Insider's Guide to Killarney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

For almost 300 years, the rugged beauty of Ireland’s westernmost County Kerry has attracted holiday-goers from across Western Europe. At the heart of this region known for its fantastic vistas, brilliant hiking, spectacular coastlines, and friendly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 161 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Definitely worth doing if you want an easy way to get around. The Muckross House and Torc waterfall are absolutely gorgeous!

Doing what: Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful experience. Michael was totally informed, jovial and attentive to our needs. Recommend Duros to anyone!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It's a nice way to see the Ring of Kerry if you don't have a car. We liked that the day wasn't too long, but unfortunately the lunch is not very good.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The tour is mostly on the bus, would love to have more time to walk around the various sites.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour from start to finish

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. Dennis gave great info. Scenery was awesome.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide/driver was outstanding, our stops were perfectly timed and at great locations.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were lucky to have a lovely day for this great day out - the commentary was interesting and fun, and the scenery was beautiful. I'm glad we didn't drive these narrow roads because the driver wouldn't have been able to enjoy the scenery and we would not have learned all the history of the area. Great trip, at a good price.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, we had a nice time and the driver did a good job.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The bus was full and the four of us were not able to sit together. The tour guide also drove the bus, so he didn't go into detail about what we were seeing.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We didn't get really lucky with the weather conditions. It started out well enough, but soon it became really foggy, so we didn't really get to appreciate the landscape as we expected (we never saw the Blasket Islands, for example). Even so, Ray, our tour guide and driver, did his absolute best so that we could make the most of the trip (even showing us pictures so that we could kind of "imagine" the islands in front of us behind the fog). We did a few 15-minute stops (like at Inch beach), then at Dingle for lunch, and then Ray decided to get off-route and take us to a lake viewpoint for some landscape views (I don't remember the name of the place, unfortunately). I'd like to take the tour again during a sunny day to be able to appreciate the real charm of the land (even if what we experienced was real irish weather, after all).

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Dingle Peninsula and Slea Head

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

This tour can best be described as a long bus ride (6.5 hours) with a few short photo op stops. There was very little commentary provided and the stops had little in the way of available information. While there was a small museum at the first stop, we were advised the stop would not be long enough to actually go inside so this was little more than a chance to visit the bathroom and souvenir shop. The stop at the dog and sheep herding show was long enough and if you decided to not go pay the extra fee (which was not clear at the time of booking) to see the performance there were vistas and a small shop to spend the time on. The lunch stop was at the end of a town and did not afford the opportunity to explore anything. The rest were essentially 'here's a 15 to 20 minute stops to take photos' along with all the other buses.
The only reason to take this tour would be to avoid having to drive the narrow roads yourself, but these were actually better than many we had already traveled on the west coast of Ireland and as long as one goes counter clockwise with the buses.
We chose not go on the Dingle tour the next day as we could not see ourselves doing another 6.5 hour bus ride for a few photos.
Compared with our previous experience with Viator, this tour was very disappointing.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was amazing!! Our tour guide and driver Dennis was both witty and knew his stuff. He made for a very engaging tour around the beautiful Ring of Kerry! I highly recommend this to anyone that is looking to see the Irish countryside! I tip my hat to Dennis.

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful tour with a charming, funny host named Tim. I recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tim was our driver and provided us with facts, stories, jokes, and some awesome scenery for 6 hours!
There were 6 of us and we all enjoyed ourselves, the sheep dog demonstration was so interesting, so
besides a little stress finding the office (construction blocking the entrance) we were impressed with the tour,and the trip around The Ring of Kerry, and would definitely use Viator again.. We used this web site for a tour of the Doges Palace in Venice and were very happy with the service!

Doing what: Full Day Tour of The Ring of Kerry

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message