Insider's Guide to Killarney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The Ring of Kerry is a amazing route passing through some of the most beautiful scenery is southern Ireland. The route is circular and around 110 miles (180km) in distance. It passes through Killarney with its lovely National Park alongside Lough ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 378 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was fabulous...great staff, friendly, and willing to make your day as memorable as possible..a no hassle, good time trip!

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. We were disappointed with nature as we could not see anything ,Cliff of Mohr, due to
heavy fog.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I loved everything we visited on the trip. We never could have fit as much into three days on our own. Our tour guide - Bob - was so knowledgeable and a great tour guide with so many "stories" that he definitely added to our Ireland experience.

The only negative was the inability to choose a B and B or hotel on the trip. Everyone in our tour group was at a different location and some were raving about their hotels. I would have gladly paid more to be put at a hotel in the middle of town. Our B and B was nice enough and the manager was very pleasant. But the B and B was on a side street with a good walk to the restaurants/shopping. Also my traveling companion and I wanted single rooms and we were put in different B and B's that weren't that close at all. There was another gentleman on the tour who booked through Viator and was also a single that was in my B and B. Maybe put him in the other B and B and my friend in the one I was staying at???? He didn't know where he was staying either until we arrived in Killarney.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, we had a nice time and the driver did a good job.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Bob, the tour guy was great.
It seemed all parts of the tour were not coordinated. My bb booking was far from my friend's whom I traveled with, yet there was a room available where she was and it was taken by a single male, so she was in her bb with a male, while i was mile away alone. Pickups and drop-offs were changed and made me feel unsafe being in a strange country.
I would think an alternative would have been arranged on our last day visiting the cliffs when it was obviously pouring and totally fogged in. We couldn't even find or see the buses in the lot from the front door of the interpretive center, so hundreds were all crowded together in one building. Very few ventured to the cliffs and those who did obviously saw nothing.
Most of trip was bus, so wouldn't call it Rail Tours!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

A good tour guide can make all the difference on a tour. On this tour the guides ranged from fair to inadequate. Accommodation was good. The organisational skills of the guides varied. One tour guide Margaret we mistook for one of the participants and was clearly out of her depth. On the last day we had a guide to meet us to assist us onto the train to dublin and escort us. She died not appear at the agreed time aT the meeting point and when we saw her in the platform did not assist. This was left to one of the station staff to assist us and other co travellers. We were arriving late at night and are seniors and asked her about taxis which she said she would follow up. We never saw her again.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Good but 50 on a coach was too much!

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

This tour can best be described as a long bus ride (6.5 hours) with a few short photo op stops. There was very little commentary provided and the stops had little in the way of available information. While there was a small museum at the first stop, we were advised the stop would not be long enough to actually go inside so this was little more than a chance to visit the bathroom and souvenir shop. The stop at the dog and sheep herding show was long enough and if you decided to not go pay the extra fee (which was not clear at the time of booking) to see the performance there were vistas and a small shop to spend the time on. The lunch stop was at the end of a town and did not afford the opportunity to explore anything. The rest were essentially 'here's a 15 to 20 minute stops to take photos' along with all the other buses.
The only reason to take this tour would be to avoid having to drive the narrow roads yourself, but these were actually better than many we had already traveled on the west coast of Ireland and as long as one goes counter clockwise with the buses.
We chose not go on the Dingle tour the next day as we could not see ourselves doing another 6.5 hour bus ride for a few photos.
Compared with our previous experience with Viator, this tour was very disappointing.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was amazing!! Our tour guide and driver Dennis was both witty and knew his stuff. He made for a very engaging tour around the beautiful Ring of Kerry! I highly recommend this to anyone that is looking to see the Irish countryside! I tip my hat to Dennis.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful tour with a charming, funny host named Tim. I recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tim was our driver and provided us with facts, stories, jokes, and some awesome scenery for 6 hours!
There were 6 of us and we all enjoyed ourselves, the sheep dog demonstration was so interesting, so
besides a little stress finding the office (construction blocking the entrance) we were impressed with the tour,and the trip around The Ring of Kerry, and would definitely use Viator again.. We used this web site for a tour of the Doges Palace in Venice and were very happy with the service!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed the tour, thanks to John, the tour leader, for taking such good care of us.

Doing what: 2-Day Cork, Blarney Castle and Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Well run, well worth the long day.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Enjoyed the tour guide and the places we stopped. The sheep dog demo was fun and the places we stopped were beautiful. The Ring of Kerry is so gorgeous and even with rain at times, it was stunning. The stops were quick and was hard to get lunch and eat with so many people on the site, but we know a lot of ground had to be covered to see everything. Would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Superb driver/guide who set the pace for us, shared his knowledge of Ireland, and made sure we all had a great experience.
The B and B experience in Killarney (Kingfisher Lodge) was excellent, with the hosts determined to show us true hospitality.
Tour size was perfect (10 in a 18 seater) to let us stop wherever, and the group were all determined to see all we could without rushing.
Yes, we would certainly do a tour again

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message