Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1081 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diarmaid M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very moving visit to a place of mass killing and torture. The day was well planed and we had time to take in all that we were shown. The guide was very informative and got the heartfelt points across in a clear and concise manor. This was more of a pilgrimage than a sightseeing tour for me. Diarmaid McGarrigle Northern Ireland

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Rosanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip
Very well organised
Tour guide very informative
Well worth doing

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Dorothy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well worth doing when in Krakow - very talented and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

G R J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Reply to my email about when and where to collect was quick and professional, and the mini bus though arriving late on the first trip due to heavy rain and traffic was on time the second morning. Everything was explained clearly and the guides provided were excellent. The drivers were very obliging on our return, stopping at particular landmarks if required. The only criticism is the size of the seats on the buses which were very tight, and if the journey had been longer, would have been quite uncomfortable.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Neil W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

2 Excellent tours conducted by knowledgeable guides. The pick up and drop offs were well coordinated by the friendly Discover Krakow staff. Completing the 2 tours in a single day makes for a long day but well worth the time. Doing the 2 in one day and given the amount of walking I wouldnt recomend this for someone who has any difficulty walking at a decent pace. All of the sites are busy and the groups need to keep to a schedule to stay seperated from the other groups and prevent bottlenecks and the 360 steps down to reach the start tour in the salt mines. The use of the headsets worked very well ensureing you didnt miss any of the information.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

M D L F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

would recommend this trip to everyone who visits Krakow

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

giorgio v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

tour organizzato in maniera perfetta. abbiamo avuto la fortuna di essere i soli italiani ed in pratica abbiamo effettuato in tour privato. guida preparatissima. consiglio fortemente

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Mitchell D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

tour of Auschwitz itself, was overpowering. the salt mines, were a lot of fun. I recommend doing them on separate days for comfort. just some info though: what you are paying for is a transportation company to deliver you to the sites only. the tours are conducted by site specific guides that are unaffiliated.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Anne C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

When I got to krakow I called to confirm my trip for the next day. I called about 15 hours ahead. I was told that we could not be picked up at our hotel because the schedule had already been done and we could not be fit it. We took a cab for15 zlt. As everyone was picked up the last person was at the Hilton garden inn around the corner from our best western q plus hotel. There was no reason that we could not have been picked up on the way to the Hilton hotel.
It was stated that the tour would last 4 hours but was 5 hrs. There was a lot of walking especially at the end to exit. The walking was worse than the 840 steps. In spite of this the guides were good.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Joanna M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

There is a company that takes you to the mines, and then the actual mine tour guides take you around. So the company that we booked through, just literally shuttled us and took money. Would have been easier to cut out the middle man. The company was especially disorganized. They didn't seem like they knew what they were doing, and there was no benefit to booking through the company.
The mines themselves are amazing. But the tour was rushed and not enough time to eat or buy souvenirs.
I would recommend going by yourself if you want to spend more time in the mines. The town is 15 min drive from Krakow, so it would have been better to go ourselves. Because we booked ahead, I thought that we would get right in, instead we had to wait for 30-45mins outside in the rain. Meanwhile another tour company were able to just walk right in. I think this was mainly due to the disorganization of the company. So we really felt that it would have been just as easy to go ourselves.
The photo pass was a bit of a rip off. The company didn't tell us that we could buy them inside, so I rushed ahead to get it. Then on the mine tour they said- go ahead and take pictures, you can buy the pass when you are through the mines--- so this would have been very easy to just not pay. I felt ripped off.

Overall, very cool to see! But just go yourself.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

marva w

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

the tour was wonderful. Krakow is such a beautiful city. I would recommend a visit to everyone.

Doing what: 2 Nights in Krakow with Guided Half-Day Tour of Auschwitz-Birkenau or Wieliczka Salt Mine

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful trip! None of us knew what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised! An amazing insight into another world, expertly explained by our very experienced guide. Would highly recommend a visit.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

christine w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

we found this trip lived up to expectation we had seen the video but being there was superb your driver deserves a mention he was very good and knowledgable

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Tour from Krakow with Private Round-Trip Transfers

Frank S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to Auschwitz in the morning, which is a heavy experience, contrasts with the afternoon Salt Mine tour which finishes up the day on a lighter note.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Exceptional value for money. Transport was excellent and well co-ordinated. Guided tours were superb as were the guides. Absolutely worth the money.....whilst the subject matter is mindblowing in all the ways you can imagine and more.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

GerV

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tours with very experienced tour guides, would highly recommend the Salt Mines tour.....

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Nikhil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Both guides were extremely knowledgeable and we really appreciated being picked up from our apartment. The use of their radio mic feeding to earphones was great as it meant we didn't have to listen carefully on top of other tour guides speaking. The entire experience was smooth and enjoyable, Auschwitz was a real eye-opener and it is still taking time for us to really comprehend the vast scale of the Birkenau camp. Great value for money we asked and looked around at other prices when we got to krakow and this was very competitive so would definitely recommend to others!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Thomas T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour.. I didn't realise how interesting the salt mine tour would be. Obviously the visit to Auschwitz was scarring, but it was worthwhile. The guide was very informative.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Sally B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good friendly staff, on time collections from pre arranged pick up points. Central drop off point in central Kracow on request. Do the 2 tours over 2 days as they are very different and quite a long day, too much for one day. Excellent knowledge from guides used at venues. Great value for money

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

DAVID B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing place to visit. You can't go to Krakow

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

E Mae L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great! Transport was taken care of very well and the tour was well-organised. Audio guides made it very easy to listen in on what the guide was saying. Money well spent!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message