Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1020 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rosep01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very good tour, excellent value and well organised.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Elisabeth G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Both days were very well organised and enjoyable. The bus picked us up at the right time and the documentary we saw on the way to Auschwitz prepared us well for what to expect there. We were very fortunate to get the best, most knowledgable tour guides who knew a lot about the places, their history and talked very passionately about them. The tour was definitely worth every cent.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Jelle Sjoerd v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I would absolutely recommend this trip!!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

b v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely wonderful. The tour guide was fabulous, explained everything very well. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Lorraine.osullivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great value for money with the two trips incorporated into the price. However be warned the Auschwitz trip is more like a full day tour, we didn't get back until around 6pm. Auschwitz is a moving and memorable tour that has to be whilst the salt mines were very interesting. Pick up at the hotel was prompt and the tour bus was clean and comfortable. All of the staff are very polite

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

armand a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The salt mine was very good tour and the bus was very comfortable. I hope you get a more livelier tour guide because it makes a huge impact on the your and experience.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent service once again but we have come to expect this from Viator.
The pick up from our apartment was prompt, the guide at Auschwitz was superb, both in information and tone, the link up instructions for the salt mine clear and honoured.
We are delighted with Viator and will, and are, continuing to use them.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Keri L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, our guide was excellent and we really enjoyed the experience. If you are visiting Krakow I think the Salt Mines is a must. The coach was very comfortable and on the journey we were given extra information about Krakow which was really helpful.

However, we were collected from our hotel at 8am and could have met at the Sheraton just before 9am and it was only a ten minute walk away so would have done this if we had realised.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

robert d

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour is good but very rushed at times. Sometimes it felt like we had to run to catch up with the guide and then missed some of the talk as the headphones only work very close to the guide.
We went in the winter and found it was best to leave some layers off as 14 deg felt warm in the mine.
I would say it is worth doing to trip and paying the extra to take photos.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Marissa H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Pick up was disjointed with a 20minutes stop around the corner from the hotel to wait for other people. Really interesting tour. Don't stress about grabbing food or drink before the tour, there are multiple opportunities underground!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Roy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

very well organised and informative tour, would highly recommend.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Janet H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour, out tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Paula Maria C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good organisation and transport from the hotel to the tours and return.
Tour guide was excellent, knowledge and guidance was effective and informative.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Really interesting and amaising all that work and material extraction done below ground. only touch the small amount going down to level 3 I understand level 5 has a large footbal pitch

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Raelene J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. I was very impressed.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Pearl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Extremely powerful experience. The minibus collected me from my hotel in Krakow and we were driven to camp1, where we were escorted around by a very knowledgeable guide. We then had a little time for lunch and to look in the bookshop before being driven to camp 2. The same guide escorted us around. There was plenty of time to see everything you needed to see and to visit the bookshop. The day lasted about 9 hours and was quite tiring.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Carol M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

There was a very long wait once we arrived at the Salt Mine before we could enter. The tour person disappeared without an explanation and finally returned. I decided she must have been arranging tickets. Given that this was scheduled long in advance, I would have thought that would have been done beforehand. However, the tours once underway, were outstanding.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

alkan50

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The Salt Mine is a unique sculpture tour. You'll see numerous carvings made of salt while walking through a series of underground tunnels. There appear to be different tours available and this is one of the alternatives. Another involved miners hats. I saw signs that indicated there's a handicapped accessible route but I don't have any direct knowledge of it. This tour does involve a fair amount of walking, and begins by going down a lot of steps, but most people with average mobility can handle it. Guide did not use headsets so you had to stay close to hear.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Sue D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

An excellent tour, well organised, really interesting and different.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Gordon S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

A good experience with spectacular one off sights. A good tour for the general tourist but if youre interested how it was engineered this is not for you.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Jess G

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

This tour was interesting to see how they worked underground back in the day. Also the church is very fascinating under the city.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Lynn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour is a must for everyone. It was well organised and we were picked up from our hotel as arranged. The Tour guide at the location retold the prisoner's harrowing accounts in a sensitive manner and lead us through an accommodation block, gas chamber, crematorium and showed us the museum where the possessions found on liberation were displayed. Other areas were also highlighted. Fascinating but horrific. We were on our feet for 3-4 hours so comfortable shoes, warm clothes and umbrella are a must.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Jean C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Both tours were well organised and informative.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message