• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Killarney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The Ring of Kerry is a amazing route passing through some of the most beautiful scenery is southern Ireland. The route is circular and around 110 miles (180km) in distance. It passes through Killarney with its lovely National Park alongside Lough ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 389 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was fabulous...great staff, friendly, and willing to make your day as memorable as possible..a no hassle, good time trip!

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. We were disappointed with nature as we could not see anything ,Cliff of Mohr, due to
heavy fog.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fabulous! We travelled with our children ages 10 and 7 at the end of June 2014. Our tour guide was Norman and he was fantastic! He was so kind and fun to be around. He was also very knowledgeable about the area and had great recommendations in the towns we travelled in.
We were able to make many unscheduled stops whether it be scenic stops for photographs or to visit a shepherd and watch his sheep dogs in action, they were all wonderful and our kids really enjoyed it. They took advantage of the stops as well and also took photos on their iPads and made photo collages after!
We were fortunate to have wonderful weather with NO RAIN! Rare for Ireland.
I know you usually don't know your accommodation when you book a tour like this, BUT, if you are doing your own scheduling and stay at the guesthouse in Killarney I would avoid the rooms on the ground floor. We were in room 102 and we heard a lot of noise from the entry area. Being a party of 4 I am sure our placement was due to our need for a room that slept 4 (rare in Europe) so it may not be an issue. The Fairview was excellent as far as location in Killarney and facilities. The breakfast was wonderful as well and they were very accommodating on our final morning when we needed an early breakfast before our early start time for the tour.
Our tour was very well organized and we had plenty of time at all of the scheduled stops to sightsee, shop, eat or whatever else you would want to do.
I would definitely recommend this tour if you will be in Ireland! Beautiful scenery in a beautiful country!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour from start to finish

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. Dennis gave great info. Scenery was awesome.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour and guide. On time and knowledgeable.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My mom and I really enjoyed our tour! Norman was an excellent leader; he was full of knowledge about the sites and full of patience as he tried to get us all where we needed to be and keep us on schedule. The time spent at each stop was perfect. There was a good balance between being able to explore on your own and guided tours. We stayed at a B+B for the two nights in Killarney and LOVED it! We saw so many beautiful sites, and we loved getting to know our fellow travelers! We were so lucky and had awesome weather. Just had a great time.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide/driver was outstanding, our stops were perfectly timed and at great locations.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was absolutely fantastic with gorgeous scenery. The tour was very fast paced but understandable due to the timetable and areas to be visited. Our tour guide, Paddy was tremendous. Horse races were taking place at Killarney, where we departed the train and returning we missed our train back to Dublin which was a 2 hour train trip, Paddy was involved the whole time and made sure we made it back to Dublin. On arrival at Dublin, at 11 PM Paddy helped us with obtaining a taxi back to our hotel. I would recommend this tour to everyone. The scenery is fabulous and everyone we met was very gracious.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Richard N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very picturesque, could not have done this by ourselves. Transport and guide provided, access to remote locations.excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I loved everything we visited on the trip. We never could have fit as much into three days on our own. Our tour guide - Bob - was so knowledgeable and a great tour guide with so many "stories" that he definitely added to our Ireland experience.

The only negative was the inability to choose a B and B or hotel on the trip. Everyone in our tour group was at a different location and some were raving about their hotels. I would have gladly paid more to be put at a hotel in the middle of town. Our B and B was nice enough and the manager was very pleasant. But the B and B was on a side street with a good walk to the restaurants/shopping. Also my traveling companion and I wanted single rooms and we were put in different B and B's that weren't that close at all. There was another gentleman on the tour who booked through Viator and was also a single that was in my B and B. Maybe put him in the other B and B and my friend in the one I was staying at???? He didn't know where he was staying either until we arrived in Killarney.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, we had a nice time and the driver did a good job.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Bob, the tour guy was great.
It seemed all parts of the tour were not coordinated. My bb booking was far from my friend's whom I traveled with, yet there was a room available where she was and it was taken by a single male, so she was in her bb with a male, while i was mile away alone. Pickups and drop-offs were changed and made me feel unsafe being in a strange country.
I would think an alternative would have been arranged on our last day visiting the cliffs when it was obviously pouring and totally fogged in. We couldn't even find or see the buses in the lot from the front door of the interpretive center, so hundreds were all crowded together in one building. Very few ventured to the cliffs and those who did obviously saw nothing.
Most of trip was bus, so wouldn't call it Rail Tours!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message