The Auschwitz concentration camp was established in April 1940 in the prewar Polish army barracks on the outskirts of Oświęcim. Originally intended for Polish political prisoners, the camp was 'repurposed ' as a dedicated center for the wholesale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1154 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a trip I'd like to recommend to everybody. It's a very powerful experience to hear all those stories right there on the spot. Hard, almost unbearable at times. The tour was well organized, staff were friendly and knowledgeable and everything went as planned. Plus you have a chance to see the beautiful Polish countryside on your 1,5 bus trip to the site and back.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver pick up us in our hotel and very knowledgeable drive as well.Our driver bring us to our destinations safely.The Auschwitz-Birkenau is one hour from the town and salt mine is about 10 to 15 mins. from the town, is recommended when going to Poland.Its terrible to see the Jewish things,hair and the way they live during the war.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

No hassle journey to site . Great guide . Something everyone should see . Highly recommended .

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Auschwitz trip very emotional. something everyone should see. very soft spoken and informative guide.
a must see!!
Salt mine tour was a blast. very cool. both temp, and visual!!

Great value for trips!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Natalie T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Driver and guide were great. Much nicer to be part of a small group rather than a coach load.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Natalie T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Driver and guide were great. Much nicer to be part of a small group rather than a coach load.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Auschwitz-Birkenau was a very interesting and moving trip . The guide had an extensive knowledge of the history of Auschwitz-Birkenau. It gave all those in the group a greater understanding of what happened during that time.
Wieliczka Salt Mine was amazing. Our guide in the salt mine - Matt was fantastic. As well as explaining about the history and workings of the mine past and present, he had a great sense of humor which made the experience informative and enjoyable.
I am glad I booked both trips in advance as I went in the busiest time of the year and there were big crowds. The organised tour enabled us to meet our guide and proceed with the tours without the fuss of waiting. I highly recommend both of these tours.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Guides were really good and kept the tour at the right level. I had wanted to go for years but if you don't want to go then don't as it a very difficult trip to make.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The experience was very moving. Although very cramped as it was very busy, lots of tours all at the same time, and I do feel we were rushed around Birkenau as we didn't Get some self time to look around. Didn't realise how big the camp was, extraordinary feeling, well worth the visit.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This had to be done lest we forget. Huge crowds doing the tour and it was good to be with an organised group. Good guide with lots of knowledge

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This had to be done lest we forget. Huge crowds doing the tour and it was good to be with an organised group. Good guide with lots of knowledge

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The trips were fine. We had a very unenthusiastic guide for auschwitz. That type of trip needs someone who is passionate. We had a lovely guide at the salt mines.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Transportation OK.
Guide at Auschwitz-Birkenau was the worst I have ever experienced. He looked totally uninterested in the tour and wanted no relationship with the tour group. He either ignored questions or gave short unsatisfactory answers. He did not want to be there. He should not be used again.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Actually The site itself is amazing! Feels the atmosphere there!...And I feel more intense since during walking around, I was listening Schindler's List Theme from my smartphone!

Local guide was rude. Sound so low, no expression and intention. Only a word in answering our questions. We prefer not to ask at all. Since this is small group and we only 10, earphone not provided.
Very short break, so we don't have time to explore the bookshop to have more clear history about this place.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message