Insider's Guide to Killarney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The Ring of Kerry is a amazing route passing through some of the most beautiful scenery is southern Ireland. The route is circular and around 110 miles (180km) in distance. It passes through Killarney with its lovely National Park alongside Lough ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 430 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour! I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We absolutely loved this tour. The hotels were much better than expected. Our tour guide for the first three days was Norman who was a wealth of information. He would recommend eateries and things to do during our evenings in addition to providing stories and legends about various sites we visited. We can't wait to return to Ireland and will definitely take another Viator Tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A long day, but worthwhile. We were lucky with nice weather, although a bit hazy. But the scenery was incredible! Our guide/driver was very knowledgeable and a lot if fun.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was a journey of excitement and fun. The train ride was so comfortable and pleasant. The best part was that we were escorted the whole way until we met up with the Coach. Then the coach driver was also our tour guide. He did a great job! In this particular trip, the coach bus was overfilled. It should have been separated into two buses. This is a very popular trip. When every seat is taken on the bus, it becomes too uncomfortable and too many people to keep track of. This is the only viator trip I took where the entire 52 person bus was filled. All other adventrues have been much smaller buses and smaller groups. The weather was perfect. Our driver so delightful and so friendly. It is amazing how much the tour director (who usually drives the bus) shares about the culture, people and sights. Great job except the coach ride for the day.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Motor coach very comfortable and driver did great job and showing and telling all about the area. His name was Dennis!!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Saw the best part of Ireland. Very comfortable on the train.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Our tour guide, Jonathon Beaumont, was very knowledgeable and fun. We never would have seen and learned as much as we did if we had travelled on our own. Highly recommend this tour. We will be back!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An amazing day. Weather was perfect. The only problem was that we had a full bus so there were times when we were left waiting for other people to catch up. Be prepared to queue for lunch as many buses stop here. The sheep dog experience is worthwhile doing.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good value, friendly and helpful driver (Mick)

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good tour guide He was very informative

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour was adequate.
Our driver John Aherne (?) was quite wonderful, full of information, history and humour. Certainly a wonderful asset to the tours.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

My husband and I took this excursion in September and had great weather. We were staying in Dublin, but relatives told us we had to see the west, and they specifically recommended the Ring of Kerry. We don't regret taking the trip...we did see some beautiful nature/sites. But, it wasn't exactly what we expected, and if we had more time or had known better, we would have done it differently. If you take this excursion, be prepared to sit, a lot. You literally go straight from a train to a bus (and then back to a train later). And, you will only get off the bus for very limited amounts of time. I have two suggestions on improving this excursion: 1. Allow some time to explore Killarney. When we transitioned from train to bus, we saw how cute/quaint this town looked, and we wished we could have experienced it. 2. Allow more time to be up and moving around. This trip was long as it is, so longer probably sounds crazy, but giving more than 10 minutes to be off the bus would have been nice. If you get motion sickness easily, this is not the trip to be on the back of the bus! One more piece of advice, if you have limited time and are trying to decide between this and Cliffs of Moher, do Cliffs of Moher.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Beautiful area, but way to much to see in one day. Next time I would stay in the area for a few days vs doing a day trip.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful bus driver/tour director. Made us laugh all day

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was wonderful and the tour guides were very informative and helpful. They all had wonderful sense of humours. We loved visiting your beautiful Ireland.

Doing what: 2-Day Cork, Blarney Castle and Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message