Arguably Europe's prettiest city, Krakow i s also one of the best preserved. Krakow's eventful history has only embellished the UNESCO-World Heritage listed city. Day 1: Krakow Old Town and Jewish Quarter The Old Town centers on Rynek ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1474 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a trip I'd like to recommend to everybody. It's a very powerful experience to hear all those stories right there on the spot. Hard, almost unbearable at times. The tour was well organized, staff were friendly and knowledgeable and everything went as planned. Plus you have a chance to see the beautiful Polish countryside on your 1,5 bus trip to the site and back.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were picked up at the Radisson Blu hotel and taken a short way over to the bus park (in front of the Sheraton) to get on the bus for Auschwitz. The Sheraton isn't that far from the Radisson Blu so you could walk down there and enjoy the river and castle views while you wait for all the other passgengers to arrive for the tour. Its about an hour and ten minutes from Krakow to the Museum. When you arrive you will have a few minutes for restrooms (small charge to use-1 zloty I believe) and food or book purchases in the small stores (they do sell rain ponchos if the weather is bad). Your tour group will then be given headphones so you can hear your guide and you will begin the walking tour. The tour guide we had at the museum was Michael and he was excellent and we can't speak highly enough about his knowledge and how he talked through such a difficult topic. Becuase of the huge volume of people and the smaller size of the first camp, the tour is rather fast paced and its hard to get a few minutes to dwell on the enormity of what happened and to connect with the many faces and stories you will enounter. After your tour of the first camp is complete the bus takes you to the second camp which is much much larger and provides the opportunity to see the buildings without the long lines of people in front of you and following you. While a very somber day it is a tour that everyone should take.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour led by our guide Kasha. We started off with a short ride over to the Jewish Quarter and then began a walking tour that took us to Wawel Castle, the churches and ended in the main square. This well paced and very comprehensive tour was enjoyed by all in our party. Kasha was so knowledgeable that we noticed a number of folks not on our tour start to follow along with her as we went through the state rooms at the castle.

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

harrowing experience - very involved tour guide

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was very knowledgable. His English was perfect, and he was very nice. The tour was a wonderful experience. I suggest it to anyone who is interested in visiting Poland.

Doing what: Pieskowa Skala Castle and Czestochowa including the 'Black Madonna' Day Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We only 3 person in this small group! And I love my decision to have this evening tour while there's no crowd at all!
Site was magnificent!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Natalie T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Driver and guide were great. Much nicer to be part of a small group rather than a coach load.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Natalie T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Driver and guide were great. Much nicer to be part of a small group rather than a coach load.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The early departure was really good as we got there before most of the big groups. Guide was great and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good - guide was very informative and the tour was well organised.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Kazimierz in Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great introduction to Krakow. Info was invaluable for venturing on our own over the next few days. Guide was informative and a pleasure to share a few hours with.

Doing what: Small-Group Krakow Old Town Walking Tour Including Rynek Glówny, Mariacki and Wawel Cathedral

Amy
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing, overwhelmingly sad, but a site/memorial everyone should see/experience once in thier lifetime.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a wonderful and unique experience. our guide was amazing and spoke with such passion about the mine. She was engaging and knew so many facts, answered all our questions and told some good jokes too!! The mine is simply an amazing experience and we only explored such a small part of it. A wonderful service all round.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour is memorable for so many reasons, it is a tour everyone should do in their lifetime. The fact that it remains to tell the story of such an explicit part of our world history is a eat credit to the Polish people. Once again our tour guide was magnificent, so knowledgeable and speaking with such honesty and respect for what could otherwise be a very sad trip. It is overwhelming at times, but our guide put it into perspective and gave such an empathetic understanding of what had taken place there, that the mood although somber was incredibly thought provoking. Simply an amazing site.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message