Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 788 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well worth the visit. A most unbelievable tour 135 meters underground. Stunning sculptures and caverns

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

it's one of the sad tour, but it's very informatics. Very good review of history

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour itself was excellent and would recommend the visit to anyone.
The pick up and waiting times to get there however , were very tedious 8.55 pick up then transfer to bigger bus in Crakow, which was another 45 min wait. 2 hours before arrival at mine!!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Two very good tours to Auschwitz and the salt mines, we had excellent guides on both tours and we would recommend booking the tours to people

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Two very good tours to Auschwitz and the salt mines, we had excellent guides on both tours and we would recommend booking the tours to people

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

planes on time, transfers on time, great tours when we got there, very pleased

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Collected by air conditioned coach, journey time approx 25 mins. Tour provider was friendly, organised and informative. Handed over to Salt Mines tour guide, queued to enter for approx 15 mins. Tour lasts 2h 10 mins, 4km of walking with two short 5 min breaks. The scale and facilities of the Salt Mine is impressive. Tour information about the statues carved, the mining techniques, the historical origins of the mine and the function of the rooms visited. I have never visited anywhere like it, I am recommending it to anyone I know planning to visit Krakow.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A fantastic experience, tour guide was exceptional. Would highly recommend this visit.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. A 'must do' when visiting Krakow. An amazing site and well worth it. Thomas at the mine was an excellent guide. Not for claustrophobics in particular the ride back up to ground level in the lift, but I loved it.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I've never been to such well organized tours. The tour guide picked us from the hotel with an air conditioned Mercedes mini-van on time. And the tour guides on site of both Auschwitz and the Salt Mine were superb, they were very knowledged, good English speaking and well prepared. For Auschwitz just be prepared, this is no picnic, and please don't take kids with you, this is no family outing.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour of auschwitz was very interesting,you hear the storys about these places but to be there was inspiring,so sad to think what happened in these places,we done the salt mines second day which i would advise as its a bit much to squeeze the two into one day. Salt mines are amazing!!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent value for money. Prompt pickup at hotel, guides for both Auschwitz and Salt Mines were brilliant. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An excellent tour, led by a most amazing guide whose passion, great wealth of knowledge and real engagement with her party of visitors made for a really incredible experience. She really gave us the ability to visualise the sad and horrific nature of the camps by adding layers of information onto pre-existing conceptions gained from TV and photos. This visit was one I'd always wanted, and felt I needed to do, but our guide was a level above what one usually experiences - a must do tour.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well worth a visit first class tour

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Rhian H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A very moving visit. Transport to venue was good, very comfortable coach. Very chaotic at museum through security check and guide was late in arriving.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour company was very good on time and picked us from our hotel. The Auscwitz tour was excellent but this would very much depend on the guide you get. The salt mine tour was not our favourite but that was due to our preference.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The coach was punctual and comfortable.
The guide spoke excellent English and was very good and informative.
We enjoyed the tours it was very interesting and would definitely recommend. thank you.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Had a great time on this tour, very handy collection from hotel, comfortable bus, Auschwitz-Birkenau was very informative, definitely worth visiting!!!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

trip was good but too rushed, no time for a coffee or visit the shop

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Unfortunately the tour bus did not pick us both up at the Royal Hotel which was e-mailed from yourselves to me before the holiday. I had to call after 30mins when no sign of the bus appeared. We eventually were told a taxi would pick us up and take us to the Salt Mines. When we arrived we were shown into the mines along with other people from the bus. On our way back we were told to meet outside and the guide that was on the bus would be waiting for us to transport us back on the bus. When we arrived outside there was no one there and so we sat down to await the rest of the people on the bus and the guide that was on the bus. After about 15/20mins the guide on the bus was angry as we did not appear. We were not told where the bus was parked as we did not come on the bus nor were we told what time we had to be back on the bus at. She stated that we were not at our destination i.e. Holiday Inn Hotel which was where the pick up point was seemingly but my e-mail I showed her this stated we had to be picked up at the Royal Hotel at 8.30. She was not pleased and neither was I. This was not our fault but Viator as I had the said e-mail from yourselves with all the details.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message