Insider's Guide to Killarney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Everyone wants the gift of eloquence, and some say the Irish have it, well, the gift of the gab anyway. So, how are they so blessed? It's all down to the Blarney Stone. For over two centuries people have been coming to Blarney Castle in the south ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 182 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was wonderful and the tour guides were very informative and helpful. They all had wonderful sense of humours. We loved visiting your beautiful Ireland.

Doing what: 2-Day Cork, Blarney Castle and Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our 3 days via rail and bus were great. We felt our time was well used, the sights all worth exploring and our guide, Jonathan Beaumont, was VERY knowledgeable and accommodating. He managed the group well and made sure we had maximum time at the sites we visited. His information and historical perspective made the trip more educational and added to the overall experience. No complaints, just accolades and thumbs up.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I highly recommend this trip, we saw so much in the 3 days, there was plenty of time to see the sights.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

tour was very informative with beautiful scenic routes. the Acara B and B in Kilarney was very nice with wonderful breakfast. The Imperial hotel was nice but bed was too firm, it was located in the heart of Galway. But make sure you have everything when you leave because you won't see it again.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great stuff and everything was done brilliantly well by the tour organisers. Starting with the Tour guides (Mr Norman for 3 days and Ray Furlong for 1 day) who shared great tid-bits of information, the bus ride, the photo-stops, the scenery itself and of course the pubs and inns where good food was always available (though a little bit restricted in terms of choice for strict vegetarians). The routes chosen were stunning leaving us panting for more...wishing that this tour never ended !!

Doing what: 4-Day Cork, Ring of Kerry, Dingle, Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay Rail Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I had a great time and loved our trip. It was too short and I definitely need to come back and spend more time a each location. The only issue I had was that the day before the trip they calle and asked me if I was traveling with another guest because they did not have a room for me in Killarney. It all worked out but I didn't find out until about 2 hours before if I was going to have to sleep on the bus.

Doing what: 2-Day Cork, Blarney Castle and Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. We were disappointed with nature as we could not see anything ,Cliff of Mohr, due to
heavy fog.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fabulous! We travelled with our children ages 10 and 7 at the end of June 2014. Our tour guide was Norman and he was fantastic! He was so kind and fun to be around. He was also very knowledgeable about the area and had great recommendations in the towns we travelled in.
We were able to make many unscheduled stops whether it be scenic stops for photographs or to visit a shepherd and watch his sheep dogs in action, they were all wonderful and our kids really enjoyed it. They took advantage of the stops as well and also took photos on their iPads and made photo collages after!
We were fortunate to have wonderful weather with NO RAIN! Rare for Ireland.
I know you usually don't know your accommodation when you book a tour like this, BUT, if you are doing your own scheduling and stay at the guesthouse in Killarney I would avoid the rooms on the ground floor. We were in room 102 and we heard a lot of noise from the entry area. Being a party of 4 I am sure our placement was due to our need for a room that slept 4 (rare in Europe) so it may not be an issue. The Fairview was excellent as far as location in Killarney and facilities. The breakfast was wonderful as well and they were very accommodating on our final morning when we needed an early breakfast before our early start time for the tour.
Our tour was very well organized and we had plenty of time at all of the scheduled stops to sightsee, shop, eat or whatever else you would want to do.
I would definitely recommend this tour if you will be in Ireland! Beautiful scenery in a beautiful country!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour and guide. On time and knowledgeable.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My mom and I really enjoyed our tour! Norman was an excellent leader; he was full of knowledge about the sites and full of patience as he tried to get us all where we needed to be and keep us on schedule. The time spent at each stop was perfect. There was a good balance between being able to explore on your own and guided tours. We stayed at a B+B for the two nights in Killarney and LOVED it! We saw so many beautiful sites, and we loved getting to know our fellow travelers! We were so lucky and had awesome weather. Just had a great time.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Richard N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very picturesque, could not have done this by ourselves. Transport and guide provided, access to remote locations.excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I loved everything we visited on the trip. We never could have fit as much into three days on our own. Our tour guide - Bob - was so knowledgeable and a great tour guide with so many "stories" that he definitely added to our Ireland experience.

The only negative was the inability to choose a B and B or hotel on the trip. Everyone in our tour group was at a different location and some were raving about their hotels. I would have gladly paid more to be put at a hotel in the middle of town. Our B and B was nice enough and the manager was very pleasant. But the B and B was on a side street with a good walk to the restaurants/shopping. Also my traveling companion and I wanted single rooms and we were put in different B and B's that weren't that close at all. There was another gentleman on the tour who booked through Viator and was also a single that was in my B and B. Maybe put him in the other B and B and my friend in the one I was staying at???? He didn't know where he was staying either until we arrived in Killarney.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Bob, the tour guy was great.
It seemed all parts of the tour were not coordinated. My bb booking was far from my friend's whom I traveled with, yet there was a room available where she was and it was taken by a single male, so she was in her bb with a male, while i was mile away alone. Pickups and drop-offs were changed and made me feel unsafe being in a strange country.
I would think an alternative would have been arranged on our last day visiting the cliffs when it was obviously pouring and totally fogged in. We couldn't even find or see the buses in the lot from the front door of the interpretive center, so hundreds were all crowded together in one building. Very few ventured to the cliffs and those who did obviously saw nothing.
Most of trip was bus, so wouldn't call it Rail Tours!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message