The Auschwitz concentration camp was established in April 1940 in the prewar Polish army barracks on the outskirts of Oświęcim. Originally intended for Polish political prisoners, the camp was 'repurposed ' as a dedicated center for the wholesale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1186 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was an excellent tour. We were totally satisfied with the agency that supplied the driver and car, also the guide was very good. She was Polish and very passionate about the subject and delivered her message appropriately and clearly. As there was only six persons in the tour, we received very personal attention and very comfortable. It also commenced quite early, which meant we were ahead of the main large tour groups. This tour has already been recommended to other tourists we have met along the way. One particular was through trip advisor my wife reviewed and conversed through other travellers questions.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour was well organised, very informative and educational. Tour guide was excellent, eye opening, sobering and overwhelming all at the same time. Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great Historical Tour - would highly recommend. Would have liked to have a tour guide with more enthusiasm.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a very memorable day and very well organised
Would highly recommend anyone visiting krakow to take this trip

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a very memorable day and very well organised
Would highly recommend anyone visiting krakow to take this trip

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent and fascinating tour. Our transportation and guide were excellent. The salt mines were so HUGE and beautiful. Very worth seeing. The salt mines are very busy with tourists, but they are so well organized with the groups that you get to see everything very smoothly.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very informative. Guide was excellent and would recommend.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was exceptional, Auschwitz-Birkenau was very good, with exceptional tour guides. Participants need to be prepared for a long day with extensive walking, but well worth it. The Salt Mine was beyond description! A truly amazing site and defiantly a highlight of our trip to Europe!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Pick up late and had to change coach what was very disorganised, day improved and the tour of both were very good.
Tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

JGB
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Extremely disappointed with this trip Had held high hopes for an exeptional day Have wanted to visit there since my school days.
DO NOT GO ON SCHOOL HOLIDAYS !!!!
The place was so packed and we were rushed through with so many groups it was impossible to see things. Difficult to keep up in fear of losing our group
Our Guide had a marked heavy accent hard enough to understand with the headsets given in Auschwitz IMPOSSIBLE at Birkenau with out them.
Given the horrendous history of the place I really felt some sort of respect would have been shown but no it was just a rush from start to finish as if to see how fast she could complete it and go home Plus her constant mobile phone calls were highly annoying.
At Birkenau we were rushed without chance to eat a proper lunch. Then she went at such a pace that the older members could not keep up with her meaning by the time they had caught up with her she had finished her speel and was off to the next area. One American gentleman was left way behind as he just coud not keep up. A young English High School History teacher commented to me "There was no time for reflection" I couldn't have agreed more. I learnt not one thing about Birkenau as we could not hear her Had no chance for questions at either camp
It is a long walk even for young people !!!!! Wear good walking shoes which we did
DEEPLY DISAPPOINTED

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a trip I'd like to recommend to everybody. It's a very powerful experience to hear all those stories right there on the spot. Hard, almost unbearable at times. The tour was well organized, staff were friendly and knowledgeable and everything went as planned. Plus you have a chance to see the beautiful Polish countryside on your 1,5 bus trip to the site and back.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well organised tour. Helpful driver and guides. From the horror of Auschwitz to the beauty of the salt mines was a sharp reminder of the best and worst that lies within man. A great tour.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were picked up at the Radisson Blu hotel and taken a short way over to the bus park (in front of the Sheraton) to get on the bus for Auschwitz. The Sheraton isn't that far from the Radisson Blu so you could walk down there and enjoy the river and castle views while you wait for all the other passgengers to arrive for the tour. Its about an hour and ten minutes from Krakow to the Museum. When you arrive you will have a few minutes for restrooms (small charge to use-1 zloty I believe) and food or book purchases in the small stores (they do sell rain ponchos if the weather is bad). Your tour group will then be given headphones so you can hear your guide and you will begin the walking tour. The tour guide we had at the museum was Michael and he was excellent and we can't speak highly enough about his knowledge and how he talked through such a difficult topic. Becuase of the huge volume of people and the smaller size of the first camp, the tour is rather fast paced and its hard to get a few minutes to dwell on the enormity of what happened and to connect with the many faces and stories you will enounter. After your tour of the first camp is complete the bus takes you to the second camp which is much much larger and provides the opportunity to see the buildings without the long lines of people in front of you and following you. While a very somber day it is a tour that everyone should take.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

harrowing experience - very involved tour guide

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message