Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 609 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well organised tour. Helpful driver and guides. From the horror of Auschwitz to the beauty of the salt mines was a sharp reminder of the best and worst that lies within man. A great tour.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good tour. The guide itself from auschwitz wasnt great. I didnt think it was possible for a guide to be emotionless when taking tours through the camp. Other than that very convenient with hotel pick up and viator guides were very nice. We had Anna who was lovely

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver pick up us in our hotel and very knowledgeable drive as well.Our driver bring us to our destinations safely.The Auschwitz-Birkenau is one hour from the town and salt mine is about 10 to 15 mins. from the town, is recommended when going to Poland.Its terrible to see the Jewish things,hair and the way they live during the war.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

No hassle journey to site . Great guide . Something everyone should see . Highly recommended .

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Auschwitz trip very emotional. something everyone should see. very soft spoken and informative guide.
a must see!!
Salt mine tour was a blast. very cool. both temp, and visual!!

Great value for trips!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We only 3 person in this small group! And I love my decision to have this evening tour while there's no crowd at all!
Site was magnificent!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Auschwitz-Birkenau was a very interesting and moving trip . The guide had an extensive knowledge of the history of Auschwitz-Birkenau. It gave all those in the group a greater understanding of what happened during that time.
Wieliczka Salt Mine was amazing. Our guide in the salt mine - Matt was fantastic. As well as explaining about the history and workings of the mine past and present, he had a great sense of humor which made the experience informative and enjoyable.
I am glad I booked both trips in advance as I went in the busiest time of the year and there were big crowds. The organised tour enabled us to meet our guide and proceed with the tours without the fuss of waiting. I highly recommend both of these tours.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hotel pick ups very convenient as was new to area and mini bus/van comfortable. Tour and local guides very knowledgeable. Overall two very good tours on separate consecutive days that we were glad we did not do in one day as there was a lot of walking.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommended. You would be lost without a guide to point out the really important stuff.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a wonderful and unique experience. our guide was amazing and spoke with such passion about the mine. She was engaging and knew so many facts, answered all our questions and told some good jokes too!! The mine is simply an amazing experience and we only explored such a small part of it. A wonderful service all round.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had a great time learning about the concentration camp and the salt mines. Both worth going to. Good value for money.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved our time in the mine!!! Amazing stories each step of the way!! I would love to post Picts but my iPhone froze and the pics aren't on my iPad. Sorry

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Where do I start.... I would 100% recommend Viator for this tour. We were picked up at 7.20am by Mihai the bus driver, very friendly guy. Our guide Magda then joined us on the bus. Again very friendly. We were shown a short movie about Auschwitz to prep us. When we arrived at Auschwitz we had another guide, she was brilliant and could tell us everything we needed/wanted to know. What an emotional place, with so much history. Another great tour from Viator! Thanks!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message