The Auschwitz concentration camp was established in April 1940 in the prewar Polish army barracks on the outskirts of Oświęcim. Originally intended for Polish political prisoners, the camp was 'repurposed ' as a dedicated center for the wholesale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1661 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Pick up near our hotel in large a/c bus with video of History of Auschwitz-fantastic! Our tour leader, Anna, was wonderful, knowledgeable and made sure to address all questions and emotions a tour like this evokes.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

In spite of the exceptional hot weather the tour was very informative and emotionally touching. The Viator guide Vojceck was very professional, clear and helpful.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very interesting tour but a lot of the information was repeated over from the film clip
To the actual presentation. 15 minutes for lunch is way too short as they could have reduced
Some of the presentation to allow more time and wish I could wander more at some of the displays.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Impressive tour with a great guide. Well organised! Shows you all you want/need to see. Would have like to spend a little more time in auschwitz 2

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

very satisfied by the tour gide and how friendly personel was to all

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would recommend this tour to everyone. I was picked up at the hostel as planned, and I enjoyed a very interesting tour in both Auschwitz and the Wieliczka salt mine. These 2 visits can't be missed when you are in Krakow and Viator is a great partner if you want to book everything in advance so you don't have to worry about finding transport and/or a guide during your stay.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you do not drive a car there, this half-day trip is recommendable. I found the video presentation aboard the bus very informative and a good way to spend about one hour bus ride.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a mixed bag, the tour guide on the bus was awful, he yelled at myself a a couple of other ladies about the size of our bags going into Auschwitz saying they were too big but on the bus he said they were fine. The guide inside was amazing and the tour of the camps was outstanding. A very sobering day out.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent - tour guide in Auschwitz itself was thoroughly knowledgeable and passionate. The radio headphones allowed us to hear every detail. Teenage kids listened to every word - best history lesson they've ever had. .

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and handled subject very sensitively but not emotionally. All practical arrangements very good and professional approach. Would highly recommend. Note that half day trip is 7 hours door to door

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

the tour of Auschwitz and the Wieliczka Salt Mine was extremely well run and very informative

the local tour company were absolutely first class and he individual tour guides very friendly and helpful

we highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thoroughly moving experience

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour and tour guide. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It brought to life a lot of information you can't learn in books.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our driver was very pleasant and we enjoyed chatting to him on the journey. The guide who took us around the concentration camp was excellent and s he managed to fit so much in on a very hot day maximising on the shade that was available. She answered all our questions and was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Auschwitz-Birkenau Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was excellent everybody must visit this extermination complex once in their lifetime but the time of the tour was a little short. We visit the area almost in a hurry.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Doug Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a half day tour from Kraków, or you can combine it with a tour of the Wielicza Salt Mines.
I'm not sure you could say enjoyable about such a subject matter, but we found it an interesting and absorbing experience. Over the years, we've seen numerous newsreels and documentaries on this subject, but actually visiting the site really brought the enormity of it home. You wonder how there could be people out there who deny or doubt it.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Tour from Krakow with Private Round-Trip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A very emotional trip I honestly believe every young person should be made do this trip as it would let them know how lucky they are to live now. The trip is in parts very physical to do and I would recommend Spring or Autumn as the best time. We did it in 38 degrees

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was good. The guide was very knowledgeable. I liked that they picked us up from our hotel. They also gave us lunch.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was helpful and informative, although the tour was very intense.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything well organized, bus pick-up at hotel right on time , very good Tour assistants accompagny the Tour, you don't have to worry about anything. Would immediately use this organisation again.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great communication from the start mini bus that picks you up is really good and it is all well organised. Very good tour with knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message