• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Killarney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Ross Castle was built in the late 15th century by the O'Donoghue clan and has a wonderfully eventful history of battles and legends. In the Desmond rebellion of the 16th century the castle changed hands and was then occupied by the Brownes who ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very nice and intimate tour. Mike the guide was great.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a nice afternoon tour when we weren't able to take a full day tour. Our tour guy was nice and the scenery beautiful

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Covered many sights that we probably wouldn't have seen without this tour. Ample time to explore/experience each sight. Relaxing and informative.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

This tour had its unexpected advantages and faults. We were able to spend good time in every stop, walk around and take pictures. The road work prevented us from going to Gap of Dunloe. The guide said that if we went we would spend a lot of time in traffic and would not have enough time in other places. We visited Ross Castle, Muckross House and Gardens, Torc Waterfall and spectacular views of the famed lakes of Killarney. The guide did not really talk about these places. His explanations were so short that they practically did not exist. The tour was in a small van with air conditioning NOT installed. The temperature outside was 28 C, so with open windows we could manage. It would be much better with the air conditioning working. I still recommend this tour because the sites are very nice. If your guide gives you time to walk around and take pictures and enjoy all the beauty of each site you will be glad you went. We are glad we went.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Very nice tour by a very competent and informative driver.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

My husband and I were the only two people signed up for this tour but that was a real plus. We had a great guide and got a very personalized private tour of Killarney.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent trip. starting location was easy to find, the Jaunty Driver was very entertaining. The scenery was breath taking. The boats used on the lakes seemed a bit small but were very cozy. Lots of fun on this tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The day we took the Gap of Dunloe tour it was on an off hard rain and gusty winds. This wasn't a problem because we had dressed for the weather. My biggest complaint was the horse drawn cart. We paid 20 euros a piece for this which is well worth the money. The driver basically was in a race through the gap with the other carts. He whipped and poked the horse on constantly to keep him trotting/running up and down the tar path. It was border line animal abuse. The tar path was wet and the horse could have stumbled from be driven so hard. You are only allowed to get out to walk the steepest part of the gap. He seemed disgusted when we didn't move fast enough. His cell phone was ringing off the hook where someone wanted to know what was taking so long and where was he. The driver did not stop for us to shoot any pictures. On the flat part in the National Park he continued to whip the horse to gallop to the finish line.

The boat ride is very nice and relaxing even with the on and off rain.

I would suggest walking the gap. It is a very picturest area and worth seeing..

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Very professional tour company. We decided from a recommendation to do the Gap of Dunloe instead of the Ring of Kerry, and we were extremely pleased. Great views, great history and a pace which was perfect!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Our tour guide was the sweetest man! He took extra time to show us everything and it really had a personal touch! It was a small group which was nice and we got to see all the best parts of Killarney.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

It was OK but could have been better.

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message