The Auschwitz concentration camp was established in April 1940 in the prewar Polish army barracks on the outskirts of Oświęcim. Originally intended for Polish political prisoners, the camp was 'repurposed ' as a dedicated center for the wholesale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1175 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a trip I'd like to recommend to everybody. It's a very powerful experience to hear all those stories right there on the spot. Hard, almost unbearable at times. The tour was well organized, staff were friendly and knowledgeable and everything went as planned. Plus you have a chance to see the beautiful Polish countryside on your 1,5 bus trip to the site and back.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well organised tour. Helpful driver and guides. From the horror of Auschwitz to the beauty of the salt mines was a sharp reminder of the best and worst that lies within man. A great tour.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were picked up at the Radisson Blu hotel and taken a short way over to the bus park (in front of the Sheraton) to get on the bus for Auschwitz. The Sheraton isn't that far from the Radisson Blu so you could walk down there and enjoy the river and castle views while you wait for all the other passgengers to arrive for the tour. Its about an hour and ten minutes from Krakow to the Museum. When you arrive you will have a few minutes for restrooms (small charge to use-1 zloty I believe) and food or book purchases in the small stores (they do sell rain ponchos if the weather is bad). Your tour group will then be given headphones so you can hear your guide and you will begin the walking tour. The tour guide we had at the museum was Michael and he was excellent and we can't speak highly enough about his knowledge and how he talked through such a difficult topic. Becuase of the huge volume of people and the smaller size of the first camp, the tour is rather fast paced and its hard to get a few minutes to dwell on the enormity of what happened and to connect with the many faces and stories you will enounter. After your tour of the first camp is complete the bus takes you to the second camp which is much much larger and provides the opportunity to see the buildings without the long lines of people in front of you and following you. While a very somber day it is a tour that everyone should take.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

harrowing experience - very involved tour guide

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good tour. The guide itself from auschwitz wasnt great. I didnt think it was possible for a guide to be emotionless when taking tours through the camp. Other than that very convenient with hotel pick up and viator guides were very nice. We had Anna who was lovely

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver pick up us in our hotel and very knowledgeable drive as well.Our driver bring us to our destinations safely.The Auschwitz-Birkenau is one hour from the town and salt mine is about 10 to 15 mins. from the town, is recommended when going to Poland.Its terrible to see the Jewish things,hair and the way they live during the war.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

No hassle journey to site . Great guide . Something everyone should see . Highly recommended .

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Auschwitz trip very emotional. something everyone should see. very soft spoken and informative guide.
a must see!!
Salt mine tour was a blast. very cool. both temp, and visual!!

Great value for trips!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Natalie T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Driver and guide were great. Much nicer to be part of a small group rather than a coach load.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Natalie T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Driver and guide were great. Much nicer to be part of a small group rather than a coach load.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The early departure was really good as we got there before most of the big groups. Guide was great and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Auschwitz-Birkenau was a very interesting and moving trip . The guide had an extensive knowledge of the history of Auschwitz-Birkenau. It gave all those in the group a greater understanding of what happened during that time.
Wieliczka Salt Mine was amazing. Our guide in the salt mine - Matt was fantastic. As well as explaining about the history and workings of the mine past and present, he had a great sense of humor which made the experience informative and enjoyable.
I am glad I booked both trips in advance as I went in the busiest time of the year and there were big crowds. The organised tour enabled us to meet our guide and proceed with the tours without the fuss of waiting. I highly recommend both of these tours.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hotel pick ups very convenient as was new to area and mini bus/van comfortable. Tour and local guides very knowledgeable. Overall two very good tours on separate consecutive days that we were glad we did not do in one day as there was a lot of walking.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Amy
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing, overwhelmingly sad, but a site/memorial everyone should see/experience once in thier lifetime.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message