Insider's Guide to Killarney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Everyone wants the gift of eloquence, and some say the Irish have it, well, the gift of the gab anyway. So, how are they so blessed? It's all down to the Blarney Stone. For over two centuries people have been coming to Blarney Castle in the south ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. We were disappointed with nature as we could not see anything ,Cliff of Mohr, due to
heavy fog.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I loved everything we visited on the trip. We never could have fit as much into three days on our own. Our tour guide - Bob - was so knowledgeable and a great tour guide with so many "stories" that he definitely added to our Ireland experience.

The only negative was the inability to choose a B and B or hotel on the trip. Everyone in our tour group was at a different location and some were raving about their hotels. I would have gladly paid more to be put at a hotel in the middle of town. Our B and B was nice enough and the manager was very pleasant. But the B and B was on a side street with a good walk to the restaurants/shopping. Also my traveling companion and I wanted single rooms and we were put in different B and B's that weren't that close at all. There was another gentleman on the tour who booked through Viator and was also a single that was in my B and B. Maybe put him in the other B and B and my friend in the one I was staying at???? He didn't know where he was staying either until we arrived in Killarney.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Bob, the tour guy was great.
It seemed all parts of the tour were not coordinated. My bb booking was far from my friend's whom I traveled with, yet there was a room available where she was and it was taken by a single male, so she was in her bb with a male, while i was mile away alone. Pickups and drop-offs were changed and made me feel unsafe being in a strange country.
I would think an alternative would have been arranged on our last day visiting the cliffs when it was obviously pouring and totally fogged in. We couldn't even find or see the buses in the lot from the front door of the interpretive center, so hundreds were all crowded together in one building. Very few ventured to the cliffs and those who did obviously saw nothing.
Most of trip was bus, so wouldn't call it Rail Tours!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

A good tour guide can make all the difference on a tour. On this tour the guides ranged from fair to inadequate. Accommodation was good. The organisational skills of the guides varied. One tour guide Margaret we mistook for one of the participants and was clearly out of her depth. On the last day we had a guide to meet us to assist us onto the train to dublin and escort us. She died not appear at the agreed time aT the meeting point and when we saw her in the platform did not assist. This was left to one of the station staff to assist us and other co travellers. We were arriving late at night and are seniors and asked her about taxis which she said she would follow up. We never saw her again.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed the tour, thanks to John, the tour leader, for taking such good care of us.

Doing what: 2-Day Cork, Blarney Castle and Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This tour was good. The only downfall was the b and b we stayed at. The host there was rude. We had to get up early one morning and when we asked to arrange breakfast she rudely responded by saying, "this is not a hotel". Although she did get up and make us breakfast the next morning.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed the trip. Fun host Bob. was not too crazy about the B and B in Killarney. Very small rooms, but really good breakfast. enjoyed the train ride. Think the bus drivers are kind of dangerous. roads are very narrow and they drive really fast. otherwise really liked it!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

If you want to sit back, let someone else take control and simply enjoy your vacation, this trip is for you. I tried to put together a similar itinerary myself and the cost was coming out for much much more. Admission to all the places you visit, accommodations and breakfast is included. Also, you aren't paying for gas and have a professional driver who is used to driving around the narrow Irish streets.

Our tour guide was really nice and made sure he got to know everyone personally. He was very knowledgeable and had tons of interesting stories to tell about the history of places we passed by. Not only that, you also get to meet interesting people and make friends.

On the flip side, since places are really far from each other, you will be sitting on the bus for hours. If you or on limited time for a vacation you probably want to spend every minute doing something or seeing something. That can be a bit hard to do sitting on the bus for two hours simply being driven from one location to another. Also, the schedule is tight so you wont get to spend too much time at the stops.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Heavy rain for the "Ring of Kerry" trip so not much can be seen. Weather is unstable throughout the trip.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

WOW! This trip was amazing. If you are on a tight schedule and need to see the highlights, I highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide was Norman and he was very pleasant to have on our trip. He was very informative when he needed to be but he also gave us the chance to just sit in silence and enjoy the sights. He stayed with us the entire 3 days and took care of every need. For instance, when there was a delay in one of the trains, he volunteered to watch all of our heavy luggage while we went out to a nearby pub for dinner. All in all, the sights along the trip are gorgeous. We had breathtaking views around the Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher and the weather was surprisingly good when we needed it to be. We went in May and it rained on and off throughout the day so I definitely recommend a rain jacket if you go when we did. We're very happy we decided to leave Dublin for a few days and get a taste of REAL IRELAND.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tour was well worth the time and money. No way could you see so much of Ireland in three days on your own, and the tour hosts were really very good. The bed and breakfast was fine and we are glad we didn't elect to upgrade to a hotel; we were able to connect to locals and get a flavor of living in the Irish countryside. The only disappointment came with the train ride out from Dublin. We were supposed to have breakfast included but the operator of the tour had us excluded. As the restaurant car was "booked" we didn't get to eat anything until lunch, at around 1:30 PM local time. After a 7:00 AM departure from Dublin this made for a very hungry couple!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Highly recommend this one. Tour guides (w/yellow coats) are the best, stay w/you on train rides and accompany you on some bus tours. Ring of Kerry tour would've been better w/them. Guide unenthusiastic, hard to hear despite my request he speak up. Tour gets you to great places in little time; tour guides (yellow) offer loads of info. Scenery amazing. Hotel in Kilkenny (2 nights same place) was very nice. Wasn't prepared to be schlepping luggage from place to place, but that was probably my mistake. Overall, excellent!! We'd do it again!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour guides took us all in hand from the moment we met them at the train station for the beginning of our journey, to the end when we returned to the train station 3 days later. We happened to have relatively great weather for January, wonderful others sharing the experience, and we stayed at a wonderful Hotel in Galway, the International Hotel. Getting up the stairs to get to the Blarney Stone was a bit of a challenge for these old knees, but it got done and was well worth it. The grounds around the Blarney Castle are exquisite. Don't miss the wonderful stores there too! As far as the Ring of Kerry, the walk to the waterfall/rain forest area was not long, but I plan to go back to spend more time hiking to see the volcano rim that you can reach with a longer hike. We simply didn't have enough time to do that. Highly recommend this trip, as a visitor you don't have to worry about a thing.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The entire trip from start to finish was professionally done and beautiful. For those considering travelling in the winter months I can tell you it is still worth it. This tour was certainly a highlight of our trip to Ireland. Thank you Rail tours for making it all so easy.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Enjoyed our tour, times spent in each area was just right. Our B and B was great and located close to town, which allowed us to walk to get dinner.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message