The Tatra Mountains are the highest part of the Carpathian range and Poland's southernmost border. Today they are shared with Slovakia, but in the past it was Hungary and the dreaded Ottoman empire who frequently threatened to invade Poland. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 106 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE!!!!! Worst tour I have ever been on. I had been traveling around Europe for about 2 months before I booked this tour from Krakow. I have done a few tours along the way and generally know what to expect from a tour. This tour was rubbish. The guide was absolutely terrible and the schedule was poorly organised. There was no prior information given about what to pack for the day. I felt rushed all day long and at the main stops that I was interested in had no time to enjoy it or take photos, then at stops that were unnecessary time went on for too long.
When we got on the bus we were told that we would only stop for a toilet break if someone really really needed to go (2 hour bus ride) and then when we did arrive, we had a tour of a church and then a grave yard, and then had to walk through the markets to a toilet. There were a number of elderly people on my tour and one lady ended up having to say to the guide "I really need the toilet". When we finally got to the toilet, we had to pay and they were so dirty and disgusting! I personally could not believe they would take us to these toilets, its shameful. Also for lunch. One we were on the bus and on our way the guide said to us "I hope you have packed snacks because we wont be stopping for lunch until the end of the tour!" Everybody was starving and had had enough by the time we got to the museum, I asked to leave early so I could eat because I was so hungry. When I asked the guide our meeting point and time she wouldn't tell me! She kept saying it depends on how long we take in the museum! I again asked where do we met the bus and when and she wouldn't tell me! The guide was the worst guide Ive ever had. Her communication was terrible. At the church I asked her to speak up as i couldn't hear her. Her response was 'Stand closer" She was very very very rude and no good at all. Also you don't get to go to the Tatras, you just get to see them in the distance.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The local guide knew a lot about the place and he was very nice. The place was nice as well and it would've been great it we could've visited the Tatra mountains, but it's impossible to see everything in 1-day trip :)

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Tour time should be reduced as most sight seeing and shopping was completed quickly and then left waiting about for return bus.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I would definitely recommend viator as a tour company. We scheduled 3 tours and each was excellent. The tour guide was knowledgeable and also made each of us feel very special. Our guide also assisted us in negotiations when shopping for the beautiful items that we purchased as mementos of our wonderful visit to Poland

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Susan G
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Maybe I misinterpreted the blurb about this tour but it was not what our party of 4 adults expected when we booked it. We expected to be in among the mountains - wrong! We expected to see something along the lines of a ski resort - wrong! We expected the funicular to take us to the top of a mountain to see beautiful views - wrong again.
The best aspect of the tour was the journey from Krakow to Zakopane through the beautiful countryside of lesser Poland. We passed through a village of lovely wooden houses which we were told are scrubbed annually by the ladies of the households in order to keep them looking so light-coloured and charming - a quick photo stop would have been nice.
On arrival in Zakopane we were taken on a tour of the old wooden church and the adjacent cemetery which was very interesting.
After that the tour went decidedly 'downhill'. Zakopane itself is one of the tackiest places I have ever been unfortunate enough to visit. Crowded with tourists of all nationalities, the main street is a veritable nightmare of tacky shops, fast food joints, restaurants, stalls etc We were taken to visit another church on the main street - very nice but where were the mountains?
Having walked through a huge tourist market, up the funicular we went (again bursting at the seams) only to alight in another smaller, but equally as depressing version of Zakopane, but on top of a hill, complete with pretend beach, deckchairs and plastic palm trees! Admittedly, had the weather been good we would have got a great view of the Tatra Mountains from afar, but sadly for us there was a fair amount of low cloud which obscured the views.
We were there in July - possibly it could be better at other times of the year but I wouldn't care to find out.
In conclusion I have to say that all the Viator Tours we have booked up until then have been great - this one, in our opinion, wasn't.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

I would not recomment this tour to anyone.

1) Took us 3 1/2 hrs drive from Zakopane due to the huge amount of traffic from Krakow as there is only one road available. Not under the control of the company but if the rest had been worth it, it would have been worth the while

2) Too touristy as a place (in summer). Too many people, too crowdy. Looked more like El Fna in Marrakech, Morocco than Poland. I literally hated the place. Spent most of the time in a subway because I couldn't take it

3) The tour guide (Anna if I'm not mistaken) was really nice and very knowledgeable about Zakopane. However touring a graveyard was a waste of time. Why would anyone on earth want to visit a graveyard full of unknown unimportant people (most of whom unheard of skiers)?

4) Including Tatras Mountains in the title is highly misleading. There are NO tatras mountains. You just see them from a distance and only if you're lucky and there is clear visibility. Otherwise up on Gubalowka is just another crowded place. The highlands in Scotland would put this rubbish to shame.

5) Stay clear of this tour at least in Summer (I can't speak of how it looks in winter).

6) I'm saying this as a person whose main aim was to get out of a city and mingle with nature. So it might have been my fault for choosing the wrong tour. If however you like touristy markety crowded heated places then you'll definitely enjoy this.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful scenery, comfortable ride, excellent guide. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic trip ..Guide really interesting even in the cemetery in Zakopane ! Honest never seen such fascinating tomb stones before, steeped in history. Our guide Andrew gave us the option of free time or explaining more ...good measure of discussion without being overbearing. HIGHLY RECCOMEND TRIP :)

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved the beauty of the scenery on this trip,sadly the weather was poor but we still enjoyed.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Good in the sense that it is hard to travel to Zakopane without a car but in terms of the prices in Poland, the tour is relatively pricey (as the things in Poland are quite cheap). Our guide Jacek is friendly and shared with us about Zakopane from different perspectives.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Bad Weather.Cemetery visit unnecessary-should have been optional--too wet to listen to info about
unknown deceased.Guide very thorough,his english rather excessively formal,plenty of information about his Grandmother,OK

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Although this tour takes you to breath-taking scenery on the Tatras mountains and the picturesque village of Zakopane, I had to give this tour 5 stars because of the tour leader 'Jack'. Definitely, in all my travels he was one the best tour guides I have ever met. Soft spoken, friendly, full of knowledge and very informative. A man who really love his job!!!

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good guide, and a beautiful place well worth a trip

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful place with gorgeous mountains.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Informative guide and beautiful scenery. Enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message