Although there is more to see in elegant Krakow than could be covered in a year, from thought-provoking new museums reflecting on WWII to grand palaces and ornate Baroque churches, there are plenty of amazing sights nearby. Take a couple of days to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Japandrea02

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an amazing tour. Auschwitz-Birkenau was deeply moving. At Auschwitz, we were given head sets and our English speaking guide took us on an educational and emotional journey through one of the most tragic graveyards in history. The tour was long enough to see a lot of the death camp. Auschwitz is difficult to describe. Anyone visiting Poland should visit this tragic memorial/museum.

The Salt Mine was an extremely unique experience. First, it was a great escape from the summer heat wave. The mine was a cool 20 degrees c. The carvings and church was spectacular. The only complaint with this tour was that we waited in the group line for over an hour, but to make up the time, we didn't have to walk down the 300 stairs instead we took the scary elevator. If you have a fear of heights, the elevator can be an uncomfortable minute.

I suggest taking the two half day trips because you still have your afternoons free. Both tours involve a lot of walking, so it was nice to take it easy in the afternoon and enjoy the Krakow square. Wear comfy shoes and pack some snacks for both trips because there was no lunch and the tours didn't end until about 1.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Andreas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommended day trip in Zakopane from where you can have great views of the Tatra Mountainsyou don't actually go to Tatras Mountains. If you have the opportunity it definitely worth staying there for 2-3 nights! Very beautiful place with outstanding views and lots of thinks to do.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Elaine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and handled subject very sensitively but not emotionally. All practical arrangements very good and professional approach. Would highly recommend. Note that half day trip is 7 hours door to door

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

tmorizuka Japan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you do not drive a car there, this half-day trip is recommendable. I found the video presentation aboard the bus very informative and a good way to spend about one hour bus ride.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

HTravelerUK United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day trip. The castles were very impressive, and the setting of them was really beautiful. It was great to get out of the city for the day, and learn a bit about Poland's fascinating history. A well organised and fascinating tour!

Doing what: Polish Castles Day Trip from Krakow

Peter F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very efficient and timely pick ups, excellent guides both on the coach and our actual site guide. Although they say it's a half day trip, it's really more like 6 hours allowing for the coach trip. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Ian I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Half day trip long enough to see whats required.
Our guide was very good, coach was on time everything was planned very well.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Caroline R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was excellent and was more like a day trip than a half day trip. Very informative guide who was Polish and therefore able to convey the information with passion and clarity. Everyone should take this tour.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

M. H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The local guide knew a lot about the place and he was very nice. The place was nice as well and it would've been great it we could've visited the Tatra mountains, but it's impossible to see everything in 1-day trip :)

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Lazy traveller Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Love the day trip and the guide is very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pieskowa Skala Castle and Czestochowa including the 'Black Madonna' Day Tour from Krakow

Sharalyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was fantastic! The guide was lovely, very informative and the information was interesting. I really enjoyed having a go at driving the trabant and my son (who has not yet learnt to drive) was very jelous. Great half day trip - well worth doing!

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

An excellent trip. The pick up and travel by coach could not have been better organised. On arrival we were allocated an experienced guide who explained everything clearly and in a very dignified manner.A very humbling experience with plenty of time to see everything. In total we were given six and a half hours,including travelling time for this half day trip-excellent value for money and highly recommended.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

GRAHAM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was s a great trip, although its sold as a half day trip, it takes the whole day.
There is also a lot of walking on this trip, I'm very fit and even I struggled, there's also a lot of stairs to navigate, but if you can put up with the walking, its a must see. The coach was comfortable and the guides were great too, although I was knackered on the way back, and most of the coach were asleep on the way back. Would I go back again...NO

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

we had a enoyable trip to krakow. The half day trip to Auschwitz - Birkenau was very well organised and the guide was excellentfive stars

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Barry Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Halkf Day Trip from Krakow was excellent. The organisation of the tour was excellent and I would recommend it to anyone.,

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Our guide Jacek (Jack) really made the day great.

The day started off a bit rainy (drizzling only), and so it turned out we were the only people on the tour, however the tour still went ahead and we had a personalised tour where we were driven out by Jack in a very comfortable car.

What really made the day special though was the opportunity to talk with Jack about Polish politics, history, the amazing history of the families who lived in the castle, modern Polish music, insights on the difference in culture between Krakovians and Zakopane highlanders and all sorts of other interesting topics.

A really great day. The boat ride itself goes into Slovakia (so you can claim you've been to another country).

An easy day trip from Krakow, and certainly worth doing.

Doing what: Dunajec River Gorge and Niedzica Castle from Krakow

Natalie H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This was a well organised trip with our tour guide lady being very informative and sensitive to this difficult, surreal and moving place. The children`s shoes I found the most moving in one of the museum rooms at Auschwitz 1. The museum rooms were very busy when we visited on New years day and so you had to wait for one group to leave a room before our group could enter. But we all had headphones and our guide had a microphone so she always made it clear where she was heading next or waiting for us so nobody got left behind or lost. It is worth noting that this is more than a half day trip, we left Krakow at 9.30am and arrived back in Krakow at 4pm so it is really a whole day. There is only 10 minutes or so allocated at the first Auschwitz site to buy refreshments and there is not a huge selection in the small shop and vending machines here just crisps and chocolate etc. So I would recommend bringing sandwiches on the coach as there is time to eat these when travelling between the two Auschwitz sites. This trip is definitely worth doing and I think everybody will learn something here.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Sandra W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

An excellent tour, the guide was great really knew his stuff, the view of the Tatras mountains was really good we were really lucky we went on a very clear day the weather was really hot, there was loads of market stalls selling everything you could want, all in all a great day trip.

Doing what: Zakopane and Tatras Mountains Day Tour from Krakow

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

It is a must-go day trip from Krakow.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Weather dismal but very apt. A full day trip would be better to allow time for lunch or break. A half day trip is a misnomer as get back at 3.304pm with no lunch or coffee stop. Felt rushed.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Brian W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent guide. Radio guide to individual headsets meant we all heard every word spoken even if we were not close by. Three hours there is not enough for most interested people - there should be a full day trip available. If there is, it is not on the Viator web site.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Helen F United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very well organised and efficient half day trip - kept exactly to time. Guides both on the bus and at Auschwitz were very good, and delivered their information appropriately. A shocking and humbling experience, but one which many people should try to do.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Caroline W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Both tours were excellent. The first trips to Auschwitz and Birkenau were very emotional and moving. We had an excellent guide who was very informative.
The salt mine was also very interesting however, as the group was so large and we seemed to end up at the back, we couldn't hear anything the guide was saying through the headphones as I suspect we were out of range. A bit disappointing.
Please note that although these are advertised as half day trips, we did not get back to our hotel until after 3 p.m. from memory. We went on this trip last December, and I have only just been asked to write a review.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Andreas C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great day trip of two beautiful castles. The third castle first on the row of visit did not worth the visit.. Not much to see except from a single Tower in which you cannot enter. The other two definitely worth visiting!

Doing what: Polish Castles Day Trip from Krakow

Kerry K S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour was informative and emotional. Movie shown on tour bus during trip to Auschwitz-Birkenau was important part of understanding the experience. Guide was well informed and bus comfortable. Must say we were unprepared for a half-day trip to take almost 8 hours and require 4 miles of walking, most on gravel pathways. This would have been good information to have prior to the trip.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message