Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1068 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dorothy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well worth doing when in Krakow - very talented and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Anne C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

When I got to krakow I called to confirm my trip for the next day. I called about 15 hours ahead. I was told that we could not be picked up at our hotel because the schedule had already been done and we could not be fit it. We took a cab for15 zlt. As everyone was picked up the last person was at the Hilton garden inn around the corner from our best western q plus hotel. There was no reason that we could not have been picked up on the way to the Hilton hotel.
It was stated that the tour would last 4 hours but was 5 hrs. There was a lot of walking especially at the end to exit. The walking was worse than the 840 steps. In spite of this the guides were good.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful trip! None of us knew what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised! An amazing insight into another world, expertly explained by our very experienced guide. Would highly recommend a visit.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

christine w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

we found this trip lived up to expectation we had seen the video but being there was superb your driver deserves a mention he was very good and knowledgable

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Tour from Krakow with Private Round-Trip Transfers

Frank S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to Auschwitz in the morning, which is a heavy experience, contrasts with the afternoon Salt Mine tour which finishes up the day on a lighter note.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Exceptional value for money. Transport was excellent and well co-ordinated. Guided tours were superb as were the guides. Absolutely worth the money.....whilst the subject matter is mindblowing in all the ways you can imagine and more.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

GerV

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tours with very experienced tour guides, would highly recommend the Salt Mines tour.....

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Nikhil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Both guides were extremely knowledgeable and we really appreciated being picked up from our apartment. The use of their radio mic feeding to earphones was great as it meant we didn't have to listen carefully on top of other tour guides speaking. The entire experience was smooth and enjoyable, Auschwitz was a real eye-opener and it is still taking time for us to really comprehend the vast scale of the Birkenau camp. Great value for money we asked and looked around at other prices when we got to krakow and this was very competitive so would definitely recommend to others!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Thomas T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour.. I didn't realise how interesting the salt mine tour would be. Obviously the visit to Auschwitz was scarring, but it was worthwhile. The guide was very informative.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Sally B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good friendly staff, on time collections from pre arranged pick up points. Central drop off point in central Kracow on request. Do the 2 tours over 2 days as they are very different and quite a long day, too much for one day. Excellent knowledge from guides used at venues. Great value for money

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

DAVID B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing place to visit. You can't go to Krakow

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

E Mae L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great! Transport was taken care of very well and the tour was well-organised. Audio guides made it very easy to listen in on what the guide was saying. Money well spent!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Kevin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Could not believe that it was all made of salt! Excellent trip, professional guide very good, and so close to Krakow.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

colinbond731

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very interesting tour, a lot of steps so beware, but well worth it. Well organised and informative.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

susan d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Both tours were amazing.trip leaders were friendly and organized and tour guides informative .well impressed.would highly recommend

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Caroline L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour picked up on time at hotel very comfortable journey. Pleasant drivers highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

weevee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

absolutely unique,definetly a must see to have your understanding of this amazing place,highly recommend.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

keith g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful friendly tour guides and drivers.Very extensive knowledge of both places.Your staff are very committed.
Lots of walking on both tours but so worth it.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Laura S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Customer service was excellent. I booked it at the last minute and all the details were confirmed really quickly.
Wear flat shoes - there and #39;s lots of walking.
The mines are interesting; guide was informative and helpful.
There and #39;s only 1 lift back to the surface and I found waiting claustrophobic.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Stephen V

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Interesting insight into the salt mining of old. A bit of a rushed tour at times with no time to buy a guide, a souvenir or even a drink during the Half day tour. The mine itself though was definitely worth seeing, very impressive

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Shane C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Auschwitz-Birkenau was definitely the highlight of our time in Krakow. You get to see just how bad the events were during the war and the extent of what was taking place.
The Salt mine was a little too long, started becoming repetitive towards the end. Would have been spending half the time in there.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Peter M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Worth the visit but getting back on lift was a bit of a nightmare. Too many groups in the one area and guides couldn't work out who was in their group.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Salty

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The driver was friendly and informative. it was lovely to travel in style and comfort without waiting for others

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Tour from Krakow with Private Round-Trip Transfers

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message