• USD ($)
  • English
The Auschwitz concentration camp was established in April 1940 in the prewar Polish army barracks on the outskirts of Oświęcim. Originally intended for Polish political prisoners, the camp was 'repurposed ' as a dedicated center for the wholesale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1047 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour guide at Auschwitz-Birkenau tour. She was very knowledgeable of facts and very sensitive to what happended at camps. She took her time letting everyone look. Highly recommend.

Salt mine tour worth seeing, but a little like Amusement park with numerous gift shops and lines to wait to see things and for entering and exiting. Worth seeing but only a 4 star not a five.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I think that the tour guide (Agnes) made the trip, and had excellent knowledge of both areas. Both my wife and myself had a fantastic day. Thank you

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Amy S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Really interesting and something you need to see when in Poland. Still feels very surreal and would like to thank the guide for the tour and all his information. Learnt a lot.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Unbelievable!! Ever since the trip I gave thought about all the fact we where told and the images/places we saw. An incredible tour as it both amazes and saddens you!! Everyone should go on this tour that comes to poland! The tour guide was easy to understand and friendly and the pick up was great

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Both trips excellent with wonderful informative guides. Auschwitz was so moving and thought provoking..a must when visiting Krakow. The salt mines at Wieliczka were something else! They were unbelievable! Even the chandeliers were made of salt crystals! Not a trip for people with mobility problems but not to be missed otherwise. We were picked up on time as advised by Viator. Very well organised...thank you.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I would highly recommend the tour of Auschwitz-Birkenau. It was interesting, poignant and very well organised. It was worth booking the private tour. The driver and the guide were both excellent. The guide was very knowledgeable. It is still hard to take in what horrors happened in these camps but glad we went.

Doing what: Private Tour: Auschwitz-Birkenau Tour from Krakow

Gordon M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

well organised trip with knowledgable and well informed guides, worth doing

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

First day went to Auschwitz. Although it is a 1/2 day tour you are in fact out for about 8 hours, only 3 1/2 at Auschwitz the rest picking up and dropping off at hotels and1 hr 15 mins each way once you get going. Very well organised once there. You follow the tour leader and everyone has head sets so you can hear the leader even if you cannot see here. You have a short break between Auschwitz 1 and Auschwitz 2 although not long enough for lunch and a toilet break. There is a lot of walking on this tour. Tour leader was very informative but did not really welcome questions. The next day we were once again picked up from our hotel however much quicker as salt mines only 15 mins away. Today was from 10am - 2.30pm. Once we got to the salt mines chaos happened. It was so disorganised just trying to be put into groups. Again we wore headsets. Our guide (Karol), a young lad was very pleasant and knowledgeable. Can I say if you do not liking walking and going down steps do not do this. we had several people on this tour that did nothing but moan. There is an option to take a lift down the first 350 odd steps. However there are another 400 steps over the 2 hour tour. You are advised on the coach and once you are in the caves that for the half of the tour you can take photos however just before the entrance to the cathedral you need to buy a photo pass for 10 PZL. However out of 38 people on my tour my daughter was the only one who purchased one and that was because she was at the front of the queue. The guide did not bother stopping people walk straight past and when you are in the cave it is not policed in any way at all, which I think is unfair, if you are going to impose such a rule -police it !! If I had a choice I probably would not have done the salt mines. There was no "wow" factor about it. The journey up from inside the cave was as disorganised as the way in. The queues for the lifts were so long and the lifts so cramped.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Two tours over two days. The first day was Auschwitz-Birkenau. We were collected by mini bus at the exact time stated. The tour was was excellent but emotional. Our tour guide was extremely informative. Well organised and very pleased with this tour. The second day was the Saltmines. Again picked up exactly at the time stated. Upon arrival at the saltmines, we had to wait around outside for an hour before we started the tour. There was a coffee kiosk and seats however. Once inside the tour was amazing. Well worth seeing!! A long wait to get out as the lift can only take so many at a time back up to the surface, but the lift itself was a proper miners lift so was good fun to go up in it..

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

This tour was excellent but it had nothing to do with your company. The guides that worked for auschwitz and the salt mines did all the work. On the first day of the tour we called to confirm and were told 8:30 pick up they actually came at 10:30 .Another screw up on your part. I will be looking for another tour company in the future

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour. Was picked up at hotel on time, got to Auschwitz on time, had great, knowledgable tour guide. Did a lot of walking but lots of dark history to see. Although not mentioned, food and beverages can be purchased at the Auschwitz entrance. After tour finished, brought back to Krakow and dropped off at hotel within minutes of original schedule. Tour bus was nice and accommodating.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

it was a great tour!! Thought it might be emotional but no, the tour guide had us all mesmerised with the tales of what went on.
Would recommend this to everyone, its a must see, put it on your bucket list!!

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Difficult review. Auschwitz - Birkenau was emotionally draining, but not to be missed. The salt mines on the other hand, were extremely interesting and made more so by an excellent guide. Take a bow, Mark!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Both tours were very good, but for very different reasons. One very harrowing , one amazing . Both were very proffesinally ran with very good guides. From pick up at our hotel to the drop off. The length of both tour was perfect . Would recommend company very highly.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Alison M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide was excellent and his knowledge very good. He took as much time as people in our group needed to asked questions and answered each one. Guide demonstrated the right amount of reverence.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message