• USD ($)
  • English
One of the most popular Hindu shrines outside India, the Batu Caves are dedicated to Lord Murugan and an imposing 154 foot (47 meter) high golden statue in his honour stands at the foot of the 272 stairs you must climb to view the Temple Cave.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Everybody must go to the Batu Caves, a definite sight to see, walking the steps was abit of a challenge, but I did it and I enjoyed it. If your an older person or extremely unfit I recommend a longer more relaxed tour as this tour was rushed, the tour guide was very informative but beyond the cave and pewter factory info his English wasn't flash, no conversation at all. I was surprised to see the amount of rubbish laying around inside the caves, I would have thought all this rufugee lying around in a place like this would be disrespectful, it would be so simple to keep clean, not a good look. To walk the steps and see inside these caves cannot be missed, it's my 2nd time and im sure it won't be the last.

Doing what: Batu Caves and Malaysian Crafts Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was amazing. Very knowledgable and obliging. Lunch was good but a bit spicy for our liking. The Batu Caves were the highlight but found the steps a challenge as I have recently had a total knee replacement but was well worth the effort to climb to the top. Overall an excellent and informative day. Would definitely recommend private tours if you like personal attention and flexibility.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Grand Full-Day Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a fantastic time on our tour. Our guide was so informative and was a hive of knowledge on many aspects of life living in KL. We very much enjoyed visiting and learning the history of the temple prior to the caves. Climbing up the many steps to the Batu Caves was a challenge especially encountering the many cheeky monkeys along the way. We were warned by our guide not take any soft drink with us on the climb up as they would be cleverly taken from us very quickly by these little monkeys. The climb was well worth it for the spectacular view at the top. The caves were very big and the temple inside was very interesting. We met other lovely people who were also on our tour. A tour not to be missed if you are visiting KL.

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I had a great time and definitely recommend it. The guide was professional and helpful. I enjoyed all of the information he provided to us. Since this was at the start of my time here it was worth it to have a guide giving me some of the background of the city as well as Batu Caves.

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Nice Tour. Batu Caves was very interesting. The steps are steeper on the 2nd set of stairs. overal good tour

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our tour was great, our driver/tour guide Lo was very friendly, spoke brilliant english and gave us a lot of interesting information. There were only 3 of us on our tour but Lo still put in a lot of effort. Went went to a chinese temple first and Lo gave us plenty of time to walk around, then we went on to Batu Caves, again we had plenty of time there and climbed the steps in about 5 minutes. We were slightly unlucky that we picked to go on a bank holiday(we didnt realise this until we were picked up) so traffic through KL was horrendous so we did not go to the silk factory but this did not worry us to be honest. It was raining quite hard when we arrived at batu caves so it was nice and empty and there were no monkeys. The monkeys did start to appear slightly later as the rain stopped so we were able to see them without being hassled by them on our walk- perfect for us! Great tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We had the best guide in Bhagwan Singh. Thanks to him we had a wonderful Batu Caves tour.

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Julie was an excellent guide. Lots of knowledge, friendly, accomodating. Gave us heaps of info about the country, demographics, city etc.

Easy way to get to Batu caves and back. If you want to do the natural caves to the left of the temples, don't do the tour, as there is no time. Batu caves are huge, the temples surprisingly small - worth seeing.

The batik centre was good. Prices were on par or better than in KL itself and the quality was better.

Julie also stopped off at Little India which was a bonus and interesting.

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I'm not sure how, but I accidently booked the trip on the day before than I intended. The tour company even left me a message before I'd even arrived at my hotel to re-arrange it. Once I spoke to the kind lady on the phone, the tour was arranged for the next day without any extra costs.

Overall the tour itself was fun and very interesting. The tour guide was friendly, and the people we met who were also with us in the same vehicle were very nice.

I would definitely recommend using Viator and also the tour itself in KL. KL itself is such a beautiful city, and you must do the Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur!

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This was the first time I had done a private tour. Sofian was amazing, he was funny, attentive, kind, considerate, caring, protective and very knowledgeable. If you can request him especially. He made us feel safe and took us to all the best sights of KL and surrounds, took extra time to tailor the day to our requests and knew all the right people for the best discounts etc; The only negative aspect is that you don't get enough time at the KL museum, however it is easy to go back on a different day to spend more time if you want to (entry RM5). Batu caves was definitely an experience, stairs are very steep, take your time - it is very hot and even more humid. Watch out for the monkeys.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Grand Full-Day Tour including Lunch

niallsmum
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The ChineseTemple tour was first and then on to Batu Caves. The temple is fabulous, not as big as the one on Penang, but equally as ornate. Batu Caves is amazing - lot of steps though, those with vertigo beware they are quite steep. The view from the top is great. Unfortunatley the Batik factory was closed (it was New Years Day) but we'd already seen a batik factory in Penang. So the driver offered to take us to anywhere else we had not seen, which was very accommadating of him.

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Fantastic day with a fantastic and thoughtful guide named Lo. Thoughtful because he suggested we reverse the itinerary and do the Batu caves first as he thought it would rain that afternoon - and down it poured when we should have been at the caves. I never thought I would make it to the top but I did and was greeted by a wonderful view of both the caves and KL.. The Batik stop was lovely but clothing was very very expensive so neither the others or myself bought anything as I had wanted to do. The Thean Hou Chinese Temple was marvellous and mystic. A great trip which I would recommend with a great deal of enthusiasm

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Local agent was very helpful and friendly. Lots of useful facts along the way. Both the temple tour and Batu caves were interesting. The wild monkeys at Batus Caves made for great photo opportunities. Only wanring: be prepared to walk a lot and steep stairs at Batu Caves so not for those with walking disabilities. Great tour.

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

NeilC
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great tour, saw lots of KL that the average visitor would not see. Tour Guide was very informative and knowledgeable. He managed to keep our private tour ahead of all the "tour buses" which made our visits more enjoyable. His local knowlege was very good, and advised about getting to KL twin tours very very early, to beat the tour buses. Lunch was delicious, with buffet of all Malaysian dishes. Batu Caves were good. Recommend this PRIVATE tour, as it is worth the additional cost to do the tour at YOUR pace and not at the tour drivers time limits.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kuala Lumpur Grand Full-Day Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Batu Caves can not be missed. Climbing the 272 steps are a feat in itself. We felt pretty pleased to have done it. The place is enormous and impressive

Doing what: Batu Caves and Temple Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message