Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Tatra Mountains

The Tatra Mountains are the highest part of the Carpathian range and Poland's southernmost border. Today they are shared with Slovakia, but in the past it was Hungary and the dreaded Ottoman empire who frequently threatened to invade Poland. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marissa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing. Had a fantastic day. Great tour guide. Didn't spend as long as expected at the Bania Thermal Pools because they were so busy.

Doing what: Zakopane, Tatra Mountains and Bania Thermal Pools Day Trip from Krakow

Pekka K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Everything was well organized and the only minus was too small bus.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Patricia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

En route to Zakopane, you see a village with wooden houses. In Zakopane, you can walk around the commercial touristy town to shop and snack on smoked cheese or potato pancakes. After visiting an anthropology museum, you walk as a group to the funicular. Up on top, you can hardly see the view of the Tatras Mountains because of all the souvenir kiosks filled with junk not made in Poland.

For me, the best part of this tour was a visit to a small cemetery in Zakopane. Many of the gravesites are very interesting.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Kat

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Would like to have had more time at the Mountain. Beautiful scenic views and the weather was wonderful.
The Young Lady that was our Guide was very nice and full of information.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Sue D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

The minibus for the 4 hour round trip to Zakopane was cramped, dark and claustrophobic. For long trips, this mini bus is inappropriate - further, the guide needs to work harder - giving more general information at least on the out bound trip. Only on reaching Zakopane, were we told the funicular was out of service and we would see a second church instead. in fact Zacopane is a ski resort so if no snow/out of season, we really didn't think it worth the 4 hour travel. the market is very similar to that in Kracow. it was a disappointing day in an otherwise excellent 4 days in Kracow.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Lori T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This trip was a lot of fun and our guide was great! He told us to call him Jack but I think his real name was something like Jacques. It was a nice break to get out of the city and though the weather that day wasn't the best, we still had a good time. There were things to do inside too like the museum we went into and it was a nice, relaxed pace. Our guide was really knowledgable and made suggestions of different foods that were special to the area to try. He also was flexible in the schedule to try and fit things with the weather as it was off and on raining. He even agreed to come down on the ski lift with 3 of us crazy girls despite it starting to rain though it stopped shortly before we headed down so it worked out alright but he didn't know it would so bless his heart all the same! o I'd recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Akshay A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A well organized tour with a very affable and informative tour guide.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had poor weather but the guide was good and the service excellent

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Amy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great tour, the tour guide was excellent, friendly, would do anything for us, was genuinely upset it was a cloudy day for us, but the weather really didn't matter as it was fantastic either way. We went up the funicular walked across the mountain tops and came down the ski lift, just in time for the skies to clear and give us spectacular views! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Brian M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was agreat day out and myself and nephew enjoyed it very much

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Neil W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was very good but due to the rain and fog we were not able to fully appreciate the whole view of the mountains and surrounding countryside.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Monica Iris T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

I was expected a little bit more of walking un the mountain.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

sue

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The guide talked too much and zakopane did not really have much to offer. Interesting to see the mountain area

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Kalia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Krakow tours has amazing staff for these tours! Thank you very much Jacek for the trip, the info provided and your assistance with the locals at Zakopane. It is really a place to visit! Do go and ask for Jacek if possible to be your guide, he is the best! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Aleksandra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The drive in weekend traffic was very long. Perhaos a weekly trip would be better. The poor guide had a stomach upset but he still soldiered on and it was a fabulous day. The guides are amazing - so passionate and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Andreas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommended day trip in Zakopane from where you can have great views of the Tatra Mountainsyou don't actually go to Tatras Mountains. If you have the opportunity it definitely worth staying there for 2-3 nights! Very beautiful place with outstanding views and lots of thinks to do.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

William W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a very rewarding tour delivered in spite of difficulties arising from traffic jams and congestion at Zakopane arising from the public holiday. All problems were overcome by the sheer infectious enthusiasm of the guide for what appears to be a location that holds a special place in the hearts of the Polish people.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Richard G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Long day but very interesting and enjoyable. Our driver/guide was very good.

Doing what: Zakopane, Tatra Mountains and Bania Thermal Pools Day Trip from Krakow

Anvor L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic! Lovely day trip. We were a small group, had a Nice driver, only Too much People in BaniaThermal Pools.

Doing what: Zakopane, Tatra Mountains and Bania Thermal Pools Day Trip from Krakow

Elena V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The places visited were fantastic, however the tour guide could have been more informative, especially when considering the cost of the tour. We take a tour to avoid reading all the information about a place...in this case, we could have taken more information if we researched about it ourselves. Otherwise it was a pleasant tour.

Doing what: Zakopane, Tatra Mountains and Bania Thermal Pools Day Trip from Krakow

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very enjoyable day with an excellent English speaking guide. The scenery was great and as your tour guidance had said.. it was exactly what it said on the tine. We were really impressed with Krakow and its surroundings and we will be going there again!

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Ravini J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great day tour worth your money and worth seeing

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

S K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great day! Prompt pick up service quality transport and a well informed, friendly guide who explained so much to us in an interesting way.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Brianna E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent tour. However, when we got to Zakopane, the cable car was not in operation as they were refurbishing it. I felt that this was something the tour company should have been aware of. We ended up taking a chair lift up to the mountain. All in all it was a good experience.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

THOMAS M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Well worth the price, interesting visits to wooden village and ski resort, great views when the clouds clear, interesting just seeing the countryside . Great guide knew about everything and sense of humour as well.
Really a 'must do' if visiting krakow.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message