we were expecting a lot and we got it. The Waimea Canyon was beautiful and serene! The Wailua River was very peaceful, yet breathtaking. This trip provided so much more. I guess you will need to go in order to experience beautiful Kauai!!!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

So glad I went on this tour. I discovered the beauty of Kauai, the Canyon was wonderful! Our tour guide was really nice

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The bus tour was great - we had a very knowledgeable and interesting driver -I enjoyed everything The river cruise was a bit disappointing. I thought we would see some wildlife, birds, or something however, there were water skiers and lots of kayaking and traffic on the river. The Fern Grotto was interesting, but maybe I was just expecting something different.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Juan was our driver and he was great. Very knowledgable and we learned a lot about Kaua'i on the trip. Would recommend it to anyone traveling to Kaua'i

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A great tour of the island, super nice family business. We all had a wonderfully memorable trip.thanks Bruce.

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I was very thankful for Viator's response ( a full refund of my portion ) to my unexpected backing out from the bicycle trip; I panicked and couldn't go through with the downhill bike ride. The staff at Outfitters Kauai were super also; they didn't make me feel embarrassed, etc. Thanks, Viator, for your good will with my refund. I'll definitely recommend you to friends and will use you again in the future!

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent and friendly staff.... great service... much better than we expected.... the sights were truly amazing. !!!!!!

Doing what: Kauai Deluxe Sightseeing Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The weather was perfect. I am sure that makes a big difference on the tour. Lisa was a great tour guide. What we liked the best is being picked up at our hotel. It is so nice that you don't have to drive somewhere that you are unfamiliar with and worry about arriving on time and standing in line and trying to find parking. We saw whales, turtles, dolphins, the wonderful canyon, and the ride down the river. Great day.

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message