Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Tatra Mountains

The Tatra Mountains are the highest part of the Carpathian range and Poland's southernmost border. Today they are shared with Slovakia, but in the past it was Hungary and the dreaded Ottoman empire who frequently threatened to invade Poland. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 151 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gregory J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Even though the weather was hazy and rainy we really enjoyed our tour of the Tatra Mountains and Zakopane. Our guide was informative and witty. The bus was roomy and comfortable. We had plenty of time to walk around Zakopane and view the mountains. We really want to come back to visit and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Beverly H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

If they come to your hotel to pick you up, make sure you're waiting next to the desk. We were in the lobby. No one ever called out our name or the trip name. When I called the phone number, I was told I should have been standing next to the desk. We had to pay for a cab to rush is to the central pick up area. No where in any of the literature did it say we had to be standing next to the desk. This was not a good start to our trip to Zacopane.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Christie A

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Bit of confusion at pick up. Driver good and very knowledgable. Very very quick tour of museum maybe give people 10-15mins to explore or a ticket for them to come back in the free time. Zakopane - worth going up the Funnicular for the view, the town itself packed with tourist market stalls all selling the same thing. Biggest annoyance why drive past the ski jump to show us the ski jump when one side of the bus can't even see it and the other side blinked and practically missed it.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Kerry K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Really dissapointing, stop at wooden village was a brief walk down the main road. Zakopane is just full of tacky tourist shops, hundreds of them in fact. If you have never been to see mountains it would be ok. Museum visit way too long and boring. Felt like we wasted our money and a day in Krakow.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

MARY S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

His tour was brilliant. Zakapone is a beautiful unique place I would recommend it .
Scenery outstanding Tetra mountains
Mary-Ireland

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Ross K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an excellent tour and our guide was entertaining and knowledgeable, would highly recommend the trip. The small bus was roomy, and there was time to explore by ourselves as well as the formal tour.
Would also recommend Poland as a place to go, enjoyed every day of our time in Warsaw, Krakow and Wroclaw.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

peter l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

my wife and I are old, but young at heart.we loved every minute of our holiday . the people were so kind and friendly the area was so clean , no litter blowing around , so many places of interest to see and such lovely buildindsalso prices were very good thoroughly recommend pete lucas

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Marilyn B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very informative and enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

MARY S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Unique and Beautiful place well worth a visit .Guide was excellent very informative .good value foe money

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

katherine l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved this tour, lots of free time in an amazing town. Food is out of this world, mountains are beautiful and journey itself very educating.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Marissa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing. Had a fantastic day. Great tour guide. Didn't spend as long as expected at the Bania Thermal Pools because they were so busy.

Doing what: Zakopane, Tatra Mountains and Bania Thermal Pools Day Trip from Krakow

Pekka K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Everything was well organized and the only minus was too small bus.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Patricia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

En route to Zakopane, you see a village with wooden houses. In Zakopane, you can walk around the commercial touristy town to shop and snack on smoked cheese or potato pancakes. After visiting an anthropology museum, you walk as a group to the funicular. Up on top, you can hardly see the view of the Tatras Mountains because of all the souvenir kiosks filled with junk not made in Poland.

For me, the best part of this tour was a visit to a small cemetery in Zakopane. Many of the gravesites are very interesting.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Kat

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Would like to have had more time at the Mountain. Beautiful scenic views and the weather was wonderful.
The Young Lady that was our Guide was very nice and full of information.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Sue D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

The minibus for the 4 hour round trip to Zakopane was cramped, dark and claustrophobic. For long trips, this mini bus is inappropriate - further, the guide needs to work harder - giving more general information at least on the out bound trip. Only on reaching Zakopane, were we told the funicular was out of service and we would see a second church instead. in fact Zacopane is a ski resort so if no snow/out of season, we really didn't think it worth the 4 hour travel. the market is very similar to that in Kracow. it was a disappointing day in an otherwise excellent 4 days in Kracow.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Lori T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This trip was a lot of fun and our guide was great! He told us to call him Jack but I think his real name was something like Jacques. It was a nice break to get out of the city and though the weather that day wasn't the best, we still had a good time. There were things to do inside too like the museum we went into and it was a nice, relaxed pace. Our guide was really knowledgable and made suggestions of different foods that were special to the area to try. He also was flexible in the schedule to try and fit things with the weather as it was off and on raining. He even agreed to come down on the ski lift with 3 of us crazy girls despite it starting to rain though it stopped shortly before we headed down so it worked out alright but he didn't know it would so bless his heart all the same! o I'd recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Akshay A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A well organized tour with a very affable and informative tour guide.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had poor weather but the guide was good and the service excellent

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Amy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great tour, the tour guide was excellent, friendly, would do anything for us, was genuinely upset it was a cloudy day for us, but the weather really didn't matter as it was fantastic either way. We went up the funicular walked across the mountain tops and came down the ski lift, just in time for the skies to clear and give us spectacular views! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Brian M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was agreat day out and myself and nephew enjoyed it very much

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Neil W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was very good but due to the rain and fog we were not able to fully appreciate the whole view of the mountains and surrounding countryside.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Monica Iris T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

I was expected a little bit more of walking un the mountain.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

sue

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The guide talked too much and zakopane did not really have much to offer. Interesting to see the mountain area

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message