Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1136 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was very interesting and our tour guide had a dry sense of humour which was an added plus to the whole experience.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

ajggodfrey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great guides, informative and sensitive to the location. Efficiently run trips, nice coach, good staff and always punctual.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

andrew w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Auschwitz-Birkenau very interesting and emotional.would recommend the company but museum guide that took us round spoke in a monotone voice and unemotional. The salt mine good experience and good guide. Do not do the two tours in one day it would be very punishing unless one day is all you have.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Both tours fantastic. Transport was excellent and guides very informative. Salt mine was fascinating. Auschwitz was very touching.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Colin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tours of both Auschwitz and salt mine, it was a long day visiting both but there was time in between to grab a coffee and a bite to eat in Kraków between tours. Both tours recommended.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

jdc_klt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip. Did both tours in one day and it was worth it!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Jax B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Informative and thought provoking tour lead by a great guide with an appropriately sombre tone. Organisation seemed a little higgeldy-piggeldy initially but once sorted into groups well done Matt everything was fine headsets worked great and the tour was conducted at a good pace.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Dickmitch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an unbelievable tour. DO NOT MISS THIS! Organised extremely well.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

SUSAN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Unbelievable a must do you would not believe what is underground you can even get married there truly amazing

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Michele N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent service.
Auschwitz was very emotive - as expected.
The salt mines are incredible. There are many beautiful carvings made from the salt - including the large chandeliers which grace the church.
The two trips can be done in one day, but they are both rather tiring so probably better to do them separately.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The salt mines are really something to see. The tour bus was on time, picking us up at our hotel. The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We arrived back at the hotel on time. Clearly a must see when in Poland.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Paula M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing experience. And your guides take good care of you from pick up in Main Market Square to drop-off.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Martin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Trip was booked at last minute and we were limited to just one day to complete both visits. Very professionallly arranged tours from picking us up at the hotel just after breakfast 7.15am to travelling in luxurious coaches and having good englishing speaking tour leaders. We were given head sets on both tours and were able to hear the tour leader clearly at alll times. A very tiring day but one which had two very different but just brilliant tours in their own right an not to be missed. Highly recommended tour operators.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Cath P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

excellent, guide knew his stuff and made it very interesting

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Mike T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely a must do on a visit to Kraków. We had an early pick up time from our hotel but it was worth it to get to Auschwitz before it got too busy and the number of visitors means that it certainly does that.. The mini-bus was very modern and we were shown an interesting video on the way there. The guides were knowledgeable and made the visit enjoyable. There was not much in the way of free time to explore on our own, which would have been nice, and the tours of the two Auschwitz sites moved on at a fair pace. At least there was no time to get bored. Large numbers of people visit here so the guides have a hard job to keep everyone together and moving through the various buildings and exhibits and they did a good job although I found myself having to catch up if I stopped to take photographs as the schedule was so tight. This is a very moving place to visit and it generates a lot of emotion, chiefly anger that human beings could have been cruel and were allowed to get away with the atrocities committed here, also sadness at the suffering those poor people who were sent here endured. My opinion is that everyone should visit Auschwitz at some point in their lives and I am so glad that it has been preserved so that future generations can know what happened here. Sadly, the human race doesn't seem to have learned from this and Genocide is still going on around the world to this day.
We did the trip to the salt mine the following evening and although very different was interesting and worth a visit, although not to the same extent at Auschwitz. The best part was the underground Church with all the ornate carvings and statues. There are a lot of steps to go down into the mine but thankfully there are lifts to get you back to the surface.
This is not a trip to do if you are not good on your feet and that applies to both tours.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Delwyn N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing...absolutely a must do in Kraków!!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

jcniles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this tour. Like most of the Viator tours we took from Krakow, the beginning and end were too rushed......didn't have time to pick up any souvenirs etc. because we had to hurry and get on the bus. But, the tours were great.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Robina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did this tour over two days.. My main focus was Auschwitz as four members of my family died there. I didn't understand that the two sections are quite separate ie the work camp is at Auschwitz 1 and gas chambers are at auschwitz 2. I needed longer at auschwitz 2 than a regular visitor would want..I would therefore recommend a private tour for anyone who has personal reasons to visit. it still worked out due to the sensitivity of our wonderful guide Barbara who stayed back in her own time to give me the time and Information that was so important to me. I can't thank her enough. if you do the super saver I think the two day option is the way to go as you would be exhausted doing them back to back and salt mine is a fun tour to lighten up after your day at Auschwitz. Excellent tour highly recommended and I Was lucky to have such an incredible guide.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Bungy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great To Appreciate, tour group possibly a little to big. You see everything that you would except to see, most memorable was walking into a and #34;Shower and #34;. Birkenau was Way bigger than expected, make sure you take your camera

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

bellasteve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For both trips the pick up was on time. Both tours had good guides on them. Auschwitz is very moving but should be seen. Birkenau is just so big I think it hits home more then Auschwitz to me.
The salt mine tour was very good and interesting. Make sure you wear good walking shoes for both tours as quite alot of walking on both but I think you can short cut if walking is difficult for you. Lots of steps at the mine but lift available if you struggle. Very good value.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Karen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing, it was a long day but well worth it. Auschwitz was very mind provoking the guide was very informative. Salt mines are well worth a visit again the guide was very good and it was nice to see what can be carved out of salt.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message