The Auschwitz concentration camp was established in April 1940 in the prewar Polish army barracks on the outskirts of Oświęcim. Originally intended for Polish political prisoners, the camp was 'repurposed ' as a dedicated center for the wholesale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1221 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were very impressed with everything on our tours of Auschwitz- Birkenau and the Salt mines. We were picked up from our apartment by very punctual, informative guides which made the early starts easy. The local guides were great and the tour contents were riveting,educational and of great historical worth to us. We thought the Concentration camps were a very sobering experience while the Salt mines were magnificent and awe inspiring.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had a great time at both places, found Auschwitz to be very interesting but very sad, for anyone booking on to this trip be warned there is lots of walking involved specially in the salt mine and quite a few steps to go down also a bit of a claustrophobic lift ont he way back up hahah but nevertheless both were fantastic trips for the price paid and interesting/enjoyable. Myself and my partner met two girls and their mother who were on both trips with us and on the second day they told us they had to stop the coach as one of them was sick as they were made to watch a video on their mini bus (the one behind us) of Auschwitz before they actually went there. The video involved footage of someone pulling a baby apart which made her sick, the tour guide and driver wouldn't stop the video (hence the teenage girl being sick). I feel this is really inappropriate being made to watch something of that nature and should have at least been warned what the video contained. I'm really glad i wasn't on their bus. I think someone should mention this to the tour company.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly organised experience. Tour guide was perfect! Spoke excellent English and was 100% respectful to the history of the venue.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour was amazing and unfortunatley I didn't get our tour guides names but they all were awesome and I'm very thankful that we had them. Thank you
Michelle Dallyn

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent Tour, Hotel Pick up on time, Very informative guides.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very moving trip to Auschwitz - well organised. I would maybe have liked a little more time but would wander around on my own if I ever returned having already had a very informative guide.
Salt Mine was a surprisingly brilliant trip - was not sure whether to bother going but really glad I did.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Auschwitz-Birkenau should be mandatory for everyone, especially those fools who believe it never happened. I had been to Dachau in Germany, but that pales in comparison. The Wieliczka Salt Mine was also memorable. The only other salt mine I've been to was a salt cathedral in Colombia, but this was far bigger, better, and fantastic. When you think "salt mine" not much is conjured up, but when you realize there are many salt statues, a huge cathedral, and salt art throughout, you realize the magnitude of this salt mine. Very, very impressive.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very moving and humbling tour...our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate...Im pleased we went on the small group tour and the early tour as well, our guide took the time to explain what is a very difficult and sensitive topic to us and answered any questions we asked. The tour gives you just a very very small insight into what conditions the prisoners lived in. We had the time to look and read the information in the blocks and try and imagine what this camp was like, im not sure if you went on a later tour you would be able to take your time to look and read all info and take in the surroundings as when we left Auschwitz approx. 11am it was extremely busy. This trip was an experience I am pleased we decided to go on even though it was and is an extremely sensitive topic.....unimaginable horrors

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It is hard to find the right words to describe this experience, but I will try. Visiting Auschwitz-Birkenau was an experience I will never forget. I walked away from the camp with a much clearer idea of what life in the camps was like and at the same time a sense of humility and respect for those whose lives were taken away from them Our guide Martin was the reason for this. He was very well informed and insightful. I highly recommend this visit. It is time well spent. We can never forget.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

2 very enjoyable tours (if thats the right word to use) The guides were very informative. I also liked the 20 min comfort breaks before, inbetween and after each part of the visits

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed these two tours. Excellent value for money with excellent your guides. We were picked up from our hotel on time and couldn't fault anything. Have used Viator before and certainly will do so again.. Thank you.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Both trips were very nice and the price is really good. Totally recommended!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A Must-Do tour! It must however also be made clear that this is not a half-day tour - there are two venues to visit, Auschwitz 1 and Birkenau. From pick up to drop off, it is a minimum of 6 hours. On the day of our tour, it took 8 hours. The delay was due to one guide turning up to lead two full bus loads of visitors. The second guide did not turn up. The non-English-speaking visitors almost missed their chosen-language guide(s) at the museum which had specific timings for tours. Once we got to the museum however, the tour (led by the museum's guide) was fascinating, and sobering. The groups however, were too large, which did not give enough time to read and ponder what had gone on in the camps. There was also no prior information given to advise that thick-soled shoes should be worn because the ground is mostly uneven, pebbly and shale-like (very sharp to step on). Moreover, some of the images and videos were quite graphic and confronting, but no warnings were given that they could be potentially disturbing to view. Nevertheless, all in all, this tour is definitely worth doing. Grace and Mark

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Once we arrived the tour was fantastic, guide very knowledgeable etc. Prior to that they were very disorganized, first took us to Auschwitz then decided to do Birkenau first, weren't sure which bus we should be on etc.etc.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

An insightful tour. Guides good at conveying how it was.
Glad we did the tours on separate days as two completely different experiences.
Well organized.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message