The Auschwitz concentration camp was established in April 1940 in the prewar Polish army barracks on the outskirts of Oświęcim. Originally intended for Polish political prisoners, the camp was 'repurposed ' as a dedicated center for the wholesale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1285 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved being able to do both these tours on a budget.

There ended up being an afternoon tour I was able to switch to and do both in one day so I didn't have to rush back on day 2 to catch my train! Accommodating and very well knowledgable tour guides on sites

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Day one was Auschwitz, picked up from hotel, had an excellent tour guide. Very confronting experience. Day two at Weiliczka, another excellent tour guide. We were awed by the beauty of the chapels and couldn't stop licking the walls and floor.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The Auschwitz tour was a very humbling experience. We were picked up from our hotel and the drive was about 1hr 15 mins. The guides were excellent and the tour was very informative and moving.
The salt mine tour was done very efficiently and was very interesting - it lasted 2 hours.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very well organised and very informative! A very sad place to visit but a part of history which must be remembered. And afterwards our tour leader (Conrad) made a great effort to see that everyone was dropped off somewhere close to their accommodation. Thanks!

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

wrw33
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

well informed tour guides. well planned trip. pick up from hotel possible.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Well organised, professional service. Pick up on time. Guides were knowledgeable and friendly. Tours were fantastic. Well worth it.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

visiting auschwitz is something you must do when visiting Kraków but be prepared to feel disturbed by what the place represents

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The guide was absolutely great. Not sure if she was with the tour or the actual museum but she was well worth it! It would be great if we were told that we'd be taken to other destinations, and then switch buses. I don't think we ended up leaving Krakow city until after 11:00. The film shown could use some upgrade as it does not show on the bus television very well (audio and image quality). The film in general was a good watch though. Lastly, please add a disclaimer that depending on the weather, previous and current, that it could be very, very, very muddy. My shoes are ruined and I'll have to probably throw them away. Overall though, the tour met my expectations.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Auschwitz-Birkenau is what it is. However, it would have been nice if the sidewalks, streets and stairs (without railings) at Auschwitz had been cleared of ice and snow on Sunday, February 1, 2015.

The tour starts with a hotel pickup around 11, and you're back in Krakow around 5:15 p.m.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great tour, very insightful and an amazing learning experience. They treat the topic very seriously and very respectful. The staff was very courteous.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The hotel pickup was easy and convenient, our guide was pleasant and the video documentary on the way was very powerful. Our guide at the Auschwitz museum itself was phenomenal, and made the experience very real and emotional for us. This is an experience everyone should have, but it is not easy emotionally. The lunch was basic, but was enough. Birkenau is a must see after visiting Auschwitz and I was glad that this tour included both. I recommend a visit to Schindler's factory before taking this tour, as it provides a lot of great background on the start of the war and the German takeover. It is worth noting that you are not allowed to bring purses or bags larger than an 8x11 sheet of paper in with you, so leave them behind at your hotel and bring only the essentials. We were able to leave our bags locked on the bus, but I would've felt better had I just left it behind completely. It was safe on the bus, however.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had an excellent time during our tour. It was well organized from the beginning to the end. The tour guides at both places did a good job explaining the areas and it was even better because you could hear how passionate they are. Highly recommended to take this trip.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My wife and I thought this trip was very good. Our tour guide was excellent. I would recommend the tour as it was an eye opener to the horrors of war.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message