The Auschwitz concentration camp was established in April 1940 in the prewar Polish army barracks on the outskirts of Oświęcim. Originally intended for Polish political prisoners, the camp was 'repurposed ' as a dedicated center for the wholesale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1189 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was an excellent tour. We were totally satisfied with the agency that supplied the driver and car, also the guide was very good. She was Polish and very passionate about the subject and delivered her message appropriately and clearly. As there was only six persons in the tour, we received very personal attention and very comfortable. It also commenced quite early, which meant we were ahead of the main large tour groups. This tour has already been recommended to other tourists we have met along the way. One particular was through trip advisor my wife reviewed and conversed through other travellers questions.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour was well organised, very informative and educational. Tour guide was excellent, eye opening, sobering and overwhelming all at the same time. Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great Historical Tour - would highly recommend. Would have liked to have a tour guide with more enthusiasm.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a very memorable day and very well organised
Would highly recommend anyone visiting krakow to take this trip

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a very memorable day and very well organised
Would highly recommend anyone visiting krakow to take this trip

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent and fascinating tour. Our transportation and guide were excellent. The salt mines were so HUGE and beautiful. Very worth seeing. The salt mines are very busy with tourists, but they are so well organized with the groups that you get to see everything very smoothly.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very informative. Guide was excellent and would recommend.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The actual Auschwitz-Birkenau tour was very good. The guide was knowledgeable and very respectful regarding the incidence which happened there.
I expected a bit more from the escort, on the bus ride over to Auschwitz. She put on a documentary on the way there which gave us a pretty good overview. That was the extent of her, or the drivers interaction with us.
One the way back, it would have been nice if she or the driver spoke something about the area we were traveling through, maybe gave us some interesting facts about the towns (or even the names) we were passing through. The bus driver and the escort talked to each other all the way home and didn't interact with the passengers at all, except to thank us for using the service and they hoped we have a good rest of the trip.
This is the first time I ever experienced no interaction with the escort on a trip.
Jean Schlameuss
JAS Travel

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was exceptional, Auschwitz-Birkenau was very good, with exceptional tour guides. Participants need to be prepared for a long day with extensive walking, but well worth it. The Salt Mine was beyond description! A truly amazing site and defiantly a highlight of our trip to Europe!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The experience in Auschwitz was incredibly moving. The tour guide conducted the tour reverently and with a high level of knowledge. She provided anecdotes that went far beyond a simple informational tour. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting Poland

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Had a great time. The tours were run very efficiently and with very knowledgable guides. My only suggestion is to change the end of the Salt Mine Tour - we ended up walking for about half an hour down one long corridor and through streets that gave the end of the tour a bit of an anti-climax. I have nothing but praise for the Auschwitz-Birkenau tour.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Pick up late and had to change coach what was very disorganised, day improved and the tour of both were very good.
Tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

JGB
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Extremely disappointed with this trip Had held high hopes for an exeptional day Have wanted to visit there since my school days.
DO NOT GO ON SCHOOL HOLIDAYS !!!!
The place was so packed and we were rushed through with so many groups it was impossible to see things. Difficult to keep up in fear of losing our group
Our Guide had a marked heavy accent hard enough to understand with the headsets given in Auschwitz IMPOSSIBLE at Birkenau with out them.
Given the horrendous history of the place I really felt some sort of respect would have been shown but no it was just a rush from start to finish as if to see how fast she could complete it and go home Plus her constant mobile phone calls were highly annoying.
At Birkenau we were rushed without chance to eat a proper lunch. Then she went at such a pace that the older members could not keep up with her meaning by the time they had caught up with her she had finished her speel and was off to the next area. One American gentleman was left way behind as he just coud not keep up. A young English High School History teacher commented to me "There was no time for reflection" I couldn't have agreed more. I learnt not one thing about Birkenau as we could not hear her Had no chance for questions at either camp
It is a long walk even for young people !!!!! Wear good walking shoes which we did
DEEPLY DISAPPOINTED

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a trip I'd like to recommend to everybody. It's a very powerful experience to hear all those stories right there on the spot. Hard, almost unbearable at times. The tour was well organized, staff were friendly and knowledgeable and everything went as planned. Plus you have a chance to see the beautiful Polish countryside on your 1,5 bus trip to the site and back.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message