The first port of call on the fabled Alaska Marine Highway, frontier Ketchikan is a fishing and timber town with a rich Native Alaskan heritage. Get the lowdown on totems and wildlife, and learn about the town’s rip roaring days of a century ago ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

leticia.pando

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was fun and interesting, though it was cut short.

Doing what: Ketchikan Rainforest Canoe and Nature Walk

mjowilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very informative and entertaining tour. The staff on board were friendly and made sure we all had a great time. The surprise was the number of Bald Eagles we saw. The crabs and other sea life were very interesting as well. You could actually touch and hold a crab. The boat is very comfortable and no worries of rough seas.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Brooks K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great time. Easy walk and very informative. We even saw a bear.

Doing what: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour and Wildlife Encounter

f.combs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful guided flight tour of Misty Fjords. We loved it!

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Steven R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a very interesting and fun experience.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Rosemarie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Billie was a great guide. We got to explore beautiful Alaska. Stopped along the way to see 2 whales, many eagles, and seals. Lovely adventure. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Zodiac Wilderness Adventure from Ketchikan

Dr_R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Because of high winds, we were offered to fly high or to cancel. I elected to take the high trip so I acknowledge that the company gave me the option to cancel. I give them two stars for taking safety as the first priority. Warning to other travelers... flying at 6,000 feet over Alaska is just plain boring. I wish I had been given better information about what I was giving up, but still paying for. This was the worse of our three Viator excursions and much more expensive. Wish they had warned us about how much we would give up by taking the high trip. Don't do this if the weather keeps them from flying at the level of the cliffs and land on the water. The company's taped commentary was poor quality. This airline should stick to flying packages or else invest in people skills for passengers. A major disappointment.

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

vsamuel7608

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was absolutley wonderful, our guide Summer was amazing, we saw bears, eagles, otters, heron, banana slugs and so much more. There was a totem pole being worked on while we were there which was great to see and talk with the craftsman. Would definately repeat this tour - I love nature and all it has to offer.

Doing what: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour and Wildlife Encounter

Lex B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

great tour. The flight was awesome. Landing on the Fjord was great.

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Ohiofreebird United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This tour was exciting and challenging. I was very fearful of falling off of the platforms, and the rain increased me fear. However, our guides were kind and truly helpful. We hoped to see bears, but we didnt see any. Other people from our ship did see bears in this area, so they are present here.

Doing what: Ketchikan Zipline Adventure

BOB W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent experience. Fun and informative.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Bonnie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely wonderful!! The plane ride was breathtaking! The crab feast was delicious and all you can eat!! Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Ketchikan Floatplane Ride and Crab Feast

Sherry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great time. The guides were awesome. Melissa and Corbin were fantastic. I don't like heights but did it with my husband because he wanted to go. They took their time when I was unsure and didn't feel quite ready yet. The scenery was great. We saw some black bears eating the salmon as they were spawning up the stream. Had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Ketchikan Zipline Adventure

Del M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Flight was good ....pilot was good.....
Disappointed we didn't do the glacier.......landed n a lake

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Xam Teo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

We enjoyed the floatplane. The serving of the crab is a bit slow. Good to be given more time to eat if service is slow.

Doing what: Ketchikan Floatplane Ride and Crab Feast

sheehanma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My heart was in my throat for each ride but I might try it again for the thrill. Another check off my bucket list.

Doing what: Ketchikan Zipline Adventure

foster_dr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

awesome!!!! very nice pilot. smooth landings. a must do!!!!!

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Traci G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Sam the pilot is a man of few words,but nice trip beautiful day. The lodge was pretty. The crab kept coming and it was superb. Nice staff def highly recommend

Doing what: Ketchikan Floatplane Ride and Crab Feast

Jenifer D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Disappointing. We saw a couple of eagles up in the trees, touched a king crab and held a snow crab. Lasted 2 1/2 hours, not worth the price!!

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

David B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

We didn't see a whole lot of wildlife and that which we did see was rather far away not good for photographing. Our tour guide was friendly though.

Doing what: Small-Group Zodiac Wilderness Adventure from Ketchikan

Juan A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Everything was OK on the first half of the trip but after we took off after landing in the fjord the seaplane engine died in flight so we needed to emergency water land reason being, the pilot forgot to check if the plane had enough gas. We were lucky to be flying low and over water, otherwise I don't know what would be the outcome. I know this is a one off occurrence but still it could've been our last.

Doing what: Misty Fjords Seaplane Tour from Ketchikan

Marilyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a really great excursion. We were collected from the meeting place and taken out to the Sanctuary, where we ended up with our own personal guide! He was extremely knowledgeable and observant and greatly added to the experience. We saw 3 bears wonderful!, countless bald eagles and all sorts of wildlife. My grievance about Viator trips is that the onus is on you, the customer, to contact the local company actually doing the trip to confirm that you will be going. If you only have a bog-standard mobile which does not work in the country where you are and you happen to be out in the back of beyond in Alsaka, it is EXTREMELY difficult and stressful to do this. Had I not been shown kindness by a member of staff at the first point of call, I would not have been able to confirm. There was only an answerphone available so I had to wait until I got to Juneau, where another holiday maker leant me his mobile. If you pay a lot of money, you should not have to confirm your ownarrangements!!

Doing what: Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour and Wildlife Encounter

johnnysmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of the best excursions we took on our weeklong Alaskan cruise. We saw a LOT of eagles, seals and even an up close encounter with a humpback whale. Tour guide was awesome. Extremely knowledgeable and funny. Highly recommended!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Zodiac Wilderness Adventure from Ketchikan

Heather T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved it. The guys were entertaining and informative. We also got a kick out of the hands-on part where we got to touch some different sea critters and take pictures. It was a really fun time.

Doing what: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour from Ketchikan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message