Ketchikan ATTRACTIONS See all

Ketchikan Cruise Port

If you’re sailing north by cruise ship, Ketchikan Cruise Port will be your first port of call on the Alaska Marine Highway. The former salmon fishery town offers visitors a real taste of Alaska’s frontier personality. Cruise boats dock right on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gabriela h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved this tour, the crew is so nice and have the best stories of fishing on the Bering sea. I could have stayed longer just listening to them. We were able to see bald eagles feeding tons of them and a nest. But the best part was to see what the crew catch abd letting us hold crabs and other sealife. One octopus that they capture spat water on a crew member and passenger. He was mad of being held captive!

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour

Suzanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing......this is a must do trip...it was very organised...we checked in just outside the cruise ship terminal,went on a short coach journey ,watched a safety video,then hopped on our float plane.The 20 minute ride was lovely and smooth,although sick bags are provided.
Then onto George inlet lodge for the crab feast,what can I say it was delicious.
And this same trip was available on our cruise ship for a much higher price.no complaints would love to do again.thank you aviator.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Floatplane Tour and Crab Feast

clerid61245

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip. Loved seeing the Eagles flying in so close to the ship. That was the highlight. No halibut on the line they checked, that was a bummer. Enjoyed the prawns basket and the lobster basket demonstrations. The lobster basket was rock and snow lobster. We were allowed to hold lobsters and prawns. Beautiful day.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour

Mhairi-Anne M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a relatively short tour to do, so leaves time to do other things in Ketchikan. I really liked Ketchikan so this worked out great for us. You meet up as a very small group with a ranger with this trip. There were a couple of really big groups there so we were lucky with the size of our tour. It gives you more opportunity to ask questions and hear everything being said. The rangers are very enthusiastic and it rubs off. It's surprising the little facts you find yourself reciting over meals for the next few days after this trip.

During June/July you should be able to see bears too. The salmon swim through the river which goes through this forest. We arrived in May just as they were coming out of hibernation. A group behind us did see a bear, but we were unlucky. We saw plenty of Bald Eagles though.

At the end of the tour we got to meet the Totem pole Craftsman, Wayne. He was so patient, both him and his wife, as we all had so many questions. He was showing us some of the tools he uses and explains how he gets his ideas and makes his totem poles.

Ketchikan has quite a lot in it we wanted to see and do, so this tour worked out perfectly for us and the rainforest walk was on paths/boadwalks, so would suit most people.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour

chris

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Bit of a mix up about where we would be met by the driver. Once we got picked up the tour was good fun and the team could not do enough to ensure we had a great day.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Off-Road Adventure Tour

Alun W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Experienced, nice people running the tour I thoroughly enjoyed the experience

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour

Joy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great rainforest tour, informative,

Nature, bears, dead salmon and Eagles.

Loved getting to hear the natives speak about totem they were carving.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guides were fun, friendly and patient. This was the best part of our trip!

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Rainforest Zipline Adventure

Carol D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was fantastic!! Our guides, Randy and Krista were the bomb!! We lucked out because there were only 4 of us that day, not including the 2 guides. They were both thorough and accommodating and I would recommend this excursion to everyone!!! Thanks for making my first Zip....so wonderful!!!

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Rainforest Zipline Adventure

Elsa C M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a great experience, the pilot was very professional and the view from the high was incredible!

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Misty Fjords National Monument Floatplane Tour

Philip K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Top tour of all of the 8 tours we took through out Alaska.

These guys are funny, and tell great past stories.

Do not miss.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour

Bruce K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Guide was excellent- had a great fund of knowledge. Great way to view the rain forest. Saw black bears catching salmon, a highlight of our cruise. I wholeheartedly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour

Katherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Jack was a great guide, it was a fun experience

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Zodiac Wildlife Adventure

cherylmiller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very well done and very informative. The staff was really engaging and informative

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour

Judy X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide is very informative, we've know a lot about the forest.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My wife and I had a blast. Jeff and Kate were fantastic guides and ensured we had heaps of fun and plenty of laughs. If you have your own GoPro they will attach it to your helmet fo you - a must! We reommend this activity to anyone.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Rainforest Canopy Ropes and Zipline Park

Ken R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

One of the best excursions on our trip. Great views of eagles up close. The deckhands were very personable with interesting stories. We had a fun time.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour

MARK H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very fun with a great crew of folks from the two bus drivers and the two driving escorts.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Off-Road Adventure Tour

Lowell K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Fun trip! Crabs and Eagles right on Que!

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour

David D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Should have been cancelled. Weather was terrible.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Off-Road Jeep and Canoe Safari

Nancy A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

Do not take this trip if it is raining. I was so scared. If it is a nice day it would have been nice but with winds blowing, high seas and pelting rain it was miserable.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Zodiac Boat Wilderness Adventure

George

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this shore excursion. The tour guide was very prompt, professional and always guided us through the excursion. Got to drive the jeep and it was blast. Then when in the canoe, got to see the beautiful scenery Ketchikan has to offer and had the opportunity to enjoy the stories and facts of Alaska then had the chance to taste the chowder and salmon, which was awesome.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Off-Road Jeep and Canoe Safari

Angel M Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

a very nice tour with a quite humorous guide. You definitely get tired of the amount of Eagles you're able to see and the various explanations given by the guide give you am superb perspective of Ketchikan's nature and wildlife

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Lighthouses, Totems and Eagles Cruise

Jay M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The bus drivers and tour guides on our trip were very knowledgable and entertaining. We did the canoe portion of the tour first and Harriet Hunt Lake was absolutely stunning. The snack and very informative nature walk were an unexpected bonus. The jeep portion was fun, especially the off-road section, and the view from the top of the road was worth the drive. My only suggestion would be to make the off-road oration longer.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Off-Road Jeep and Canoe Safari

Ken F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour gave us a real feel for the area around Keychikan and for the Alaska/Canada wilderness. The whole flight was aweinspiring. If in on a cruise in the area it is worth booking with Viator as they were cheaper than our cruise line and used the same local provider.

Doing what: Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Misty Fjords National Monument Floatplane Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message