Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 656 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely amazing! The Auschwitz-Birkenau guide was extremely knowledgable, and on the drive to the camps a documentary is played. The Salt Mines were also great, be prepared for lots of going down stairs though haha! Pickups were on time and vans were comfortable. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent!! Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We were kind of confused when we arrived because we were taken to a different tour guide and then our bus was split into two groups which was odd. The Auschwitz-Birkenau is a required tour to take for everyone, we had a tough time understanding our tour guide because of her thick accent (which is not her fault). We were glad to have head phones/receivers to hear her on because this tour is very popular and there are hundreds of people everywhere so it's nice to have head phones. I wish we had more time because it seemed rushed to us.

The Wieliczka Salt Mine Tour (second day) was very interesting as well and had a very kind and sweet tour guide who kept us very informed about the details of the salt mine. We were transported in a smaller bus/van and our tour guide was with us the entire time. I think her name was Anna (miss you girl!) and wish we could request her if we ever take a tour in the area again!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were very impressed with everything on our tours of Auschwitz- Birkenau and the Salt mines. We were picked up from our apartment by very punctual, informative guides which made the early starts easy. The local guides were great and the tour contents were riveting,educational and of great historical worth to us. We thought the Concentration camps were a very sobering experience while the Salt mines were magnificent and awe inspiring.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had a great time at both places, found Auschwitz to be very interesting but very sad, for anyone booking on to this trip be warned there is lots of walking involved specially in the salt mine and quite a few steps to go down also a bit of a claustrophobic lift ont he way back up hahah but nevertheless both were fantastic trips for the price paid and interesting/enjoyable. Myself and my partner met two girls and their mother who were on both trips with us and on the second day they told us they had to stop the coach as one of them was sick as they were made to watch a video on their mini bus (the one behind us) of Auschwitz before they actually went there. The video involved footage of someone pulling a baby apart which made her sick, the tour guide and driver wouldn't stop the video (hence the teenage girl being sick). I feel this is really inappropriate being made to watch something of that nature and should have at least been warned what the video contained. I'm really glad i wasn't on their bus. I think someone should mention this to the tour company.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

One Word - Excellent !!!!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

¡Impresionante! Un recorrido que nos dejó maravilladas. Una experiencia que no debes perder en un viaje a Cracovia.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent Tour, Hotel Pick up on time, Very informative guides.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very moving trip to Auschwitz - well organised. I would maybe have liked a little more time but would wander around on my own if I ever returned having already had a very informative guide.
Salt Mine was a surprisingly brilliant trip - was not sure whether to bother going but really glad I did.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Auschwitz-Birkenau should be mandatory for everyone, especially those fools who believe it never happened. I had been to Dachau in Germany, but that pales in comparison. The Wieliczka Salt Mine was also memorable. The only other salt mine I've been to was a salt cathedral in Colombia, but this was far bigger, better, and fantastic. When you think "salt mine" not much is conjured up, but when you realize there are many salt statues, a huge cathedral, and salt art throughout, you realize the magnitude of this salt mine. Very, very impressive.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic...I had read previous reviews re the steps ! and yes there are many in fact 838 if I remember correctly but well worth it when you see the sights of each of the three sections....it is a wonderful trip and of course the best bit is the salt cathedral with the beautiful sculpture of the alter...in fact this whole room is fantastic...you do not have to walk back up the steps to exit the mine but instead use a lift which carries 9 people at a time....thankfully this only takes 45 seconds to reach the surface and is better than having to walk up all those steps but I was thankful when we reached the top....this shouldn't put you off though it is well worth the visit

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hello!
It was a very nice tour, the only thing which was bad was that we wanted to have some more time to go around in the cathederel. That place was fantastic. We also wanted to have more time after the tour to shopping.
Kind regards
Robert Halling

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

2 very enjoyable tours (if thats the right word to use) The guides were very informative. I also liked the 20 min comfort breaks before, inbetween and after each part of the visits

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed these two tours. Excellent value for money with excellent your guides. We were picked up from our hotel on time and couldn't fault anything. Have used Viator before and certainly will do so again.. Thank you.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message