Insider's Guide to Killarney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Everyone wants the gift of eloquence, and some say the Irish have it, well, the gift of the gab anyway. So, how are they so blessed? It's all down to the Blarney Stone. For over two centuries people have been coming to Blarney Castle in the south ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 177 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I had a great time and loved our trip. It was too short and I definitely need to come back and spend more time a each location. The only issue I had was that the day before the trip they calle and asked me if I was traveling with another guest because they did not have a room for me in Killarney. It all worked out but I didn't find out until about 2 hours before if I was going to have to sleep on the bus.

Doing what: 2-Day Cork, Blarney Castle and Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. We were disappointed with nature as we could not see anything ,Cliff of Mohr, due to
heavy fog.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fabulous! We travelled with our children ages 10 and 7 at the end of June 2014. Our tour guide was Norman and he was fantastic! He was so kind and fun to be around. He was also very knowledgeable about the area and had great recommendations in the towns we travelled in.
We were able to make many unscheduled stops whether it be scenic stops for photographs or to visit a shepherd and watch his sheep dogs in action, they were all wonderful and our kids really enjoyed it. They took advantage of the stops as well and also took photos on their iPads and made photo collages after!
We were fortunate to have wonderful weather with NO RAIN! Rare for Ireland.
I know you usually don't know your accommodation when you book a tour like this, BUT, if you are doing your own scheduling and stay at the guesthouse in Killarney I would avoid the rooms on the ground floor. We were in room 102 and we heard a lot of noise from the entry area. Being a party of 4 I am sure our placement was due to our need for a room that slept 4 (rare in Europe) so it may not be an issue. The Fairview was excellent as far as location in Killarney and facilities. The breakfast was wonderful as well and they were very accommodating on our final morning when we needed an early breakfast before our early start time for the tour.
Our tour was very well organized and we had plenty of time at all of the scheduled stops to sightsee, shop, eat or whatever else you would want to do.
I would definitely recommend this tour if you will be in Ireland! Beautiful scenery in a beautiful country!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour and guide. On time and knowledgeable.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My mom and I really enjoyed our tour! Norman was an excellent leader; he was full of knowledge about the sites and full of patience as he tried to get us all where we needed to be and keep us on schedule. The time spent at each stop was perfect. There was a good balance between being able to explore on your own and guided tours. We stayed at a B+B for the two nights in Killarney and LOVED it! We saw so many beautiful sites, and we loved getting to know our fellow travelers! We were so lucky and had awesome weather. Just had a great time.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Richard N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very picturesque, could not have done this by ourselves. Transport and guide provided, access to remote locations.excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I loved everything we visited on the trip. We never could have fit as much into three days on our own. Our tour guide - Bob - was so knowledgeable and a great tour guide with so many "stories" that he definitely added to our Ireland experience.

The only negative was the inability to choose a B and B or hotel on the trip. Everyone in our tour group was at a different location and some were raving about their hotels. I would have gladly paid more to be put at a hotel in the middle of town. Our B and B was nice enough and the manager was very pleasant. But the B and B was on a side street with a good walk to the restaurants/shopping. Also my traveling companion and I wanted single rooms and we were put in different B and B's that weren't that close at all. There was another gentleman on the tour who booked through Viator and was also a single that was in my B and B. Maybe put him in the other B and B and my friend in the one I was staying at???? He didn't know where he was staying either until we arrived in Killarney.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Bob, the tour guy was great.
It seemed all parts of the tour were not coordinated. My bb booking was far from my friend's whom I traveled with, yet there was a room available where she was and it was taken by a single male, so she was in her bb with a male, while i was mile away alone. Pickups and drop-offs were changed and made me feel unsafe being in a strange country.
I would think an alternative would have been arranged on our last day visiting the cliffs when it was obviously pouring and totally fogged in. We couldn't even find or see the buses in the lot from the front door of the interpretive center, so hundreds were all crowded together in one building. Very few ventured to the cliffs and those who did obviously saw nothing.
Most of trip was bus, so wouldn't call it Rail Tours!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

A good tour guide can make all the difference on a tour. On this tour the guides ranged from fair to inadequate. Accommodation was good. The organisational skills of the guides varied. One tour guide Margaret we mistook for one of the participants and was clearly out of her depth. On the last day we had a guide to meet us to assist us onto the train to dublin and escort us. She died not appear at the agreed time aT the meeting point and when we saw her in the platform did not assist. This was left to one of the station staff to assist us and other co travellers. We were arriving late at night and are seniors and asked her about taxis which she said she would follow up. We never saw her again.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed the tour, thanks to John, the tour leader, for taking such good care of us.

Doing what: 2-Day Cork, Blarney Castle and Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This tour was good. The only downfall was the b and b we stayed at. The host there was rude. We had to get up early one morning and when we asked to arrange breakfast she rudely responded by saying, "this is not a hotel". Although she did get up and make us breakfast the next morning.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed the trip. Fun host Bob. was not too crazy about the B and B in Killarney. Very small rooms, but really good breakfast. enjoyed the train ride. Think the bus drivers are kind of dangerous. roads are very narrow and they drive really fast. otherwise really liked it!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

If you want to sit back, let someone else take control and simply enjoy your vacation, this trip is for you. I tried to put together a similar itinerary myself and the cost was coming out for much much more. Admission to all the places you visit, accommodations and breakfast is included. Also, you aren't paying for gas and have a professional driver who is used to driving around the narrow Irish streets.

Our tour guide was really nice and made sure he got to know everyone personally. He was very knowledgeable and had tons of interesting stories to tell about the history of places we passed by. Not only that, you also get to meet interesting people and make friends.

On the flip side, since places are really far from each other, you will be sitting on the bus for hours. If you or on limited time for a vacation you probably want to spend every minute doing something or seeing something. That can be a bit hard to do sitting on the bus for two hours simply being driven from one location to another. Also, the schedule is tight so you wont get to spend too much time at the stops.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message