The Tatra Mountains are the highest part of the Carpathian range and Poland's southernmost border. Today they are shared with Slovakia, but in the past it was Hungary and the dreaded Ottoman empire who frequently threatened to invade Poland. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 126 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very enjoyable day with an excellent English speaking guide. The scenery was great and as your tour guidance had said.. it was exactly what it said on the tine. We were really impressed with Krakow and its surroundings and we will be going there again!

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great day tour worth your money and worth seeing

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great day! Prompt pick up service quality transport and a well informed, friendly guide who explained so much to us in an interesting way.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent tour. However, when we got to Zakopane, the cable car was not in operation as they were refurbishing it. I felt that this was something the tour company should have been aware of. We ended up taking a chair lift up to the mountain. All in all it was a good experience.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Well worth the price, interesting visits to wooden village and ski resort, great views when the clouds clear, interesting just seeing the countryside . Great guide knew about everything and sense of humour as well.
Really a 'must do' if visiting krakow.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

On the way we stopped off at Chocholow where there are wonderful wooden houses. It was interesting to see the different housing throughout the trip from the Alpine type houses to the Zakopane-style ones around the town. Beautiful green countryside, primarily forested.
Zakopane was plentifully supplied with tourist stalls selling everything from clothing to food, especially Highland cheese.
The funicular up to Mount Gubalowska was efficient, and it was surprising to see a sandy area at the top with people sunbathing on deckchairs. The walk along the top to the cable car was lined with more tourist stalls and cafes and, while the views were good across to the Tatras Mountains, there did not seem to be much to do and it lacked focus.
We had expected that have spent time nearer to or in the Tatras themselves and had a more exploratory experience.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our day, sadly the weather was less than perfect to experience the full impressive beauty of this mountain range BUT despite that we heartily enjoyed Andreas's joy and wealth of knowledge in the history of the region. His excellent English and bright disposition was a real joy. Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Perfect time of year when i went really interesting tour

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fabulous guide Jack English version of his name, so passionate about his job, fantastic day out, highly recommended.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a lovely day out., fantastic views.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The bus was too small
There was too much free time
The guide was very good

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Super NICE!! Our guide was amazing!!

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour. Very patient and passionate tour guide.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE!!!!! Worst tour I have ever been on. I had been traveling around Europe for about 2 months before I booked this tour from Krakow. I have done a few tours along the way and generally know what to expect from a tour. This tour was rubbish. The guide was absolutely terrible and the schedule was poorly organised. There was no prior information given about what to pack for the day. I felt rushed all day long and at the main stops that I was interested in had no time to enjoy it or take photos, then at stops that were unnecessary time went on for too long.
When we got on the bus we were told that we would only stop for a toilet break if someone really really needed to go (2 hour bus ride) and then when we did arrive, we had a tour of a church and then a grave yard, and then had to walk through the markets to a toilet. There were a number of elderly people on my tour and one lady ended up having to say to the guide "I really need the toilet". When we finally got to the toilet, we had to pay and they were so dirty and disgusting! I personally could not believe they would take us to these toilets, its shameful. Also for lunch. One we were on the bus and on our way the guide said to us "I hope you have packed snacks because we wont be stopping for lunch until the end of the tour!" Everybody was starving and had had enough by the time we got to the museum, I asked to leave early so I could eat because I was so hungry. When I asked the guide our meeting point and time she wouldn't tell me! She kept saying it depends on how long we take in the museum! I again asked where do we met the bus and when and she wouldn't tell me! The guide was the worst guide Ive ever had. Her communication was terrible. At the church I asked her to speak up as i couldn't hear her. Her response was 'Stand closer" She was very very very rude and no good at all. Also you don't get to go to the Tatras, you just get to see them in the distance.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The local guide knew a lot about the place and he was very nice. The place was nice as well and it would've been great it we could've visited the Tatra mountains, but it's impossible to see everything in 1-day trip :)

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Tour time should be reduced as most sight seeing and shopping was completed quickly and then left waiting about for return bus.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I would definitely recommend viator as a tour company. We scheduled 3 tours and each was excellent. The tour guide was knowledgeable and also made each of us feel very special. Our guide also assisted us in negotiations when shopping for the beautiful items that we purchased as mementos of our wonderful visit to Poland

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Susan G
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Maybe I misinterpreted the blurb about this tour but it was not what our party of 4 adults expected when we booked it. We expected to be in among the mountains - wrong! We expected to see something along the lines of a ski resort - wrong! We expected the funicular to take us to the top of a mountain to see beautiful views - wrong again.
The best aspect of the tour was the journey from Krakow to Zakopane through the beautiful countryside of lesser Poland. We passed through a village of lovely wooden houses which we were told are scrubbed annually by the ladies of the households in order to keep them looking so light-coloured and charming - a quick photo stop would have been nice.
On arrival in Zakopane we were taken on a tour of the old wooden church and the adjacent cemetery which was very interesting.
After that the tour went decidedly 'downhill'. Zakopane itself is one of the tackiest places I have ever been unfortunate enough to visit. Crowded with tourists of all nationalities, the main street is a veritable nightmare of tacky shops, fast food joints, restaurants, stalls etc We were taken to visit another church on the main street - very nice but where were the mountains?
Having walked through a huge tourist market, up the funicular we went (again bursting at the seams) only to alight in another smaller, but equally as depressing version of Zakopane, but on top of a hill, complete with pretend beach, deckchairs and plastic palm trees! Admittedly, had the weather been good we would have got a great view of the Tatra Mountains from afar, but sadly for us there was a fair amount of low cloud which obscured the views.
We were there in July - possibly it could be better at other times of the year but I wouldn't care to find out.
In conclusion I have to say that all the Viator Tours we have booked up until then have been great - this one, in our opinion, wasn't.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message