• USD ($)
  • English

Kuala Lumpur ATTRACTIONS See all

Kuala Selangor Fireflies

Bask in the bioluminescence of thousands of fireflies as they do their mating dance around the Berembang trees along the river at Kuala Selangor Fireflies Resort Park. Head down to the jetty after sunset and alight into one of the silent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great trip especially the Fireflies experience which was outstanding.

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

Ali_Hawk
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This is a really good tour. There is a two hour bus journey from KL to Kuala Selangor, but once you get there, there is a lot to see, not just the fireflies. Kuala Selangor is a nice place, the Butik Melawati has a great view of the Straits of Malacca and the lookout has a great view. The river is lovely. You will have dinner at the riverside then go to the Fireflies Resort, which is marvellous. It is so peaceful and really enjoyble - the silence is lovely. Then you can rest while the bus brings you back to KL. It's a great trip.

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent guide was a star very knowledgeable the extra stops on way via monkeys and chocolate factory was a bonus. The fireflies were just amazing overall a truly exceptional experience we will do this again for sure

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Nice seafood dinner and boat ride. And loved feeding the monkeys too. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent trip- the food was lovely - great experience for the children- Guide was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Nice place to dine and good seafood. Fireflies are magical.

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

There was a group of 14 with people from Australia and the Middle East - all got on well. The guide was informative, the dinner very good and the short boat ride an experience to remember. The organisation was first class, even considering KL's traffic

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This tour highlighted our vacation. The boat right between masses of fire flies was like magic. The Chinese dinner was superb. Watching monkeys in the wild was very exciting. Every thing was just PERFECT

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A long drive but well worth it to see something so unique.
The meal although was neutral in taste,
Loved feeding the monkeys.

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Monkeys were the main highlight of this day. Fireflies were not as exciting as they sound

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Our tour driver was nice, and we shared a coach with another couple. It was raining cats and dogs on the way, so unlike other reviewers have commented, we couldn't unfortunately make any unplanned stops. We were hoping for a stop at the Batu caves, but the driver took an entirely different route. Took roughly two hours to get there.

You get a good view of the Malaysian country side on the way there. Endless swaths of palm plantations! Almost scary. You also get to see some typical country side houses and buildings.

The Kota Melawati stop was quite amusing. Hordes of monkeys jumping onto tourists and generally goofing around. There are vendors selling bundles of beans for 1 RM that you can feed to the monkeys. We spent about an hour there, and had good laughs.

The seafood stop at the fishing village is underwhelming. The river was muddy, and the village was a little filthy. The restaurant itself is a large shack like barn, and the food is mediocre. Also, they serve you one platter that you share with others in your group. Nothing like the romanticised description here on Viator.

Now, the highlight of the trip was of course the fireflies of Kuala Selangor. Thousands of fireflies flashing in beautiful synchrony across long stretches of mangroves. It was like a long row of Christmas trees. The little boat took us along the mangroves and even stopped for a bit underneath the illuminated trees. We spent a good 30 mins on the river soaking it all in.

Overall, the fireflies are an amazing sight. The monkeys at Kota Melawati are fun, but the dinner at the fishing village is very underwhelming.

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

Bronwyn H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Interesting history, cute baby monkeys, nice dinner and fireflies very beautiful

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

A mini bus arrived on time at our hotel to collect us and there were 2 other ladies aboard. As it was an unusually small group, our tour guide filled in time by taking us to a new hindu temple which was beautiful and a stop by the sea (not so beautiful). In hindsight I would have preferred a later pick up. Our guide was great, funny and informative and made us completely relaxed. We stopped at the fort on the hill where the highlight was feeding the monkeys then onto dinner. Dinner was at a large open Chinese restaurant built over the river, it was noisy with bright fluorescent lights (typically Asian) but the food and service were good, including prawns and crab. Next onto the fireflies which were worth seeing but took about 5 mins to view via a small row boat. They are tiny but twinkle in the mangroves like xmas trees. They occupy a very small area of the river and are only in new mangrove trees. We were lucky that we were there on a moonless night at high tide which is optimum viewing time.

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

What a night it was great great guide lovely people. Monkey mountain was very interesting and the fly flies were out of this world. Not ever experienced anything like it before. Top marks to all concerned

Doing what: Kuala Selangor Tour from Kuala Lumpur with Fireflies Boat Ride and Seafood Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message