• USD ($)
  • English

Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 584 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour! The knowledge of the tour guide was fantastic. Would recommend to friends

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were picked up at the hotel and looked after well. We were handed over to english speaking guides at both auschwitz and wielicza for the actual tour. When we finished, we found our guide and transport with no problem. Guides were friendly and pleasant and kept everything moving without pressuring us. Although you can do both these sites without an organised tour, it was so smooth and easy with someone to organise tickets and guides. Well worth it.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a very moving part of history trip,this is defiantly one trip you must do. It was the best of all our trips,highly recommend. And the guide was brilliant and knew her stuff,THANKYOU for a great day out.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Such a sobering place, but the transportation and information provided by Viator exceeded our high expectations. JB from South Carolina, USA

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

well organised - prompt pickup at hotel on each occasion. Guides were knowledgeable and the tours were handled appropriately. Would recommend these tours.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a hot day when we took the tour. Other than that it was a great tour. Seeing the different places in Auschwitz-Birkenau was an eye opener and learning what took place gave greater understanding of that period of time . It was well worth it. There was quite of walking and because it was hot my wife sat out the Birkenau section.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We took this as the double package over two days and I’m afraid it is very difficult to give an overall rating. First, the positive. Our tours of Auschwitz and Birkenau with Lukas were excellent. He has a genuine and personal interest and is very knowledgeable. He also speaks near-perfect English and I think we were lucky to have him as our guide. Five stars, Lukas, keep up the good work. Be prepared for a very emotional reaction to some of the things you will see.

Now the negatives. First, the salt mine. If you want to learn about the history of the mine, the different tools and mining techniques used over the centuries, etc, then don’t waste your time going here. It’s all glitz and bling and “look at the clever things carved out of salt”, silly light shows, music, etc. Half a day of my life I’ll never get back. Also, a warning to those who have mobility issues – you descend 800 steps (in stages) into the mine and cover an additional walking distance of 2 kilometres. Fine for us, but others struggled. You come back up in an elevator into which you are tightly – and I do mean tightly – packed.

I wouldn’t touch the tour organizers again with a 20 foot barge pole. First day, they over booked the tour and my husband had to sit at the front of the bus with the tour guide while I sat in the back. On the second day, they were 25 minutes late picking us up, separate seats again, then the driver was speeding and driving recklessly, presumably trying to make up for lost time. But all he achieved was to make his passengers nervous and uncomfortable. Don’t be fooled by the bit that says, “you’ll be picked up by a mini-bus”. Sure, you go in a mini-bus, but when you arrive at the destination, your group is blended with those from two other mini-buses so that you become a very large group. As a result it can be very difficult to see the things your guide is trying to tell you about.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I wish I could rate the two tours separately because Auschwitz deserves 5 stars and Wieliczka deserves 2 (unless you enjoy activities that have been overly exploited by tourism, then it also deserves 5 stars)
Auschwitz tour was well run and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Did not feel bored or underwhelmed at any moment of the tour even when we had to wait in a staging area before going to the next room. She had so many facts and stories to make sure that we got everything out of the tour we could. Very highly recommended. You could do Auschwitz on your own but you would miss out on so much information without the guide!

Now on to Wieliczka aka the longest Disney queue with a mine shaft elevator ride at the end. I was looking forward to seeing the salt mines in its original condition and the only place I got to see that was at the very end, in the hallway leading to the elevator which isn't even a part of the tour! The rest of the mine has been overcommercialized and it is truly a tourist attraction with moving animated rooms and a laser light show. Would have rather spend my time and money on something more authentic.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Travel there and guide very good but apart from the cathedral area we thought the mine itself a bit dull.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The salt structures themselves were semi-interesting, however I am sure the whole thing would have been more interesting had we been able to hear what our guide was saying. The tour used the headphone devices which stopped working 5minutes into the tour. It was a large group and our guide never allowed for the whole group to catch up before he started talking or before he hurried on to the next room. In one room the lights went out before the people at the back of the tour group had a chance to see what was in there. This is a waste of time and money.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message