A Trabant, a classic European car popular in communist bloc countries in the late 1950s and early 1960s, offers a retro way to see the sights of Kraków. When the Berlin Wall came down, many Germans moved west in their Trabants, making the car a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was great! The tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. I had a lot of fun and learned quite a bit. Would recommend this tour to anyone interested in the communist era.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A million thanks to Maciej (i think that's the right spelling) for providing the highlight of a fantastic 4 days in Cracow.He was an genuinely knowledgeable,enthusiast with an obvious passion for his polish history.The more we asked questions the more accommodating he was.This introduction to Polish communism is a must,augmented by period car travel.Dont hesitate,get booking!!
Chris and Sandra (December 2014)

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were lucky enough to have an authentic Trabant for this trip. The guide was very knowledgeable and put us ease immediately. The meal in the milk bar was certainly different and something I'm glad I experienced. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour. The guide was friendly, informative and was very willing to anwser all questions. Would strongly recommend.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Was fun riding in a Trabant and enjoyed the milk bar

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic. Very unusual. Drivers/guides excellent knowledge and very good English.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

informative guide [Phillip] Value for money

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

On the recommendation of other Viator respondents I booked the Deluxe tour and was not disappointed. The experience was brilliant and the guide outstanding. Driving the Trabant was great fun and perhaps the highlight of the visit to Nova Huta. We had coffee at an old haunt of the communist elite and lunch at a state supported worker's cafeteria called a Milk Bar. The tour of a worker's flat was also spot-on, especially the traditional welcome shot of vodka and pickle. The added experiences and time that are part of the Deluxe tour made for a memorable outing.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was fantastic! The guide was lovely, very informative and the information was interesting. I really enjoyed having a go at driving the trabant and my son (who has not yet learnt to drive) was very jelous. Great half day trip - well worth doing!

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent guide, the car was the star and a celebrity around town. Vodka recommendations excellent. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Had a wonderful four hours around krakow and Magic our driver guide had lots of information and humor. Especially good if you are interested in history and politics.
Alan and Joanne

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Jane louise R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This was the best time we had in krakow. Peter our guide was very informative and intelligent. He was also very funny and kept us entertained with anecdotes throughout our trip to nova huta. We both had a turn at driving the trabant on some waste ground and this was the cherry on the cake.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This is a must do trip if you are in Krakow. Olek was a great host and full of relevant and unique information. Traveling by Trabant is both an experience and an adventure.(pushing skills useful!) Upgrade to the deluxe trip - you will need the time. Thanks again for a great trip

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

excellent all round loved it

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We had a great time. The tour guide was really knowledgeable and spoke very good English. We found out so much and experienced what life might have been like.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message