Kota Kinabalu ATTRACTIONS See all

Sandakan Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre

The Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre, located near the town of Sandakan, is one of only four places in the world set up to preserve and protect orangutans. Established in a corner of the Kabili-Sepilok rainforest reserve in 1964, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely loved it, even though we had to start at 4.45 am to get our flight, but we were at the other end of the island. Once we arrived we didnt expect to get a good viewing as a US cruise ship had docked, so there were a lot of people, nevertheless we had a good viewing and were able to stay for long time. We seen a total, of siz orangutans. While a couple just stayed on the platform eating, otheres entertained us with their antics. We then went across the centre for a viewing of the snow bears. On returning to the centre, we were privileged to have the company of Sen, a young orangutan who has been rehabilitated, came out of the rain forest and entertained us for ages, just wandering and swinging about. He even came and sat on the benches with us and took hold of my husbands hand. I was also even able able to stroke him, although this is not permitted. I think it was this that made it so enjoyable. You have to really want to see the orangutans to warrant the cost if you have to take a plane ride. We later went to an English tearoom for lunch which was very nice.

Doing what: Sandakan Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Center Full-Day Trip from Kota Kinabalu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

It was a great last minute tour up to see the orangutan. We were very lucky to see quite a few and there was plenty of photo opportunities. We were also very lucky to be take to the sandakan war memorial as well.

Doing what: Sandakan Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Center Full-Day Trip from Kota Kinabalu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

It was a great last minute tour up to see the orangutan. We were very lucky to see quite a few and there was plenty of photo opportunities. We were also very lucky to be take to the sandakan war memorial as well.

Doing what: Sandakan Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Center Full-Day Trip from Kota Kinabalu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fantastic, our guide and driver were absolutely great. Nordin and Reward. Very informative and attentive and accommodating. The Rehab centre does such a wonderful job for these amazing creatures. We had a wonderful, although tiring and long, day. Our resort, Shangra-La provided us with breakfast as we had a 5am start for the day. At the risk of repeating myself, it was a great day.

Doing what: Sandakan Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Center Full-Day Trip from Kota Kinabalu

John H A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

an excellent day trip for which we were provided with a driver and personal guide who was very knowledgable.. we saw orangutans as soon as we arrived at the rehabilitation centre and also on the feeding platform. te bhuddist temple was very well decorated internally and has a superb view of the town. we finished with the Sandakan Memorial Park which was very moving when reading about the treatment of the prisoners of the war in Japanese hands. all in all a very worthwhile trip and one that me and my wife thoroughly enjoyed

Doing what: Sandakan Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Center Full-Day Trip from Kota Kinabalu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Brilliant trip. Not to be missed. Very informative with clear instructions at the sanctuary. Fantastic to see these beautiful animals in their own environment.

Doing what: Sandakan Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Center Full-Day Trip from Kota Kinabalu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Awesome. A great way to get up close and personal with the Orangutan's whilst also knowing that you are contributing to their rehabilitation. I went at feeding time and it was not in any way crowded. The logistics of getting to and from Sandakan and Sepilok were well organized. As a single traveler I had to pay a 100% supplement to be able to complete this tour. Expensive (for me) but well worth it, a great experience.

Doing what: Sandakan Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Center Full-Day Trip from Kota Kinabalu

Wayne K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The tour to the Orang Utan sanctuary was really well organised, efficient & a great excursion. We were lucky to be able to stand on the boardwalk with an Orang Utan playfully rolling near our feet. Watching the feeding session was entertaining & the information session about the sanctuary was very informative. We asked to see the Sandakan Memorial instead of visiting the Buddist temple & this was easily & efficiently organised. The excursion was well worth the cost & highly recommended.

Doing what: Sandakan Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Center Full-Day Trip from Kota Kinabalu

George C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Our visit to Sepilok was excellent and the orangutans were very visible. The add on visit to the Buddhist temple was out of context and of little interest. Lunch at the English tea house was disappointing, even if serviced with good Malaysian hospitality.

Doing what: Sandakan Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Center Full-Day Trip from Kota Kinabalu

Michael P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Early start to fly over to Sandakan and the Sepilok Centre but well worth it. Very, very hot and humid throughout the feeding time so make sure you take water. There are plenty of orangutans on view but also plenty of people. You need a good camera to be able to take good shots and preferably a tripod although when we went two of the orangutan actually got onto the viewing platform!! Brilliant experience.

Doing what: Sandakan Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Center Full-Day Trip from Kota Kinabalu

Robert D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

We skipped the video show, so we went in early and there were five orangutans playing near the rangers on the viewing platform. When more people arrived, they went back into the rain forest, but soon reappeared when the food did. Everything was very well organized: we had a great guide who was very informative and helpful. This experience is not to be missed, but we were very lucky as well.

Doing what: Sandakan Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Center Full-Day Trip from Kota Kinabalu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message