• USD ($)
  • English

Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wawel Royal Castle (Zamek Wawelski)

The political and cultural centre of Poland until the end of the 16th century, Wawel Royal Castle, also known as Zamek Wawelski is, like Wawel Cathedral, the very symbol of Poland's national identity. The original, rather small residence of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Guide was so extremely boring .She just rambled on .She left us outside the castle did not enter with us but for 45 minutes went on and on about what we would see .Rushed us throughout the tour.

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Catherine C
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were only 3 in the group that did this tour last Oct 23, 2013 but it was so well organized and comprehensive and our guide, although an elderly, was so knowledgeable and still energetic even with all the walking we did. Most of Krakow's highlights we were able to visit most specially the Wawel Castle and Cathedral, the Main Market Square, Jagellonian University, the Cloth Hall, The Jewish Quarter,Kaziemerz,etc.

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was great! As it was Winter season and I was travelling on my own, there were only three of us in the English speaking tour. This was absolutely perfect as we got to spend quite a lot of time in each place and we weren't rushed. Our tour guide was also able to answer any questions we had in relation to any of the sights we were at, at the time.
The tour started in the Old Jewish Town as we were told about the Synagogues. We then got picked up by the bus and taken to Krakow Castle where we ventured in by foot. We were able to look at many of the fine tappestries and art in the castle. After the castle we walked to Old Town Square and entered St.Mary's Cathederal. This is where our tour ended.
This tour is highly recommended, especially in the Historical events in Krakow's history!

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

very enjoyable tour and Ada, our guide, is very knowledgeable and happy to answer every question. Our only disappointment was misunderstanding that the tour did not include entry inside Wawel castle but the tour of the grounds and walking the royaly route was very interesting

Doing what: Private Tour: Krakow City Highlights Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

the tour spent 2 hours in the castle, looking at the paintings and tapestries. we had very little time for anything else, and it certainly was not 'Krakow in one day". very disappointing

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

On this group tour there were only 4 of us. The tour guide spoke quickly and softly and I could not hear nor understand what she was explaining about the Jewish quarters in Krakow. She also only spoke to one of the persons in the tour. I do not even think she introduced herself. By the time we got to the Wawel Castle I became too disinterested in whatever she had to say at that point about the castle. I flew to Poland to learn about the Jewish people still so many of them died during WWII and I believe this would have been a worthwhile tour had we a guide who spoke at an even pace and one who would speak to the whole group and not just to one, or two individuals.

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The guide was good and knowledgeable and as there were only 3 of us, we had a pretty good time exploring the jewish quarters, univ, wawel castle, etc.

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

My sister and I really enjoyed seeing Krakow with our guide, Conrad. He was knowledgeable and very entertaining. Among other sights, we saw Wawel Cathedral and Castle (amazingly beautiful), Kazimierz Jewish district, and the Main Square including Saint Mary's Church. We saw a great deal of the city. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Great walking tour to see the city in just a couple hours. However, wish there was time to go down to the Dragon's Den in Wawel Castle.

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

William C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

brilliant guide having live in krakow all her life she was so imformative about wawel castle jewish quarters main square sights excellent would recommend

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Anthony G
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

this tour is an half day tour, which we found very interesting and it gets your bearings of the city, the main attraction of this tour was of cause the wawel castle and cathedral which were amazing, just a pointer of any one thinking of visiting the cathedral especially women make sure you either have clothing that already covers your shoulders or take something with you that ,will as are spot on when entering the cathedral. i would recommend this tour if asked.

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

DJ & SJ
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

So glad we booked this on my birthday (SJ) and not Auschwitz/Birkenau. I don't think I could have survived being 60 on such a day in such a place. This trip was most interesting, informative and well executed. The English-Speaking guide was attentive, but walked much too fast in parts for our poor legs to keep up, and she had to stop and wait for us on several occasions. Otherwise, walking and steps apart, the Wawel Castle (vavval) and Church, with the wonderful Art work, and decor, the furniture, etc were equal in comparison to Konopiste Castle in Czech Republic last year, and better preserved than the Czesky Crumlov in Czech Republic last ear.
All told, the tour showed us parts of the town, the Main Market Square, explained about the Kazimierz district, and King Kazimierz etc, and the division he instigated between the Jews and the Gentiles - the wall, the remains of the old wall - all explained well, in detail, but for me, (SJ) going back to the 1100's is of no real interest. I want to EXPERIENCE a country and it's current culture, not it's antiquities. However that is not what we are offered wherever we go. It is always Centuries old news, and dates and History do nothing for me. Reality does, and the graffiti in the Jewish area shows a lack of respect for the 200 Jews left out of what was once (1941-43) 70000 souls. THAT is tragic!

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Very good introduction to the city. We went back to the castle and St Mary's church the following day for more casual wandering. Definitely a good overview of the Old Town area.

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message