Located in the southern part of the Malaysian peninsula about 2 hours from Kuala Lumpur, Malacca is the third-smallest state in Malaysia. Its capital city, Malacca City (Melaka), is also one of the oldest trading ports in the country, having ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 106 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Being picked up from the hotel is very handy; our guide was fabulous, very informative and the commentary (history and facts) throughout the drive to Malacca was very interesting. Enough time is spent at each area stopped such as the fort, dutch square, jonker st and surrounding area. The nonya local lunch was fabulous and the ice lemon tea served was very refreshing.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our tour guide Ai was very knowledgeable, friendly and a gentleman. He entertained us and took us to lots of different places in Malacca which we enjoyed. He didn't rush us and let us take our time. He was also enthusiastic. A very long day but highly recommended.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Pickup was prompt with a very informative and friendly guide who was a font of information, with several stops on the way explaining about the conditions that villages lived under. He was also an excellent guide around malacca with a vast amount of information about the history of the area.

Doing what: Private Tour: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

Dominic Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were picked up at our hotel on the Malacca day tour. It was a small group, just us and 2 nurses from Canada. Our tour guide, Singh, was very knowledgeable and considerate, considering our age and physical condition. We went to Bukit Cina, where the well of the Nonya princess Hang Li Po is located. We also visited St Paul's church ruins, the Dutch Square, and had a lovely Nonya style lunch. We then went to Jonker Street and visited the oldest Chinese temple in Malaysia (so we were told). We also visited an Indian temple and a Muslim mosque. In all we enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We decided to take this day trip to Melaka and were not disappointed. It is an easy drive from KL and our guide King was wonderful. He told great stories of the history and culture of this beautiful country. We saw all the important parts of the heritage site, including a lovely lunch in a majestic heritage building which really made the day special. Seeing the old port, the beautiful temples and the way the community mixes so many cultures so easily was really interesting. Would really recommend this trip

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A one to one trip. The guide is very knowledgable about Malacca and gave a very good history lesson about Malaysia.

Doing what: Private Tour: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Definitely ride in one of the Bicycle rickshaws - a surreal experience with THE most eclectic music accompanying: try Linkin Park, Britney Spears, Gregorian chant and local Malaysian tunes on from one boom box. The Nonya lunch is delicious and as I got to meet the chef, also a culinary education. So much to see and do in Malacca. My driver was knowledgeable, extremely helpful and considerate.
All in all, very worth the spend. Thank you for an awesome day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Malacca is a must see place in Malaysia. We learned a lot of things from our very good tour guide. Lunch was also perfect. We were brought to a Chinese resto and food served were plenty and tasted good.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a fantastic trip! Throughout our trip my friend and I had been on a couple day tours and they were horrendous so we were apprehensive about this one. But we were happily surprised! The tour guide was a hilarious man who actually knew what he was talking about. He made the trip for me. I really enjoyed getting out of Kuala Lumpur for the day and exploring Malacca. My only complaint would be that we didn't get that much time on Jonker Street because we spent a very long time at lunch. But our driver said that's only because we arrived there a little later than usual so there were a lot of other tours there. The food was quite good though! Lot's of variety for all diet types.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

"I" the tour guide was great. It was a very interesting trip. However, be prepared for heat. It is much hotter in Melaka than it is in KL.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

LOVE IT !!! We immensely enjoyed it. Our tour guide, "Ai" is excellent - very knowledgeable and great with tourists. Malacca is a great historical costal city - Dutch,
English, and Portuguese colonization evident there. I would highly recommend it !

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A great tour with a knowledgeable guide. Should have been a group but we were the only people, so it was a private tour really! The driver pointed out all sorts of interesting things on the journey and then knew his stuff about Malacca. He was not overbearing and left us to lunch alone, which was good. Lunch was a bit of a disappointment as we had no choice, three barely warm dishes (fish, chicken and vegetables) and rice were delivered. Not much flavour and I'm allergic to fish! Restaurant was in a traditional house, so the surroundings were great.Our guide took us to a couple of shops (traditional Nonya shoes, Chinese bound-foot shoes and traditional dress. However there was no pressure to buy which was appreciated. All in all very good and an amazing place to see.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Don't just stay in KL - book a tour to Malacca. We had a private tour which meant we could see more of what we wanted to and we didn't have to wait on anyone else.

Great day out to see the historical town - the impacts of the Dutch and the Portgueuse. Definitely worth putting on your itinerary.

Doing what: Private Tour: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was very nice and very knowledgeable on the history of Malaysia and Melaka and we learnt a lot on the way to Melaka. The town itself was very nice and it was nice to see something very different from Kuala Lumpur. The lunch included was quite nice too. There is quite a bit of driving involved in order to reach the town so I would not recommend doing it with small children. But as our guide was very interesting we did not have time to get bored on the way. I would definitely recommend a Melaka tour if you are interested in history and if you want a change from KL.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

JAN
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was a great trip and so worth doing. Malacca was awesome. We do however recommend that rather than just 1 day, you stay overnight in this neat historical town in order to be able to fit everything in that there is to see. There is just too much to see in 1 day, which made it rushed. Great food and guide, a day well spent.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Very good tour - we were lucky enough to be the only two on this tour so had a personalized tour with a dedicated guide. he was awesome. His knowledge of Malacca and Malaysian culture in general was excellent. Totally great experience and highly recommended for anyone interested in the cultural and historical inside story of Malacca

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

An awesome day tour of Malacca, had great fun. Lo, the tourist guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. I would definitley recommend this for anyone with a free day to spend in Malaysia.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

All what you need to know about Melaka in one full day tour!

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Our local guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. Small group size. Learned a lot about the history of Malacca and the culture.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The tour consisted of myself and one couple plus the driver/guide of course. We learned so much from a historical perspective of Malacca's past and saw it through the architecture, food and people there. Chinatown was a main feature and walking through a traditional Malay house built on posts/stilts was a real treat. The weather was perfect for this tour and everyone had a great time.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Fantastic day with the fantastic guide named Roger. He had a great personality and was very knowledgeable as he had been in the business for 29yrs. A great trip which was never rushed and showed us a great deal of Malacca. Lunch was wonderful and we could not eat it all due to the too generous portions. I would recommend this tour whole heartedly. It is hot and humid in Malacca so don't forget your hat and sunscreen. Or you can be like me and buy a floppy brimmed hat for 10 ringgit ($3 AUD) on the 2nd stop. Floppy hats are the new fashon trend and back in fashion. Yeah!

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Our tour guide was very friendly and had a lot of information about Malacca.

Doing what: Private Tour: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Fantastic tour. Malacca is such a cute and vibrant town. The town people were very friendly. Next time we will stay there for a couple of days. Our tour guide was extremely informative.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

Geoff
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

This was a great tour about the history of Malacca. Our lunch was nice and our walking around the village was also was great. A very long day!

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

Fiona C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

An excellent day with time to enjoy the sites of Malacca. Intersting visits along teh way - locak fruit seller, oldest church in area.

Doing what: Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message