A Trabant, a classic European car popular in communist bloc countries in the late 1950s and early 1960s, offers a retro way to see the sights of Kraków. When the Berlin Wall came down, many Germans moved west in their Trabants, making the car a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a fantastic tour. Pick up from the hotel was punctual and the guide was brilliant. A great opportunity to see a completely different dimension of Poland and Krakow, with an excellent background commentary from the guide. The Trabant was great fun, and very memorable. We loved the little cafe in Nova Huta which had stopped in time, and we both felt that when we left the tour we had learned so much. This is a must do.

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An interesting and entertaining way of getting to see areas of Krakow that you probably wouldn't visit on the standard tours.

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Tuuli H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice couple of hours in rainy Krakow - funny guide, very relaxed atmosphere and unhurried cruising around in a Trabant, of course! I truly enjoyed this tour and the history of Nowa Huta the guide explained while we two visitors were sipping some Polish beer. Warmly recommended.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

diane f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great fun and very informative too! Super way to get an insight into communist poland with a vodka and jokes thrown in!

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Francisco J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great experience! Learned a lot from this tour

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was great! The tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. I had a lot of fun and learned quite a bit. Would recommend this tour to anyone interested in the communist era.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A million thanks to Maciej (i think that's the right spelling) for providing the highlight of a fantastic 4 days in Cracow.He was an genuinely knowledgeable,enthusiast with an obvious passion for his polish history.The more we asked questions the more accommodating he was.This introduction to Polish communism is a must,augmented by period car travel.Dont hesitate,get booking!!
Chris and Sandra (December 2014)

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were lucky enough to have an authentic Trabant for this trip. The guide was very knowledgeable and put us ease immediately. The meal in the milk bar was certainly different and something I'm glad I experienced. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Eoin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour. The guide was friendly, informative and was very willing to anwser all questions. Would strongly recommend.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

MIchael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Was fun riding in a Trabant and enjoyed the milk bar

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

david m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic. Very unusual. Drivers/guides excellent knowledge and very good English.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

stanley r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

informative guide [Phillip] Value for money

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Christopher A Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

On the recommendation of other Viator respondents I booked the Deluxe tour and was not disappointed. The experience was brilliant and the guide outstanding. Driving the Trabant was great fun and perhaps the highlight of the visit to Nova Huta. We had coffee at an old haunt of the communist elite and lunch at a state supported worker's cafeteria called a Milk Bar. The tour of a worker's flat was also spot-on, especially the traditional welcome shot of vodka and pickle. The added experiences and time that are part of the Deluxe tour made for a memorable outing.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Sharalyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was fantastic! The guide was lovely, very informative and the information was interesting. I really enjoyed having a go at driving the trabant and my son (who has not yet learnt to drive) was very jelous. Great half day trip - well worth doing!

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Annabel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent guide, the car was the star and a celebrity around town. Vodka recommendations excellent. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

alan b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Had a wonderful four hours around krakow and Magic our driver guide had lots of information and humor. Especially good if you are interested in history and politics.
Alan and Joanne

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Jane louise R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This was the best time we had in krakow. Peter our guide was very informative and intelligent. He was also very funny and kept us entertained with anecdotes throughout our trip to nova huta. We both had a turn at driving the trabant on some waste ground and this was the cherry on the cake.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

G W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This is a must do trip if you are in Krakow. Olek was a great host and full of relevant and unique information. Traveling by Trabant is both an experience and an adventure.(pushing skills useful!) Upgrade to the deluxe trip - you will need the time. Thanks again for a great trip

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

ANGELA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

excellent all round loved it

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

jenny m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We had a great time. The tour guide was really knowledgeable and spoke very good English. We found out so much and experienced what life might have been like.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Excellent! Really enjoyed the whole thing. The driver Julia was lovely and very informative. both my wife and I enjoyed having a go at driving the car as well 10 out of 10 !!!

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

renata s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Magnificent, reminded me my childhood, things I have forgotten. And for my partner who is from West , was an incredible funny experience to see the way Eastens used to live:). I would only recomend this tour to the people who has sence of humor and not afraid to experience new things including food. Well done guys!!!

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Joanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Hilarious!!!! This is one of the best trips we've been on. The guide was excellent, VERY funny - we pretty much laughed non-stop for 2.5 hours. Driving in this iconic car was a bone-rattling experience! Our only regret is that we didn't book the longer tour because we didn't want to it end. It was the highlight of our weekend in Krakow :-)

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Louise K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

One of the highlights of my week in Krakow. A fun and different way to see the city. The guide was personable, professional, easy-going and knew alot about Polish history and the history of Krakow. I highly, highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Robert J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Terrific tour! With so many Eastern European countries destroying remnants of their communist past, it's great to see a tour that confronts the past head-on...showing both the horror and humor of that era. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message