The Tatra Mountains are the highest part of the Carpathian range and Poland's southernmost border. Today they are shared with Slovakia, but in the past it was Hungary and the dreaded Ottoman empire who frequently threatened to invade Poland. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The places visited were fantastic, however the tour guide could have been more informative, especially when considering the cost of the tour. We take a tour to avoid reading all the information about a place...in this case, we could have taken more information if we researched about it ourselves. Otherwise it was a pleasant tour.

Doing what: Zakopane, Tatra Mountains and Bania Thermal Pools Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very enjoyable day with an excellent English speaking guide. The scenery was great and as your tour guidance had said.. it was exactly what it said on the tine. We were really impressed with Krakow and its surroundings and we will be going there again!

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great day tour worth your money and worth seeing

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great day! Prompt pick up service quality transport and a well informed, friendly guide who explained so much to us in an interesting way.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent tour. However, when we got to Zakopane, the cable car was not in operation as they were refurbishing it. I felt that this was something the tour company should have been aware of. We ended up taking a chair lift up to the mountain. All in all it was a good experience.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Well worth the price, interesting visits to wooden village and ski resort, great views when the clouds clear, interesting just seeing the countryside . Great guide knew about everything and sense of humour as well.
Really a 'must do' if visiting krakow.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

On the way we stopped off at Chocholow where there are wonderful wooden houses. It was interesting to see the different housing throughout the trip from the Alpine type houses to the Zakopane-style ones around the town. Beautiful green countryside, primarily forested.
Zakopane was plentifully supplied with tourist stalls selling everything from clothing to food, especially Highland cheese.
The funicular up to Mount Gubalowska was efficient, and it was surprising to see a sandy area at the top with people sunbathing on deckchairs. The walk along the top to the cable car was lined with more tourist stalls and cafes and, while the views were good across to the Tatras Mountains, there did not seem to be much to do and it lacked focus.
We had expected that have spent time nearer to or in the Tatras themselves and had a more exploratory experience.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our day, sadly the weather was less than perfect to experience the full impressive beauty of this mountain range BUT despite that we heartily enjoyed Andreas's joy and wealth of knowledge in the history of the region. His excellent English and bright disposition was a real joy. Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Perfect time of year when i went really interesting tour

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fabulous guide Jack English version of his name, so passionate about his job, fantastic day out, highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The bus was too small
There was too much free time
The guide was very good

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Super NICE!! Our guide was amazing!!

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour. Very patient and passionate tour guide.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE!!!!! Worst tour I have ever been on. I had been traveling around Europe for about 2 months before I booked this tour from Krakow. I have done a few tours along the way and generally know what to expect from a tour. This tour was rubbish. The guide was absolutely terrible and the schedule was poorly organised. There was no prior information given about what to pack for the day. I felt rushed all day long and at the main stops that I was interested in had no time to enjoy it or take photos, then at stops that were unnecessary time went on for too long.
When we got on the bus we were told that we would only stop for a toilet break if someone really really needed to go (2 hour bus ride) and then when we did arrive, we had a tour of a church and then a grave yard, and then had to walk through the markets to a toilet. There were a number of elderly people on my tour and one lady ended up having to say to the guide "I really need the toilet". When we finally got to the toilet, we had to pay and they were so dirty and disgusting! I personally could not believe they would take us to these toilets, its shameful. Also for lunch. One we were on the bus and on our way the guide said to us "I hope you have packed snacks because we wont be stopping for lunch until the end of the tour!" Everybody was starving and had had enough by the time we got to the museum, I asked to leave early so I could eat because I was so hungry. When I asked the guide our meeting point and time she wouldn't tell me! She kept saying it depends on how long we take in the museum! I again asked where do we met the bus and when and she wouldn't tell me! The guide was the worst guide Ive ever had. Her communication was terrible. At the church I asked her to speak up as i couldn't hear her. Her response was 'Stand closer" She was very very very rude and no good at all. Also you don't get to go to the Tatras, you just get to see them in the distance.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The local guide knew a lot about the place and he was very nice. The place was nice as well and it would've been great it we could've visited the Tatra mountains, but it's impossible to see everything in 1-day trip :)

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Tour time should be reduced as most sight seeing and shopping was completed quickly and then left waiting about for return bus.

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I would definitely recommend viator as a tour company. We scheduled 3 tours and each was excellent. The tour guide was knowledgeable and also made each of us feel very special. Our guide also assisted us in negotiations when shopping for the beautiful items that we purchased as mementos of our wonderful visit to Poland

Doing what: Best Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message